Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,570件の評価
890件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH
2017年6月22日

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

JJ
2020年3月21日

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 176 - 200 / 883 レビュー

by halfway ' t w

2020年6月21日

Such a great course with a superb instructor! The pacing of the course, in my opinion, was perfect. We certainly made haste, but we made haste slowly. Things were explained in a way, that the greater understanding of the math and "philosophy" behind it came together in a beautiful manner. So happy with taking this course!

by Cristian N

2017年1月16日

Excelente habilidad para la docencia mezclando el contexto histórico de uno de los más grandes avances de la ciencia moderna con las bases matemáticas y físicas necesarias para comprender la Teoría de la Relatividad Especial, de una manera didáctica y para todo público, no sólo para personas entendidas en física avanzada.

by Swarali C

2021年5月15日

The course very interesting. Because it doesn't require any detailed knowledge of physics or mathematics, the material is easy to grasp. The concepts are explained very clearly and well. Anyone with the average background of high school level physics or mathematics can complete the course without any major difficulties.

by Sam

2017年5月13日

Thank you Professor, your lecture is very interesting, and it is quite helpful to learn physics with a little history. I found that there are some mistakes in the subtitle, but it is not significant and I think I can understand it according to the context. Really impressive course, I hope I can see you in other courses.

by Heike S

2018年4月26日

“One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one’s greatest efforts.”

― Albert Einstein

The course was varied and motivating in its structure. Professor Larry Lagerstrom is an outstanding personality. It was a very enriching experience.

by Steven G

2018年6月21日

Excellent course. I feel I gained some insight into the core concepts of special relativity. I took to heart the "festina lente" ethos exposed early in the course by the instructor. Larry Lagerstrom is a fantastic teacher, he has the ability to explain often complex material in a way to that makes it understandable.

by golda a

2021年8月14日

The teacher was incredible. Thank you! I'm young and had minimal experience with Einstein's work prior and now I can credit myself with fully understanding special relativity. I hope to do general relativity eventually but perhaps when I'm old enough to go to university as it seems quite advanced. Thanks again:)

by Felix S G

2020年5月11日

This course offers an excellent and intuitive entry to the special theory of relativity. In my eyes, it is suited for everyone being fascinated by space-time and the "weirdness" of our universe and at the same time wants to dig a little deeper into the physical and mathematical framework of special relativity.

by Graham J

2021年11月17日

E​xcellent course. Despite a solid background in chemistry and maths, I have never covered Special Relativity formally. I could never remember which clocks ran faster or which twin aged more. Now I know! Course suited to anyone with a minimum of maths and a modicum of curiosity. Onwards to General Relativity.

by Gaurav B

2017年7月4日

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and it was informative and we'll presented. I think I will miss listening about time. For me its been much therapeutic. It challenges my brain to even visualize these concepts and hence I can spend as much time studying it. The presenter knows his stuff and like his simplicity.

by Daniel H d A C

2017年9月5日

An outstanding course, it was what I was looking for to get a good understanding of the topic.

Really good course progression, well explained concepts. I am definitely happy and "1000%" satisfied with this amazing course, Professor Lagerstrom is simply amazing and he definitely deserves a strong acclamation!!

by Solai S

2017年6月24日

It was incredibly interesting and enjoyable experience,the course instructor was fabulous and i could understand many mind baffling information with a surprising ease.I am looking forward for stanford university's course on the general theory of relativity and i hope that it is taught by the same professor.

by Sujoy M

2020年8月2日

Great Course. I wish there would me more courses like this in other topics like general theory of relativity. Discussion forum is very active. Mentors are available to clarify any topics. Videos are a bit slow though, but you can always fast forward. I am grateful to the course instructor of this course.

by Randy G

2018年2月14日

Absolutely wonderful course. I am grateful to Mr. Lagerstrom for making haste slowly in his explanations during the lectures. Really helped to cement the concepts and the math into the mind. This course comes with my highest recommendation to anyone who is interested in learning about Special Relativity.

by Linda C

2021年1月28日

The course was challenging to me because of the math, but the examples and concepts were explained and reviewed so everything built on each other and made sense. Randles Lagerstrom was an engaging instructor. I enjoyed the brief tangents and asides, which gave proof to the narrow focus of this course.

by Aman B

2017年10月18日

Excellent course which explores every concept of the theory deeply. It is a very interesting experience to see the theory build up little by little from scratch.

The discussions forums are great with active mentors.

I highly recommend it to anyone interested in science and willing to take some time out!

by Stephen C H

2021年1月8日

An excellent and well presented course that patiently describes the Special theory and is easily understandable. Be prepared to concentrate and spend 6-8 hours per week to get full value from this. I think Larry is a very good instructor who makes the critical concepts very clear. Highly recommended.

by Amanda N

2021年10月3日

F​or someone that has basic physics and maths background, this course really helped me understand more about Einstein and his work. Not too intimidating and not too easy either. Just the right amount of academic rigor for me to delve into other physics courses if I decide to. Thumbs up for Stanford!

by Gihan I

2021年9月20日

Dr. Lagerstrom is outstanding in his methodical & structured presentation. The quizzes throughout the course and the additional supplementary questions are invaluable. The guidelines he gives at the beginning of the course hold in good stead for this course and for any others too. Excellent course.

by Deleted A

2017年2月5日

This is one of best courses I have ever taken. Professor Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in this clear,consistent and careful introduction to what is arguably one of the most revolutionary theories of all time. I am taking the 5 stars and multiplying by a lorentz factor of 1.2 to achieve 6 stars!!

by Harjit B

2019年1月8日

Dr. Lagerstrom has done a beautiful job in giving an in depth view of the matter in a very accessible fashion. A complex phenomenon is explained in all its detail in a very nice blend of geometry and elementary algebra, The problem sets and the quizzes make you think. I fully recommend this course.

by Vijayatha V

2018年2月3日

This course is amazing!! Even a person without physics and mathematics background can understand it. Its also very help for physics undergrad students like myself. The professor explains every concept patiently and refreshes the concept before going to the next one. Every one must try this course!!

by Amar M

2020年9月11日

The methodology of the Professor to tech and explain this topic was amazing and helped me understand the concept which I otherwise would have never understood. I recommend this course for people from non-physics background but have keen interest in understanding the Special Theory of Relativity.

by Nitin G

2020年5月21日

I had been trying to understand this concept from a long time and could never understood it.

This is the best course i had done and the Instructor Sir in awesome, just awesome.

I will let my daughter also take this course.

Would require a signed photo autograph of Larry Randles Lagerstrom , Please.

by Ibnul S A

2021年7月22日

Its one of the perfect and easiest course for beginner there is hardly any math involved professor Larry did a amazing job teaching the special theory of relativity if you have an basic knowledge of algebra and prescriptive and observations in scientific terms you can understand this course