Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,523件の評価
473件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

OP

Aug 15, 2019

Hats off to the professor for being able to explain such mind-boggling concepts about the very nature of existence in an entertaining and intuitive way. One of my favorite courses on Coursera by far!

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 26 - 50 / 466 レビュー

by Garth E

Mar 21, 2019

Great couse!

by Gouranga B

Mar 23, 2019

goood

by Yves G

Mar 28, 2019

Thanks to the professor

Larry Randles Lagerstrom for this high quality course. I had exciting moments during class. It is hoped that one day humanity will become a stellar civilization ... Again thank you very much

by Zhiyang H

Dec 22, 2018

excellent

by Ann H

Dec 27, 2018

Superb course. Engrossing from start to finish!

by Krassimir K

Apr 02, 2019

Excellent

by ANKIT T

Apr 01, 2019

Great..... Learn many new things here....

by Ken H

Dec 28, 2018

Great course. The instructor goes slow and repeats important points for maximum retention. Key equations are rigorously derived (requiring only high school algebra) but are rarely required in the weekly quizzes. After completing this course I have a better understanding of special relativity and (thanks to the final week) better understand its relationship to general relativity.

by Felizitas R

Dec 28, 2018

Dieser Kurs war für mich als Neueinsteigerin genau richtig. Es wurde sehr verständliches Englisch gesprochen und die Begleitmaterialien waren ausführlich und hilfreich. Im Forum wurde auf Fragen immer sofort ausführlich geantwortet. Mir hat der Kurs sehr gefallen und ich habe viel gelernt.

by Jasper V

Jul 12, 2018

Thank you dr Lagerstrom (and all other who made this course) for making it! It has been a great and interesting struggle.

by Rene G

May 23, 2018

second time in my life I had a course at this level of clarity.

Extremely gifted teacher

by Srivatsa

Dec 19, 2017

Very carefully crafted course by Prof. Lagerstrom, starts with basic concepts so that every curious mind could grasp it. Always wanted to learn about Einstein's special relativity theory & now I know it.

by Shubham J

Sep 19, 2017

We made haste slowly. :)

And, it helped absorb some concepts which I've read multiple times over and over but could never accept.

Despite having completed the course once, I keep revisiting the videos every now and then. It helps me further get the concepts as a part of my intuition.

by Andre D

Nov 11, 2017

A bit tedious sometimes but quite rewarding once completed, especially topics covered during last week (Week 8)

by Robert B

Aug 29, 2017

Very clear and understandable from an algebraic math background. Thank You!!

by HyoungJin J

Jan 13, 2017

great...but need some documents...or text book.

by Ronald P N

Nov 13, 2016

Professor Larry Lagerstrom is an exceptional teacher. He explained the Theory of Special Relativity in such a manner that the theory became easy to understand. Not only has the Theory become understandable, he also managed to convey the beauty of the theory. I cannot find words to describe how I have enjoyed the series of lectures. From very simple concepts of the property of waves, he led to a very deep understanding of the principle of Light Constancy. From that principle, it became very easy to understand Time Dilation, the Length Contraction, and then Lorentz Transformation, and finally, the Invariant Interval. The journey he has planned was brilliant. Once one has a firm grasp of those principles, the explanation of the Twin Paradox became a "piece of cake".

by Gustavo P

Oct 21, 2017

An excellent course! The professor's explanations are brilliant! And the exercises are well chosen and fit perfectly well the contents of the course. I cannot be happier with this course. Now I really feel I have a sound grasp of the Special Theory of Relativity and Einstein's life!

by Mark C

Jun 15, 2017

Very well conduct course.

by Carlos M

Sep 29, 2017

Excellent experience and the Professor is an excellent teacher by showing all these concepts in a way that is really easy to understand them.

by Vassileios V

Jan 19, 2017

Really enjoyed the course from begging up to the end!!

by Sheshagiri K M R

Jun 24, 2017

I must say that it is a great course. It moves along nicely (though at times a bit fast); the context has been laid out well and there is enough of summarizing and 'looking back' before moving forward. This course is an ideal beginning for anyone who wants to deep dive into relativity at a later stage! My thanks to Coursera and special thanks to Prof. Lagerstrom!

by Eric

Feb 13, 2018

Well organized and described - Each section can add to one's appreciation for the basic physics behind the special theory of relativity.

by Jean-Jacques Z

Jun 23, 2018

Very clear presentation of the Physics involved. Can be followed without mathematical background. As a suggested reading I would add "L'évolution des idées en Physique" from Einstein / Infeld"Let's go now for a lecture in general relativity!

by Fabio P

Jan 23, 2018

Excellent, these important concepts finally seem to make sense.