Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,540件の評価
884件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH
2017年6月22日

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

AP
2020年8月11日

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 226 - 250 / 878 レビュー

by Pierangela M

2021年3月31日

This course is organized very well, and useful handouts are provided. The lectures are very easy to follow clear despite the difficulties of the topic. An historical and Philosophical contest helps to understand better the arise and development of these beautiful theory.

by Rohit B

2017年7月8日

A brilliant course presented with knowledge and passion by Prof. Lagerstrom. It is very easy with minimal dependence on Mathematics. It certainly has inspired me to follow on to learn more about the Special and General theories. Thank you for providing the list of texts.

by Dipraj C J

2019年8月3日

This is so helpful for those who wanna understand our universe and who are not learning in college for that...it helped a lot for my curiosity. Thanks to sir Larry, he has put so much efforts to let us understand what is needed...again thank you Larry Sir and Coursera.

by Walter L

2021年4月19日

I thought the detail level and presentation were perfectly matched to the intended audience. My goal was to get a deeper than "cocktail party" understanding of Special Relativity and a foundation for going further. I achieved both goals completely. Very satisfied.

by Cris P

2017年3月4日

Excellent course. Prof. Lagerstrom provided detailed explanation regarding the special theory of relativity in a very simple and understanding manner. I hope to attend more courses from the good professor soon. Thank you for sharing your knowledge to us, sir. Kudos.

by Bilal H K

2017年8月4日

exceptional introductory course to review and revisit the basic fundamentals notions about the relative motion and Einsteins special relativity ,hats off to instructor for making it look simple and interesting carry on the noble cause of spreading knowledge. Thanks

by Owen L

2020年8月9日

Great course, highly recommended. Very engaging instructor (at 1.25x speed at least), fascinating topic covered in-depth.

I really enjoyed the organization and structure - the quizzes were effective, and the handouts were a great way to keep my thoughts organized.

by Carlos H

2020年9月12日

I enjoyed a lot the course, knowing very little about relativity, this course explains me in a very gently manner the principles of special relativity, it is an excelent choice for beginners who wants to learn and for people with background who wants to remember.

by SAMMYAK S

2018年6月22日

Great Course for those who want to study the basics of special theory of relativity qualitatively, without scratching their heads too much. Math involved is of higher secondary school level and shouldn't be a problem for people with a non mathematical background.

by Sumit B

2017年6月10日

Ennobling experience as Einstein said in one of his quotes. Thank you Professor for making things so simple and interesting. I was struggling to understand these key concepts of relativity from a long time. Would definitely join other courses similar to this one.

by Helmich V

2019年4月23日

The course explains the Einstein theories in common words and language. Of course there is limited mathematics to make you feel convinced of the correctness of "Special Relativity". I enjoyed the lessons and course by a terrific teacher and professor. Thank you.

by K.R. S

2021年6月27日

Outstanding course. Many difficult concepts were elegantly and well explained by Prof Lagerstrom. I am glad that I took this course and learnt this important reality of our physical world that so few understand even though the knowledge is over 100 years old.

by Antonio B

2020年6月15日

Grateful for the opportunity to access an extraordinary online University course. Larry make easy, simple and inspirational every little step taken towards Einstein's mind, theories and talent . Fresh air for an already one century old insights. Thanks indeed.

by AKSHAI R

2020年6月1日

The course deals with one most exciting theories in the world of science and having taken it, I can say that it is molded so as to imbibe curiosity in the minds of the most basic man with the least exposure to science. Great job by Professor Larry and Stanford.

by Plamena

2021年6月19日

Thank you Larry Randles Lagerstrom for the exceptional course delivery. You made it look simple, interesting and fascinating. I enjoyed every second of it.

For sure I would like to explore it further and I will use the materials recommended. Excellent course.

by Sonepreet k

2021年5月17日

This was very good course and very helpful in increasing deep understanding about relativity although i have read relativity in my graduation and postgraduation already but the way it was taught here was remarkable

Thanks for providing such great content 😊

by Robin A L

2020年1月2日

This is an amazing course. It could have used some graphics or animations, but the math and diagrams done on the whiteboard were really nicely done. I came to actually understand the Special Theory of Relativity. You need to know some algebra to get this.

by Robert N

2017年11月14日

Excellent course! The instructor speaks slow, so I adjusted the speed to 1.25x. But that is his motto: Festina Lente. And to be honoust it is a very abstract course, so that some items were told two or three times, makes even the hardest parts understandable.

by Gabidullin V A

2021年1月24日

Well, this course requires as many time as you need to remember all the details about the Einstein's Theory, otherwise you'll learn so many about our nature even if you master, I think you can emphasize some things as well. Don't forget, all is invariant. :D

by Jussi

2021年5月4日

Very thorough approach to the special theory of relativity. I can now understand how Einstein ended up to this theory. Doing the exercises helps a lot in memorizing and understanding the concepts. This course enlighten the ideas behind the formulas. Thanks.

by Rajeev R

2018年10月16日

I have always wanted to understand how relativity works and how did Einstein go about developing this theory and this course provided a brilliant opportunity and the professor delivered this a manner that allowed me to understand the process and the theory.

by Patricio V

2020年12月18日

A great course!! I have learned a lot and finally understood the main concepts of relativity. It would be great if a course of general relativity could follow this one. (Although it would be probably very difficult to mantain a basic, intuitive approach)

by Siddharth H

2019年7月6日

Great introduction to Special Relativity! Good for beginners. The math is highly simplified to an intuitive level, which gives great confidence to people (like me) who don't know calculus (yet) and thus do not (for now) understand the original 1905 paper.

by Hana B

2021年5月7日

The Professor is great, truly the best, thank You so much. I am a tourist guide of a Tour called " Einstein in Prague" (1911-1912). Thanks to this knowledge I will be able to explain a lot of interesting principles and paradoxes to my groups. THANK YOU.

by Silvia I P A

2020年12月4日

Es un curso excelente. El profesor es un docente con conocimientos y mucha experiencia.

Su doctorado en Historia de la Física da un contexto único, a aquellos momentos importantes en la trayectoria cientifica de Einstein. Agradezco mucho los aprendizajes.