Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,902件の評価
622件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

JJ

Mar 22, 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 326 - 350 / 613 レビュー

by Yugesh B

Dec 05, 2017

Thank you Coursera for providing such a excellent course with such a master prof. from such a prestigious university.

by Navneet J

Jun 05, 2017

Awesome course!! Professor explained the concepts in a very simple manner and yet explained them in great details....

by Natarajan D

Jul 21, 2017

one of the best courses I have attended. Have explained complex concepts well enough to understand and think about !

by lui l

Jul 15, 2017

This course is outstanding in every way. Very accessible,enjoyable and taught superbly. I can't recommend it enough.

by Deleted A

Oct 05, 2017

Very good course and great teacher, he really does his best to make things easy to understand but still with humor.

by Yaron K

Apr 10, 2020

A step by step explanation of Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity from the basic concepts, with many examples.

by Jyoti C

Dec 21, 2017

This course is good enough but so lengthy content and sometimes is is difficult to recall and answer the question.

by Sakthi A

May 28, 2020

This is the best course I've seen , the professor teaches such a difficult in an understandable way!! Hats off...

by Élyse L

Apr 04, 2018

Love this. Everything is so clear and extremely well organized, I like the fact that sheets are available to us.

by Pauline F

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you Professor Lagerstrom for the very interesting course on the Special and General Theory of Relativity!

by Taya P

Apr 09, 2020

Отличный курс! Я очень плаваю в физике и геометрии, но, приложив усилия, смогла осилить и понять каждый урок :)

by Tomaz K

Aug 20, 2019

Understandable for one with fair skills in mathematics and physics.

Simple explanation of non-intuitive reality.

by Andre D

Nov 11, 2017

A bit tedious sometimes but quite rewarding once completed, especially topics covered during last week (Week 8)

by Akash S

Dec 11, 2016

Amazing course! If you're looking to broaden you're knowledge in Physics then this course won't disappoint you.

by Matthew G

Aug 23, 2017

This course provides a clear and accessible introduction to a theory that can otherwise be difficult to grasp.

by Federica C

Dec 18, 2016

An interesting course, the special theory of relativity easy for anyone to understand and very well explained.

by Ahad A

Apr 11, 2020

This course was great and I finally can understand the concepts of the special theory of relativity! Thanks!

by Shubham S D

Feb 25, 2018

Good material and great Tutors. Response from the moderators and mentors on discussion forum is very helpful

by Mudith N W

Apr 26, 2020

This is the best course to learn relativity for a beginner. Hope to see more courses from the same lecturer

by Rubens M A

Apr 11, 2020

I have problems ina test ! I answered and got them all right, but it came out with a percentage of 66.6%

by Anay M

Sep 02, 2018

Exceptional course with an exceptional instructor. Easy to understand, concise, yet incredibly informative.

by Hari K

Apr 06, 2018

best course for who loves Einsteina and his theory and best part of the course is the professor i love him

by Elena P

Jul 30, 2017

Exceptionally well planned course, very helpful quizes and problems for practice and deeper understanding.

by Marcos D

May 21, 2020

Exceptionally planned and taught. Many thanks to the Professor and to Coursera for this rare opportunity.

by Chris W

Apr 21, 2020

An excellent course. Paced well and with clear consistent methodology and terminology. Well presented.