Chevron Left
Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future に戻る

University of Colorado System による Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
137件の評価
48件のレビュー

コースについて

THIS COURSE GIVES YOU THE INSIDE TRACK TO A COMPLICATED INDUSTRY. The approach of this course is truly unique in how it approaches and engages learners. It looks at the electric utility industry, which has remained critical to our quality of life, health and comfort from the eyes of numerous industry experts through on-location interviews, compelling visuals, and animation. You will benefit from having the inside track because you see some behind-the-scenes information not covered in news stories, social media or even if we are in the business ourselves. EACH WEEK YOU NOT ONLY LEARN WHAT IS CHANGING, BUT WHY. As this industry continues to unfold at an unprecedented pace, you will be armed with knowledge and insights to form informed opinions supporting decisions you will increasingly make for your energy-dependent homes and businesses. This course kicks off with animated crash course on industry history, highlighting aspects of the structure, governance, and technology that remain today, despite the passage of time. Then, throughout the modules, you will build some basics about how electricity gets to you, who watches over decisions, including setting rates. This information establishes a knowledge foundation so that when we explore some of the most critical topics, like renewable energy, smart grid, battery storage, and you can think about it from a much more analytical and critical viewpoint. YOU WILL DEVELOP A FRAMEWORK FOR MAKING SENSE OF THIS INDUSTRY THAT WILL BENEFIT YOU BEYOND THIS COURSE. This industry can get pretty complicated, and this course will help you make more sense of it. Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future is the course for you whether you’re just curious about the industry or an industry veteran looking to grow – or, thinking about joining the industry. (Hint: now is a good time. You'll learn why in this course.) No prior education or experience required. You just need a healthy curiosity and an open mind to learn about an industry that I think a lot of us, including myself sometimes, take for granted....

人気のレビュー

CR

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

WH

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent overview of electric utilities even for a novice like me. It discussed the present challenges and future endeavors of the industry.

フィルター:

Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future: 26 - 46 / 46 レビュー

by Anoop P

Jun 18, 2017

Hi,

Thank you very much. There is no excuse to learn now after going through this course. Would request you to come up with similar advances courses on the same topic. Presenter was excellent !

Regards,

Anoop

by Ansuman P

Sep 05, 2017

Great curriculum coupled with interviews and experts from leading Utilities makes this really interesting to learn this evolving industry.

by Carlos R

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

by Alberto

Mar 18, 2018

Really interesting and above expectations regarding how it is explained.

by usman

Jun 17, 2017

The course is very informative and provide a lot of learning about the electric utilities working in current scenario and also focus on there future. Greatly briefed about the new technologies in electric utilities and shared experience of experts of the industry. Overall, it is a very learning and useful course for the people working in the electric utilities industry.

by Justin

May 11, 2018

Solid course! I am a regulatory analyst but I liked having more of an overview of the industry!

by Mohsin A

Jan 25, 2018

From the very basic to the advance and future of the Electricity, They have taught a lot of things in this course about this field. I like this course, structure, and information sharing techniques. Thank You So much.

by Ritika P

Apr 01, 2019

The way of explanation is pretty amazing and clear.And the content offered is upto the point.

by JOHN D L O J

Jun 05, 2017

it is important to work on most advanced material regarting smart grid technologies, rate structuring and markets policy,

by Aleksandrs P

Aug 31, 2017

The course gives a good overview of the industry and raises all main issues. Some things could be improved though. Quizzes could be somewhat tougher. They should focus more on understanding the covered material and avoid some basic factual questions. Non-graded assignments are very good for broadening your knowledge so should not be avoided. I'd recommend making them graded so that people don't skip them. I liked many interviews with industry experts very much.

by Sara R

Apr 01, 2018

Great lecturer and approach. I wish the course would go beyond the scope of American utilities and regulations.

by Sourabh J

Aug 27, 2017

The course is good introductory course. I had expected more rigorous and in-depth discussion on regulatory aspects of electricity utilities and challenges due to integration of renewables.

by Filipo M

Jun 15, 2017

It is an easy course. Was expecting more though. Maybe it was okay for the audience intended.

by Gautam S

Jun 16, 2019

This well structured and taught course is an excellent overview of the operation of electricity markets.

by Vincent d M

Oct 08, 2019

I really liked the part focused on consumers habits, how the relationship of utilities to consumers are changing.

The course was maybe not challenging enough for my liking but still it is very well designed, offer a very good overview of how utilities operate in the US and what are the challenges they are facing today.

by Jennifer P

Jul 05, 2018

The course topics were very useful. The instructor was clear, concise and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The only drawback is that the course is a few years old and some of the information is no longer current, especially where it relates to governmental policy.

by Joy S

Aug 29, 2017

Fast moving, informative course. Covers the past, present and future. Easy to understand.

by Zbigniew C

Jul 03, 2017

More technical issues please.

by Brian T

Jul 11, 2017

Not technical enough, too general

by Matthew B

Jul 31, 2018

Good information, but old. Many things have already c

by John H

Nov 07, 2017

While the presentation style and overview of utilities was good, the instructors are providing biased and inaccurate information about renewable sources, especially solar and energy storage. Their understanding of storage and net metering is inaccurate and out of date and they show a clear bias toward centralized utilities and fossil fuel (particularly natural gas) generation. What disturbed me most is that they worded both the content and quiz questions to enhance the positive benefits of the centralized model and natural gas while simultaneously downplaying the benefits of solar, wind and energy storage (especially battery technology) while emphasizing negative attributes and misleading the students with inaccurate information about cost-shifting and net metering policies. Very disappointed in their manipulative and biased approach.