Chevron Left
Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems に戻る

EIT Digital による Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
426件の評価
94件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is intended for the Bachelor and Master's students, who like practical programming and making IoTs applications! In this course we will talk about two components of a cyber physical system, namely hardware and operating systems. After completing this course, you will have the knowledge of both hardware components and operating systems. You are able to plan and use embedded operating systems in resource-constraint devices for Internet-of-Things (cyber physical system) applications. In addition, you can use Cooja simulation for designing and simulating wireless sensor network applications. We have 4 modules, each with a graded quiz in the end and finally we have one peer reviewed programming assignment In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform. The course is actually quite fun at the end when you are playing around with Cooja simulation for IoTs applications. So you can create and simulate your own design for sensor network applications. A lot of features and examples of Contiki and Cooja can be explored via assignments. There are some optional assignments of wireless sensor network applications for students who want to explore more about embedded OS in IoTs applications. - Marco Ramirez /University of Turku - Igor Tcarenko/ University of Turku - Nguyen Gia Tuan /University of Turku Check out our whole curriculum: http://iot4health.utu.fi/...

人気のレビュー

SA

May 25, 2017

Initially it seemed easy and what I already knew... but the week 3 and 4 had alot of new and interesting stuff. It was great eventually... Especially the OS part and some practicals

SA

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent introduction to Embedded Systems development that could serve as platform for further studies and research. A valuable pedagogy.

フィルター:

Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems: 76 - 91 / 91 レビュー

by Elyasin S

Nov 19, 2016

I found this course to be dry. No practical examples. Just information presentation, like reading from a book. The lectures do not prepare you very well for the Quizzes and even less for the assignments. This is the only course in Coursera that really got me disappointed. Since there are not many students in this course one might feel a bit "left alone".

by Dvizma S

Jan 29, 2020

The course is very generic overview of embedded hardware and operating systems. Too many OS' have been covered in a very short time without going into actual details of any of them. Assignments are full of error and have little relation to the lecture material. Assignment 4 is completely out of scope. Would not recommend.

by Kiranlal E U

Feb 24, 2017

The course is for people having advanced knowledge in embedded architecture and knowledge. Until 3rd week is perfectly alright. But from 4th week the course changes to advanced knowledge. I do not think an intermediate could easily grasp enough knowledge from the 4th week. Kindly do the needful to change it.

by Pablo M

Dec 25, 2016

The course is a shallow introduction to a set of topics about embedded systems, it tries to cover too much without really explaining the concepts. The videos could have some diagram.

by Helena b

Mar 14, 2020

some things don't make sense, this course isn't maintained, no VMWare for mac in link so wasn't able to do assignment, quizzes are ambiguous and unhelpful to learn from.

by Shiomar S C

Apr 13, 2020

The class videos are good, but the practice and peer activities look outdated, a lot of issues with installation and with the instructions.

by Bill W

Feb 25, 2018

I wasn't very happy.

The subject material was very shallow; brief overviews of some aspects of the material with repeated references to "suggested materials" that didn't actually exist.

Even at the level of detail presented, there was a lot of info on slides that did not appear in the transcripts. It would have been useful to have the slides be downloadable.

I didn't like the design of the quizzes; this might be a coursera thing (I've seen the same thing in other classes), but the inclusion of 5 subparts of a one-point question meant no "partial credit", making a "5-question" quiz (with 20-odd things to get wrong/right) a lot more difficult to pass than they should have been. (In other MOOCs, I've seen such multi-part questions handled by having the question as a whole be worth 5 points (for a 5-subpart question), and you get a point awarded for each subpart you get right, and not awarded for each one you get wrong (whether it should have been checked and wasn't or should have been not-checked and was.)

There was no interaction with "staff" on the class forums. The "extra thought" topics were simplistic and only barely related to the class materials, and the participation that happened was ... poor, like people thought they were getting points for "taking part" even if all they said was "I don't know."

The professor seemed to have some strong opinions about "controversial" subjects, presented as facts, that I happen to disagree with, and didn't really have any supporting material. (The big one for me was "FPGAs are lower power than MCUs." Which I asked about on the forums, and was never answered. But also several several cases of "the advantage of XX os is that it has small memory requirements", followed nearly immediately by several examples of other OSes described as even smaller.)

Finally, for a 4-week class where the first 3 weeks have only short quizzes, I thought the "week 4" assignment: "download a VM and set up Contiki/cooja, write two programs and get them both peer reviewed by the end of the week" was unrealistic. Especially without "supported matierals", tutorials on setup, or even copies of the sketchy instructions on the slides in the video. (I might not have been awful, given an extra week to complete. I gave up, though.) (existing forum message from a prior iteration of the class says "don't use contiki 3.0 like the instructor talks about, or even 2.7 that he mentions. Go all the way back to 2.6.1...")

There was some interesting stuff there. The lack of "suggested materials" and downloadable slides were the biggest problems.

by Bo Z

Mar 22, 2017

I do not recommend this course if you want to be taught intuitively. The slides are mostly just a list of bullet points, with very few intuitive figures or charts (normally figures/charts are easier to understand and remember, even the simple ones). You are just fed with lots of concepts throughout the course. But in the end, you are suddenly required to do some practical C programming in Contiki (an embedded OS), which you need to spend some time to figure out quite a number of practical issues just for a successful run.

by Alexey S

Dec 13, 2016

Useless bla-bla-bla in general words. Nothing concrete. It is not possible to build embedded system with OS after finishing it. IoT is mentioned just for marketing and promotion. If you seriously consider developing OS-based embedded system even just reading Wiki pages about EOS would not be such a waste of time as listening to this course.

by vasudha

Oct 28, 2019

Why can I not change course. I started with the first course by mistake,but I wanted tio start with the third one. Very poorly designed for asking such questions.

by Jay

May 18, 2017

Theory ..theory...theory.... into the 4th week...too dull and boring. The instructor could just have written a book or something about this.

by Pierre N

Aug 25, 2019

was not good at all and i did not gain any experience thanks for wasting my time

by HuangQingZhen

Jun 21, 2017

The ContikiOS is not a suitable for IOT for now. It is too expensive

by Razi

Mar 15, 2017

I categorize this course in the beginner level not intermediate.

by Archit R

Apr 15, 2017

NOT GOOD..REALLY BORING

by shaimaa

Jul 29, 2017

the tutorial is so bad