Chevron Left
英作文I に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による 英作文I の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
351件の評価
98件のレビュー

コースについて

You will gain a foundation for college-level writing valuable for nearly any field. Students will learn how to read carefully, write effective arguments, understand the writing process, engage with others' ideas, cite accurately, and craft powerful prose. Course Learning Objectives • Summarize, analyze, question, and evaluate written and visual texts • Argue and support a position • Recognize audience and disciplinary expectations • Identify and use the stages of the writing process • Identify characteristics of effective prose • Apply proper citation practices • Discuss applying your writing knowledge to other writing occasions...

人気のレビュー

JR

Mar 08, 2017

Very helpful for writers and future career writers. Plus the professor is extremely down to earth. Was not expecting that and I forgive her for being a Duke fan. Go Tar Heels!!!! jk jk

AA

Dec 15, 2017

I very excited to get this certificate and improved my knowledge writing and skills to get better understand for create a fiction with rules that I learned in Duke University

フィルター:

英作文I: 1 - 25 / 100 レビュー

by Jonathan I L A

Oct 11, 2018

The contents of the course are not bad, but the peer review system is an absolute failure. If you enroll into this course get ready to get absolutely no useful feedback. It is ridiculous that the course is called English composition and yet 70% of my peers were unable to speak or write english properly. I'm not an english native speaker but I consider that my english is decent enough to do my assignments properly, that's why it is so frustrating that I spent time reviewing carefully other people's texts only to get absolute crap in return either by people who can't speak english, or by english speakers that are so lazy that they can't make a little effort to give you any sort of useful feedback. So don't waste your time. You can find all the knowledge that this course offers in other sites without having to waste your time with dumb or lazy peers.

by Mathew F

Dec 09, 2017

I am so very disappointed and angry with Coursera. The peer review and grading methodology must seem good as a theory but in practice, it has been an absolute fail. Add to that, the inability to have my work graded promptly - especially when it's turned in on time - but also add in the impossibility to get someone to respond to my questions or concerns. My peer reviewers seem to be unable to comprehend the basic fundamentals of the English language. It is very frustrating to receive feedback that is inaccurate with nothing objective to add. This happened not once or twice but over and over again. I've had my wife (who has several degrees and writes as a profession, along with my GED teacher, to review my work and they are baffled right along with me as to why my peers fail my work assignments. If this is the best Coursera can do - you have a failing model. My experience has taught me not to bother with purchasing a course either. This has been a HUGE waste my time and energy.

by Paola B

Apr 01, 2018

Hard work and worth it! Grateful for the opportunity. Fully recommend it for anyone who is serious about learning to write clearly and improve their prose.

by Lucia B

Jun 21, 2018

Helpful, informative, and engaging! I've always been at the top of my classes in English, but this is helping me sharpen my skills even more and apply them to my life.

by XiaoYan W

Nov 15, 2017

I don't recommend this course because it is not well constructed. There is obvious mismatch between what is taught and what is tested. For example, in week 5, the content is about annotated bibliography, but the assignment is a case study and the evaluation questions consist of how effective introduction and conclusion are. It confused many students.

The class offers only links to online sites on how to write a case study. There are plenty of business classes devoting the entire class on how to write a case study. How can the teacher in this introduction to writing class expect new student to write a case study without at least a lecture on what it is, what it consists of and how to write it.

Furthermore, it is only a week later (in week #6), there are lectures on introduction and conclusion. Shouldn't they been taught in week #5 if students are asked to evaluation others' works on introduction and conclusion in week #5?

There is fundamental issue (Chronology between lectures and assignments) in this class and it should be reviewed and corrected before given to the public. It is only one of the two classes I took in coursera as tests. I would say "buyers beware". Don't be fooled by the universities.

I suggest the provider to review the course material and improve quality. Because at current offering, it is below standards. It is confusing, like confused writing to readers or students.

Sincerely,

Amy

by Deborah S

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course. I learned so much about writing and it opened up new possibilities for me. The lectures were interesting and Dr. Comer presents her information in an open and enjoyable manner. I wish there was an English Composition ll course.

by Effrosyni P

Jun 19, 2018

Interesting course, introducing writing for different purposes and encouraging participants to offer and receive valuable feedback. Challenging assignments, enchanting journey! I gave 4 instead of 5 stars because of the structure: the order of lessons, videos etc is rather inconvenient. Great pieces of advice are left for the end, after all assignments are completed (had they been put in the beginning, we might have had an opportunity to actually reap the benefits and improve our writing). Also, make sure you watch/read everything a week has to offer before you move on to the assignment (the stuff following the assignment is the most important).

by 赵洁

May 26, 2018

going through 10 weeks study, I learned a lot., this course is quite helpful. though I am major in biological science, I still learn a lot from this class, especially in other fields. thanks~

by noam17

Apr 07, 2018

excelente

by Krishna K U

Jul 14, 2019

The course was really useful for me. It enhanced my reading and writing skills as well as editing.

by Isis G B C

Jul 08, 2019

I liked the English Composition I Course, I learned many tools to improve the writing. Activities were essentials to learn more.

by LEONARDO G J

Jun 07, 2019

Its great!

Thanks for opportunity !

by Santosh K T

Jun 05, 2019

Helpful course for University students

by Mauro T B

May 22, 2019

Great content, excelent exposition

by Vaishaly J

May 21, 2019

Good course with peer reviewed assessment, one can gain more from online learning.

by Irene

Apr 27, 2019

This is a very interesting and well-done course. Participants get not only the chance to learn a lot from interesting lectures, they'll also have the opportunities to practise what they've learned. As a student gained a lot by studying English Composition I.

by GUSTAVO S

Apr 16, 2019

she's so boring :(

by Michelle H

Apr 08, 2019

Great Course!

by Ada Y G R

Apr 07, 2019

This course is a marvelous and resourceful tool to improve writing skills! :)

by Deleted A

Apr 03, 2019

The structure is unclear and so new students do not know how to write essays, how to interact with peers, etc. How the course proceeds and how students are to interact should be made clear at the start. Also: how long is a 300-word essay? I have no way of measuring, and when I completed my first essay it was simply cut off at the end! Why no chance to edit??

by Viet T

Mar 20, 2019

So great, thanks so much.

by JimmyChan

Mar 17, 2019

Amazing course, it makes me more active to write essay.

by Esequias F d S

Mar 11, 2019

Very important course

by Xiaoyun Y

Mar 10, 2019

I love the way Dr. Comer is presenting. It is warm and full of knowledge. This is a course fundamental for all of the college students and I have learned a lot about English writing thourgh it. It seems to me like I were still in college. Thank you Dr.!

by Fernanda M A

Feb 23, 2019

It is a little annoying that all assignments are peer reviewed and feedback is not always available before your next deadline even when you submitted in time. In general, it is a good course and I would recommend it!