Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Foundational Principles に戻る

アリゾナ州立大学(Arizona State University) による Teach English Now! Foundational Principles の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
11,639件の評価
4,135件のレビュー

コースについて

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
ハイライト
Engaging instructors

(331件のレビュー)

Interactive content

(104件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

VM

2020年4月9日

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

PT

2021年3月12日

I had fun enrolling on this course and it's very insightful. And Keep the great work, Dr Shane Dixon. I can't wait to complete the rest of the courses so that I get my professional certificate. Thanks

フィルター:

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles: 3926 - 3950 / 4,138 レビュー

by Carlos B

2015年12月22日

Estuvo muy bueno, de pronto sería bueno incluir más videos en los que se pone en práctica los distintos principios. De todas maneras, debo reconocer que es una muy buena alternativa para aquellos que se inician en la enseñanza y quieren tener una idea más clara sobre lo que implica enseñar. Felicitaciones!!!

by Lingling Y

2020年1月23日

The content is clear and the instructors are engaging. However, I was expecting the course to focus more onto how to teach English like how to teach grammars etc. Nonetheless, I learnt a great deal. It helped me to revise some of the things I had learnt in teaching college. I enjoyed the course thoroughly.

by Andres F J S

2020年8月18日

The content of the course is really good, it has been really clear, well structured and made with the best information. I grade it with 4 starts because I think the peer reviewed assigntments needs some development and of course everything can be improved. anyway, this is a great course and I recomend it.

by eugene m

2022年1月16日

First and foremost, many thanks to Arizona State University, Dr. Shane Dixon, Andrea Haraway, and many others for the opportunity to learn. Teach English Now has paved the way and taught several strategies for teaching, learning, and acquiring a language. I learned so many things in this course.

by Juergen S

2020年12月24日

I liked the more practical view on teaching English rather than being too theoretical. I do not deny the need for a theoretical foundation but here and there some examples and stories from "the real world" is nice. Thank you, Dr. Dixon and Team. Enjoyed learning from you and learning with you.

by Polina v R

2020年6月9日

I have been teaching for a while, and I am familiar with most of the information presented in this course. Nevertheless, I took it because I would like to complete the entire set to receive the TESOL certificate. It might be useful for those considering to become teachers in the near future.

by Phoebe G S

2020年8月6日

Overall, I am satisfied with the course. Although I find the Quiz a bit unchallenging. I hope they don't just recycle questions at the end of the module but really ask deeper or more complex questions so that fellow students will really think more and analyze how to answer these questions.

by Liu X

2021年6月26日

This is an amazing course. All teachers, especially Dr. Shane Dixon, is so charismatic and passionate about teaching! The content is also well designed. But to some extent the lesson is too easy and few people are like to give constructive peer feedback. I would still recommend it though!

by Luis M G M

2018年7月5日

Although it is an introductory course I would have preferred to have a hard course in this first part. However it is an excellent course and it sheds light on many topics in the teaching area. I strongly recommend it to everybody interested in learning more about English teaching.

by Oriana S M T

2020年2月20日

The course portrays the general overview of being an English teacher, the main reflections on classroom language instruction and mainly focusing on the students language acquisition, opening our eyes to understand the opportunities us teachers have every single class we teach at.

by Naomi S

2016年3月11日

I know that it would be near impossible to do this on a website like Coursera where thousands of people are probably enrolled in your course, but it would be great if there was some real evaluation (teachers or experienced alums to comment on the quality) of our essays/responses.

by Heather W

2021年5月6日

The 30 second exit from videos was too lengthy. This was one of the first classes that didn't feel like it dampened my organic abilities but enhanced them. I was a little challenged with the bias toward gifted and high IQ. I would really like to see that change. Very fun class.

by Johan H

2019年1月19日

Thank you to the team for insightful learning - and for being such good teachers!

You helped me deal with myths about teaching and specifically language teaching and inspires me to keep going.

Your work is structured, well researched and yo are fund to watch Dr Dixon!

Well done.

by Jeremy W

2016年3月29日

A nice introductory course. For people that already have some Teaching or Language Acquisition under their belt, there may be some feeling of review. However, there is also valuable information and fresh angles on how to look at some aspects of language learning and teaching.

by Darnelle R

2016年1月31日

I learned some great techniques in this course, one in particular is to the 80/20 rule. Language teachers should allow learners to talk more, and teachers talk less! My only drawback is that I could not see my own responses to Essential Questions or feedback from my peers.

by José I G U

2016年1月26日

Great! If this was the first I'm excited to start the others. The content is very instructive, a lot of concepts and useful tools. They should add more content per week, because is too little material to study per week. Thus, sometimes it seens to be boring. But it's ok.

by faridah h

2015年12月19日

I liked the course and I found it useful . I will recommend it to my friends. However , some of the instructions are not clear. I understood that I have time to catch up till Dec 21st. But now, My assignment and editing are not accepted and I want to know what I can do.

by Opraha

2018年9月25日

This course presented the material in a very clear and understandable manner. The instructors used a lot of great metaphors and examples to engage learners and clarify the content. Anyone could take this course whether you have teaching experience or not.

by Smriti L

2020年7月12日

I enjoyed the course and the way the content was distributed. I did however think some of the MCQs in the quizzes were slightly vague in what they demanded. They were too subjective to be part of a quiz. Other than that, I enjoyed it and learnt a lot.

by Lukas S

2018年2月26日

I really liked the course, as it was intuitive, well set-up and good to handle in an every-day-setting. And although I understand that the videos are meant to inspire the students (teachers), sometimes the childlike approach gets a little bit to much.

by Jacque B

2021年4月25日

It was pretty decent. I wasn't looking for too much hands on stuff as its a foundation course. I appreciate all the effort put into the course to make it engaging and entertaining, and I really appreciate the summaries at the end of each module.

by 周映慈

2022年4月19日

I find this course very practical and supportive. With constant feedback from fellow students, I'm able to understand various points of view regarding course topics, which helps me great deal in contemplating my own understanding and learning.

by chayarat s

2018年10月17日

This course is such a great example of micro learning. I could learn new things in very simple ways. The content is great, the website is very supportive. I totally recommend this course to anyone who wants to teach.

by Paeva A

2021年4月17日

Dr. Shane does an excellent way of explaining the different skills and different ways of teaching. It is easy to understand having both theory and actual techniques that are able to be used in teaching a real class.

by Sarah F S

2020年2月15日

Hi dears ,

It was good and informative; I learned a lot from the course.

But I think it would be much better if we had had the review of the lecturers on our assignment at least one time during the course.

Thanks