Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Foundational Principles に戻る

アリゾナ州立大学(Arizona State University) による Teach English Now! Foundational Principles の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
10,677件の評価
3,822件のレビュー

コースについて

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
ハイライト
Engaging instructors
(331件のレビュー)
Interactive content
(104件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

VM
2020年4月9日

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

JG
2018年8月17日

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

フィルター:

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles: 26 - 50 / 3,809 レビュー

by Matome T

2021年3月13日

I had fun enrolling on this course and it's very insightful. And Keep the great work, Dr Shane Dixon. I can't wait to complete the rest of the courses so that I get my professional certificate. Thanks

by Angelica S B

2015年12月2日

Oh my goodness! I can't say enough about how great this course was for me. Dr. Shane Dixon did an excellent job of sharing the concepts in ways that were easily digested (more cake please). The course was set up better than any course I've taken online. The use of the metaphors truly helped me to easily recall what the class was about and I believe it will always be part of my teaching future. Thank you all for such a great course.

by ALAMURI S N

2020年5月15日

I am Sri Nidhi and I am from India. I am very happy with the course and the instructors - Dr. Shane and his partner. I am very new to the teaching profession and to be frank, I never gave a thought about the principles that I have been using since my first day in teaching language. I am so glad that I came across this course and definitely this course already started making difference in my performace in all zones. Much obliged !

by Gladys L

2018年11月28日

I highly recommend this course! It highlights teaching techniques language educators can use to ensure successful language teaching and learning in their classroom. Moreover, the modules are interesting and easy to understand. Every language teachers, novice and seasoned alike, must take this course. Kudos to Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell, Ms. Andrea Haraway from Arizona State University for such a wonderful online course!

by Kendria R J

2020年10月6日

I really liked the casual yet professional set up of this course. Being a teacher coach in my private life, I understand ALL the information was good. I especially liked the part on Teacher Burnout (it's my specialty niche with mentoring teachers.) I understand WHY you put in as a module. I get that YOU GET IT!!! and thank you for your contribution. If you need any help or more testimonials I am available. www.iamkendria.com

by Sofia B

2016年2月7日

Amazing teachers, valuable information and top-quality materials! Thanks so much for making this course - I gained a lot from it, especially from giving and receiving feedback from fellow students. The only thing I didn't enjoy much are some questions in the tests because sometimes they seem a bit irrelevant. I would recommend making the tests a bit more to the point and reducing the amount of questions:) Thanks for your work!!!

by Andy A

2021年7月6日

I am totally impressed with this course in so many ways. The simple yet effective similes are what I will bring with me in my teaching because it summarizes so concisely the key knowledge. Moreover, Dr Dixon is so wonderful a teacher in imparting his knowledge in the most straightforward way possible. I highly recommend this course because it helps you envision your roles in a classroom in such a thoughtful and considerate way.

by Sandy A

2017年10月13日

I want to say a huge thank you to Dr. Shane for making this course so fun and engaging. Also thanks to everyone else involved who put in endless hours to put this amazing course together - if I ever had any doubts about teaching, you certainly reassured me what a fantastic profession this is. My step father completed Tesol a few years back and tells me it was nothing like this and that I'm very lucky to have found this course!

by Md. D I

2020年3月30日

Taking this course, as a trainee teacher, I feel that more confident than ever before. Besides, based on the gained knowledge from the course, I have started writing about Teaching English in my local language Bangla using contextual references. I post them on my social media account, and I am receiving positive feedback. Many of the readers have even expressed their interest to pursue Professional TESOL certification.

by Dariana D M

2020年5月5日

This is a very helpful course. I had already gotten a TESOL certificate, but this one taught things that the other course I studied didn't. I thoroughly enjoyed it! I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about teaching or is new to the whole concept!

by Kristina

2021年9月10日

T​hat was a great experience and im very grateful for all the information I have been taught. The professors leading this course are just so professional and it was really joyful to learn all the time.

by Lyka C A

2021年1月7日

I really love this trainibng, since it helps me to refresh my knowledge about my professional teaching.I also learned and related a lot from this. You inspire me to teach more effectively . God bless!

by Suba S

2017年11月1日

Fantastic course. We learn a lot without feeling overwhelmed in any way because the course has been structured beautifully to convey information in a clear and concise manner.

Highly recommend!

by Sayli T

2018年11月29日

The course is really helping me with strategies I can use in a diverse community. It is helping me understand my students better and encouraging me to take risks.

by Joshimar E d l R

2018年12月22日

Excelente curso aprendi mucho mas de lo que esperaba y perfeccione muchas tecnicas, muy recomendable para extender tu habilidades como maestro de ingles

by Jesús R S

2020年7月25日

very helpful and well explained

by Kristine K

2016年3月14日

I would give it 5 stars but , staff really needs to start reviewing assignments because there are a couple of bad apples copying the work of other students. We work hard and should not have our work plagiarized, but since it is peer review and not teacher graded, they get away with it.

by Tracie H

2016年7月22日

Content is too basic, seems unresearched. Instructor is distracting in manner in which he presents information - overemphasizes acting over content.

by Jedd C

2017年2月13日

low-level content for people with no teaching background

by Belinda N E

2016年12月21日

I highly recommend this course for those who wish to learn and teach English as a Second Language. I am so grateful for the opportunity to be in this program where I have learned a great deal right from the very beginning of this course up to the last discussion of the topic... that I couldn't help but finished the course earlier than the usual scheduled date... and that I have to rate this course TEN (from 1-10 where ten is the highest). It was such a nice experience to learn something new, or even if some aspects I learned it before but I have gained a tremendous, in-depth knowledge and solid foundation about this course: like the use of metaphors, the Grasser's theory of intrinsic motivation, the Vygostky's scaffolding, Body Language and the teachers talk, the i+1 learning, the 80/20 rule, the diffuse mode and focused mode of learning and more!. And one thing that I really enjoyed more was the assumptions or the essential questions in the assignment which involved critical thinking. Thank you so much for this course, and to all the staff who created this language learning website, to the staff behind the scene and especially to Dr. Shane Dixon thank you for generously sharing your knowledge and expertise on this field. I salute you! Very impressive!!! Thank you!

by Hala L

2019年8月11日

Teachers should be aware of the basic language learning the understanding of basic techniques on how to make the meaning clear, how to help motivate students by improving teacher's talk, scaffolding and body talk. I like the use of metaphors all over the modules. New theories of learning like Vygotsky and Krashen of leaning zones and Glasser of intrinsic motivation. Teachers talk strategies of focusing on meaning using signpost expressions I learned a lot about acquisition versus learning and the two different modes of the focused and diffuse mode. I learned how to create and change the environment of learning. It was a good idea to talk about language as a stage with a relation of self-awareness and the affective filter . Good language learners of predicting using selective attention prepare, look ridiculous, practice, ask the question, take notes. learners need not just to learn, but how to learn. We faced the problem of time learning at schools. The importance of the role of teachers to empower students to go outside to the global community supported by successful teachers.The best expression for me when teachers represent the candle to enlight the learner's way.

by Cristina S

2020年7月30日

I truly enjoyed this course. I learned a lot and it helped me understand the importance of techniques, student input, establishing a positive relationship,, and the importance of forming an autonomous learner. I liked the way the material was organized, it helped me understand better how language theories have evolved and how it's important to keep up with language theories and practices. The role of technology in language learning finally made a lot of sense! It really is a wonderful tool for both teacher and student. I hope to learn more about the resources offered by on line language publishers and educators. I would like to know more about using technology to enhance my teaching and how I can apply these tools to my daily teaching and planning. This course is really a gem. It's inspiring and very applicable to learning how to perform at your best as a language teacher. I look forward to the next course. Thank you all. Cristina Stern

by Harry S

2017年5月3日

Wow, I learned so much in this course. I was able to apply what I was learning every week to my teaching, and I am telling you every week I was seeing instant positive results in my classes by applying what I learned in this course. Freaking amazing, I was drowning so to speak up until I found this course because I was teaching but I didn't really know how to teach, but when you're abroad, the opportunity to teach is so available, people will hire you without much experience at all, but I found myself wanting to give more to my students than just a warm body in the room. I wanted to make it fun and interesting for them, and I wanted them to actually learn stuff too. I didn't quite know how to go about it, I didn't know which techniques were good and/or bad. This course, in a nutshell, taught me all of that and more. Great stuff, best money spent this year. So worth the money, seeing how much I got back from it immediately.

by Mileni D

2017年5月29日

This course is AMAZING!!! Dr. (but I think of him as Professor) Shane Dixon completely changed my perception of online courses - which I (given a couple previous experiences) assumed to be universally boring and impersonal. He makes each lesson exciting, engaging, easy to learn, relevant - and very much memorable. He uses video, images, storytelling, body language, all sorts of aids to get his points across and to make ideas stick in your mind. Frankly, he makes classes FUN, instead of a chore. Shane quickly becomes your favorite teacher, one that you would love to grab lunch with and have long discussions. My goal in taking this class is to eventually become a teacher; if I can become 1/3 as good as he is, I'll consider myself lucky! Thank you so much Shane, for teaching us how to be great teachers with your own example.

by Aly C

2019年8月15日

Great introduction to the foundations of language learning and teaching. If you apply yourself in the course, you will gain a lot out of it! (Use the learning strategies presented!) Taking notes and putting thought into the written assignments is worth it. I finished the course quickly, and am walking away with a number of valuable insights. I'm really looking forward to the second course. The only thing I would improve is that I'd like to see other students put more effort into their peer reviewed assignments. Sometimes it seems like people just write whatever is on their mind and they don't support their opinions with course materials. When students use course concepts to support their opinions, I have really appreciated their perspective and efforts to use what they learn to form answers to the questions.