Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Foundational Principles に戻る

アリゾナ州立大学(Arizona State University) による Teach English Now! Foundational Principles の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
10,699件の評価
3,830件のレビュー

コースについて

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
ハイライト
Engaging instructors
(331件のレビュー)
Interactive content
(104件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

KK
2021年9月9日

That was a great experience and im very grateful for all the information I have been taught. The professors leading this course are just so professional and it was really joyful to learn all the time.

JG
2018年8月17日

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

フィルター:

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles: 51 - 75 / 3,816 レビュー

by Kiki W

2017年9月20日

This course is presented very well. The team put together an effective presentation, in my opinion, of important techniques for teaching language. In addition to presenting the facts, the entire course serves as an example of the techniques taught in the class. The material was clear, thorough, and important. I enjoyed the videos and had no problem with the assignments; in addition, the peer reviews were very informative and provided other perspectives from students in many parts of the world. This was my favorite assignment because I liked learning from others, but it also highlights the importance of taking this class! What better example for the purpose of TESOL than to be able to communicate with others in the world! I'm encouraged to continue the program and feel great about the accomplishment.

by Judith C

2021年4月7日

This has been a fantastic little course and I felt very motivated to keep on doing it once I started, My head is full of the metaphors and snippets of information which made "the fundamentals" so much more memorable than dry theory or the same, old ESL teaching stuff you find online. I spent a month studying intensively for a CELTA qualification a couple of years ago and I can honestly say, I feel I have learned more useful information about actual teaching techniques and the needs of learners than I did in days of in-class time. I just loved the taxonomy summing up at the end which seemed almost poetic and left one with a strong metaphorical structure to start building a personal teaching philosophy on as it was hard to disagree with any of the points.

by Stéphanie S

2021年3月5日

This is the second certificate I do in the specialization "Teach English" now and, having completed various types of certificates on Coursera, I can assure you that was one of the best courses I have ever attended (I'm not even a teacher at the moment). I am a medical professional who has a deep interesting in communication, languages, teaching others and helping them understand hard concept so this course and specialization not only helps you in teaching others English but gives you didactic tools in general and tools to understand others. It even has a part on "self-care"/avoiding teacher burnout that anyone could use in any job that demands a high-level of self-investment in others. To all the wonderful teachers who created this course- THANK YOU.

by Alexandra M

2020年6月17日

Great course! I've always wanted to shift my career into teaching English language, but I've always been so intimidated (one reason is me being a non-native English speaker). I always felt that I wasn't cut out for the job. But getting through this course gave me the confidence and a push to go after what I really want. I must say, that it successfully enshrined the foundational principles that a teacher needs for teaching language. Even if this is an online course, even if I'm just watching the lessons from a small screen, Dr. Dixon's words really helped me lot in changing my perspective towards teaching profession. I just really hope I get to finish the whole course, and I look forward to where this might take me. Thank you so much!

by Paul O A

2020年9月10日

Wow!!!!! This is the most interesting course i have ever been privileged to receive. For me,from what i have experenced in this course,i can say in authority that,pursuing a course online is the most flexible and effective means of studies.I really enjoyed every module of the course.And my knowledge as a professional teacher has been deeply enhanced immensely.

The lecturers are very competent,efficient and effective in their fields.I wholeheartedly thank our affable,hardworking,and dedicated lecturers such as Dr Shane Dixon,Dr Andrea Haraway and the others who selflessly took us through this courrse successfully. It is my greatest wish that i could get privilege to complete the subsequent courses left successfully.

Thank you.

by Hina M

2020年6月25日

Hello everyone!

This is an absolutely fantastic course. The way all the basics are tied together makes this very important learning and brought varied aspects of teaching into proper focus. Though as someone who has been teaching English for a long time, I was aware of some of these techniques already, I have learnt a lot more in this course than I have in all those years. Dr. Shane Dixon's delivery is impeccable and so effective. It's motivating to hear that faculty as accomplished as Dr. Dixon and Andrea Haraway face these issues too. Anyone who takes joy and pride in teaching will benefit tremendously from this course. Thank you so much to everyone who has been part of putting together this course. Highly recommend!

by Maria_Samkova

2017年10月16日

I recommend this course to people who want to start or have just started the teaching career. The course is very encouraging. The metaphorical language used by professors facilitates understanding of the main teaching concepts and principles. I found metaphors of the week inspiring.

Suggested readings introduce the fundamentals of language learning and acquisition. Dr Krashen’s, Lev Vygotsky’s, and Bloom’s ideas are constantly retrieved thus easily acquired. Other readings contribute to understanding the teaching philosophy as well. At the end of the course I put together a list of effective teacher’s and learner’s techniques which I apply to task designing. I find my classes have more effective student engagement now.

by Şükrü O Ç

2020年4月24日

Hi I am Onur and I just finished my first courseon the way to have ASU TESOL Professional certificate. Frankly speaking the content of the course is one of the best among the other related courses yet it has some pros and cons.

Pros:

Great metaphors that you can use in your class,

Everything was explained in a very friendly way,

You don't have to spend lots of time by studying,

You surely will find great paragraphs about language learning issues,

Cons:

Feedback system for assignments was not as I thought, so do not wait for any kind of authoritive feedback,

Questions in the quiz part should have been more difficult , many of them can be answered with a little information

You can be a fan of Mr. Dixon :)

by Gwen R

2020年7月1日

I very much enjoyed my first Teach English Now! course, and intend to continue with the next 7 courses to complete my TESOL Certificate. I think that, although I don't generally enjoy watching videos, the videos were short enough to keep my interest, and the content was excellent. I did not become bored or tune out, it felt like all of the content was relevant, and the sequencing of the material worked well for me. My general feeling was that I was learning a lot in a short time, and I felt quite motivated to continue making progress. I attribute part of that to my level of interest in the topic, and part to the presentation and delivery of the course. Excited to continue. Thanks very much!

by Robert D D

2018年8月14日

For weeks, I scoured the internet trying to find an online TESOL/TEFL certificate that met my needs and it felt overwhelming. Some of them were extremely cheap, some were fairly expensive, but very few were offered fully online and endorsed by an accredited university. I graduated college last year and the memory of how those online courses were structured was still fresh in my mind. I was overjoyed to feel right at home with not only the format but the quality of content. Dr. Dixon reminds of professors I had in college and seems so approachable with his silliness and yet you can tell he has so much to offer. This is only the first course but I feel very confident going forward.

by Kristen Y W

2017年3月31日

Dr. Shane Dixon, Jessica Cinco, and Dr. Justin Shewell make the course so fun and engaging that you almost feel that you are doing no work at all. They used metaphors and skits which made material which could have been boring and tedious, exciting and easy to remember. Non-native English speakers will find this course easy to follow, as the instructors do not speak too fast nor use advanced vocabulary where unnecessary. They present theory, but this course teaches on another level as you can see how the instructors themselves implement these theories in the way they teach you the course. It says that the course takes six weeks, but if you work hard you can finish it in one.

by Inna Z

2018年8月16日

I'm so grateful to the team of the Teach English Now! Foundational Principles. In fact I went through trial and error before I finally get an opportunity to study at the best structured and presented course ever! I had some really frustrating experience of studying in the teaching courses, which in fact didn't add anything to my teaching skills and they didn't motivate me to continue my development as a teacher. This course had a strong impact on my attitude towards this profession. And especially I would like to highlight the inspired style of presentation and a tremendous performance of Dr. Shane Dixon. Thank you very much for your contagious zest towards the profession!

by John B

2020年9月5日

I found this an interesting course. I've been a language student myself for a number of years and very much this has taught me that knowing how to speak English and knowing how to teach English are two very different things. This has been a great "taster" to see whether teaching English to speakers of other languages could be something I am interested in pursuing professionally. I was initially a little scared regarding the peer review assignments, however I think this is a valuable way to consider aspects of an issue that I did not consider myself. Lastly, I also wonder if this course will help me become a better student myself - a definite unexpected benefit!

by M. C

2018年8月19日

This is a wonderful course that is clearly presented to help people who might already work as English Language Acquisition teachers or who are new to the field. Information is clearly presented through videos with supporting documents, as needed. There are regular checkpoints, peer-reviewed writing assignments that involve critically analyzing various teaching ideas, and quizzes that directly mirror any notes you have been taking from the course videos. The professors are fantastic and set a perfect tone for English Language Acquisition teachers to model. I was able to complete the first course in under a week and have moved on to the others in the series!

by Diana J K

2018年2月19日

I liked this course a lot. Dr. Shane does a great job of breaking down concepts with metaphors and stories from his own life as well as essays from his students. You can tell he genuinely loves teaching and his personality comes out in these lectures. He addresses not only how to teach effectively, but takes time to talk about you (the teacher), and the importance of a good work life balance. If I have one criticism of the course, it is that the weekly Essential Questions (mini essays or video responses) are graded on extremely loose criterion. However I understand that not everyone who takes this course is a native speaker. Thank you Coursera!

by Lanhui L

2020年1月8日

Really hands on course with great and unforgettable metaphors. Help to struct a picture of being a good teacher by introducing fundamental but crucial rules, e.g.being a camera to provide both focus mode and diffuse mode for learners, so that they can spend time in words and grammar while practicing what's being learnt in outside world. Taking learners' sentimental factors seriously to help build confidence etc.

Most of the time, we were only thinking about what to teach. With theories in this course, we got our own diffuse mode of teaching how to teach (how to stimulate) and how to teach them to be good with language learning strategies (LLS).

by Mason W

2017年1月21日

This is a wonderful and friendly course that, at any moment, seems relatively easy yet conveys a smart and sensible pedagogy to help students acquire a language. Each week's coursework lays out a simple metaphor, yet that chain of ideas leads to some very sensible ideas like how one shouldn't feed English to students the way one feeds corn to geese for paté, but, rather, that students should be motivated to teach themselves by immersing themselves in language communities. So this course was a lot of fun, yet in only a few weeks I've learned more about pedagogy than I did on a five-year English-teaching trip around the world.

by Christyn C

2017年10月22日

I have never enjoyed a course as much as I am this course! I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to learn from professors that are so passionate about this field. I was expecting your typical college course where it's boring and non inclusive. This is seriously the best experience and I am having the time of my life! I've never felt so involved and inspired by a college course. This is not a passing feeling. It's taking root within me and something I will carry with me as I continue on my journey. Thank you so much for this course and....just the opportunity to be exposed to such amazing Drs./Professors!

by Shaimaa E

2020年5月7日

I learnt a lot of things from This Course, It was very useful for me, Thanks to everyone who participated in preparing and presenting this course.

I'm grateful for everything that I learnt in this amazing course, no matter how hard I try to say how am I very thankful for everyone of you it won't be enough to describe how I feel, So thank you so much.

Special Thanks to Dr. Dixson you are the best teacher I ever have and I wish one day I could attend a live lecture with you, I learnt a lot from you and from first lesson to the last one of this course, there's a huge difference in my level as a teacher :) thank You

by Sruthi V

2021年8月11日

I am thoroughly grateful for this course. It has opened up different techniques and methods that I can adopt in my classes. It also helped me to understand what I could do to instill confidence and enhance learning in my students. I was also able to analyze few of the methods I adopt and make required changes. Wonderful presentations from Prof. Shane Dixon and Prof, Jessica Cinco. I really enjoyed Professor Shane's presentation on Audio Lingual Approach and Comprehension Approach and all the "Ängel" - "Devil" debates. Thanks to all working hands behind this course. You all indeed do a great service!

by Omar T

2020年2月14日

First of all, I would like to express my full gratitude to the professors who made this course. It was very insightful and interesting. I would recommend it to everyone who is willing to expand his or her knowledge about the profession of teaching a English. Second, I want to thank all of my classmates who helped me with a lot of ideas and didn't hesistate to share everything they know. Also, for reviewing my assignments. Finally, I want to say that I am very happy for completing this course, and I can't wait to complete the other courses related to the specialization of teaching English. Thank you!

by Egunjobi M T

2020年4月16日

Teach English Now is filled with a lot of needful contents and techniques for better language learning acquisition. And lessons under it are not, at all, limited to teaching language alone; it extends to every aspect of teaching subjects. It exposes a teacher to better strategies for teaching , that would make students feel engaged and interesting about the contents. With adequate understanding of this course, teachers can produce confident and competent graduates who are as proficient at speaking, writing, reading and listening as native English speakers. I was fortunate to have taken this course.

by jujuyuan

2016年11月18日

I love the course and it is so useful.

The Lecturers are so wonderful even thougth all the lessons are on the video but I really can feel their efforts to make the course more approachable and easier to catch up.

The principles and techniques introduced about language learning are really pratical and scientific.

Besides, reading other learners' assignment is also beneficial to me!

Love it soooooooo much!

I will keep on learning as soon as I've got spare time!

Hope I can get the final certificate!

Thank you all who have made contribution to making this course! You guys are just awesome!

by SAFFANA A S

2021年4月23日

Greetings to all teachers and founders of this very useful and thoughtful course in all its steps.

I had a lot of fun during this session and lamented a lot because I haven't had this experience in a long time.

I really took all the principles of this course and started using them with my students immediately. I started to feel like a different teacher after this.

Very valuable information that I did not know so clearly before, I will be grateful to you all for life.

I hope to complete the next session with you and keep abreast of all new things you have in the future

Thank you so much.

by Van A N T

2021年10月30日

My cordial thanks go to Susan Edrington, Executive Director, Global Launch at ASU, for organizing such a magnificent Professional Certificate on TESOL. I offer my special thanks and gratitude to DrShane Dixon and Ms. GL Jessica Cinco for taking us on some incredible adventures. My heartiest thanks also go to DrJustin Shewell for designing the curriculum more engaging and effective. Finally, I must thank and express my gratitude to my peers for guiding me with formative reviews throughout the journey.I now consider myself honored and lucky to be a member of the TEN family.