Chevron Left
Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics に戻る

HSE University による Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
113件の評価
35件のレビュー

コースについて

Enumerative combinatorics deals with finite sets and their cardinalities. In other words, a typical problem of enumerative combinatorics is to find the number of ways a certain pattern can be formed. In the first part of our course we will be dealing with elementary combinatorial objects and notions: permutations, combinations, compositions, Fibonacci and Catalan numbers etc. In the second part of the course we introduce the notion of generating functions and use it to study recurrence relations and partition numbers. The course is mostly self-contained. However, some acquaintance with basic linear algebra and analysis (including Taylor series expansion) may be very helpful. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

人気のレビュー

RA
2018年3月29日

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

HS
2020年7月6日

very nice course.very well taught by professor.one thing that can be improved is detailed solution of quizzes and assignments.thanks for the course:)

フィルター:

Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics: 1 - 25 / 32 レビュー

by Tyler R

2017年4月12日

This is a wonderful course. The lectures are engaging, clear, and intuitive, but from my perspective the best thing about this course is the depth of the problem sets; although not long (usually 3 - 4 problems), each problem requires genuine thought, understanding , and creativity. This has been especially refreshing in the world of online courses, where shallow and computational problem sets can sometimes be the norm. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in an introduction to this beautiful subject.

by DAVID R M

2017年6月2日

This was an engaging course and I welcomed the opportunity to try something a bit more advanced than the typical offerings on Coursera. Lectures are very well presented. Homework assignments were pretty good and the online forum was helpful. I recommend this course and I would be interested in further courses like this one. I found it helpful to have a couple of textbooks on hand for reference. For the earlier material I used Shaum's Outline of Combinatorics by Balakrishnan (free download on archive.org) and for the material on q-series I referred to Theory of Partitions by George Andrews.

Suggested improvements: add student interaction during lectures to test understanding and supplement with worked problems in videos. Also add lots more problems for students to work on.

(I have found that with nearly all online courses the number of problems provided is too few for me to learn a topic).

by Shen-Fu T

2019年5月8日

The course starts with basic enumerative combinatorics like counting sequences, permutation, etc. and gradually moves into generating function, which is a very powerful tool in combinatorics. It also gives interesting combinatorial proofs of several classical results. The quiz is helpful and final assignment a bit challenging and definitely fun!

by David A I T

2017年8月28日

I enjoyed the course.

The lecturer was very good and the material quite interesting.

I feel that the assignments where sometimes very different compared to the material covered but I ended up doing extra research and learning more which is good!

Many thanks to the Coursera Staff as well as the Higher School of Economics.

by Harry A H

2020年4月29日

This is a marvelous course, starting from absolutely basic things to quite advanced things. Extremely didactic. The problems sometimes seem frustrating, but after a few trials and review of the material one gets there. Thanks for this course,

by Enrico P

2019年6月14日

Really great! Clear, concise, rich and stimulating, filled with many examples. Only the last part on q-world, although extremely interesting and very well introduced, is left almost without practical applications :-).

by arvind

2020年9月18日

This was one of the best introduction to advanced mathematics courses in coursera.

except for a few minor issues like accepting similar forms of answers in quiz,content wise it was a brilliant course thanks a lot!!!

by Sharath R

2019年2月19日

The professor is a little slow when he speaks but apart from that, he is a brilliant teacher. The course lets you get to the very roots of the topic by pushing you to do the derivations etc. Brilliant course!

by Ry A

2018年3月30日

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

by harsh s

2020年7月7日

very nice course.very well taught by professor.one thing that can be improved is detailed solution of quizzes and assignments.thanks for the course:)

by Robin B

2020年11月18日

This course is very well put together. The lectures are very clear and cover a wide range of interesting topics in combinatorics.

by Ritvik R

2017年8月22日

Great lectures and content. I really enjoyed it. However, the solutions exercises could be clearer and in more detail. Thank you!

by DAVID P P

2017年4月20日

Very good gourse, I persoally enjoyed the lectures in which the relatipnship with other areas of mathematics were discussed.

by Franck D

2017年5月7日

This course is great! The instructor exposition is very clear and simple. Recommend to anyone considering this topic!

by Daniel M

2020年9月22日

Excellent class spanning both elementary and nonelementary topics. Would highly recommend!

by sami

2020年4月11日

i loved the course thanks to the

National Research University Higher School of Economics

by Herman Z

2017年4月10日

Marvellous online course. High level and ultimate lessons.

Don't underestimate the level.

by Ze T

2017年6月20日

Excelente course with real university level of concepts and exercises!

by Cong X

2018年2月12日

by far the best math course I had (and I've taken many) on coursera

by Ajit B

2017年4月11日

Excellent course. I hope there are more courses by the same team.

by Cheung W C

2020年1月12日

A detailed introduction to enumerative combinatorics.

by Francisco P

2018年5月7日

Funny

Very good presentation

by NARAYAN R

2020年10月23日

A well taught course.

by Michael F

2017年6月18日

Great course!

by Dmitrii S

2018年6月7日

Nice work!