Chevron Left
Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,810件の評価
473件のレビュー

コースについて

In order to make a difference in the health and well-being of a population, we must understand the burden of all problems and conditions that affect the population, as well as how well our efforts to mitigate these problems are actually working. This course provides you with some essential skills and tools that will enhance your ability to describe and understand the health of your community. The tools that epidemiologists use are in fact useful for all public health practitioners, including data scientists, program officials, agency leaders, and policymakers. Whether you are deeply enmeshed in your career and looking to augment your skills, or are looking to change career paths into the field of public health, this course will give you some of the practical knowledge and skills that we hope you can apply in your professional endeavors....

人気のレビュー

KG

Apr 03, 2020

The lessons are very helpful and the method of teaching is very straightforward. I just wish there would have been handouts for the exercises so that we can easily keep a file for future reference.

AC

Apr 02, 2020

It was refreshing to go through the course content. I could not go through the fact finder as the website is moved to https://data.census.gov and hence the options too. Thank you for the learning

フィルター:

Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice: 451 - 474 / 474 レビュー

by Joe P

Jul 24, 2020

This course was a good primer for those who have little or no background in epidemiology and public health. In particular, the instructor set the practice of public health in the context of its longstanding history and the tools that were developed by researchers and government officials to collect population and health data, in order to respond to health issues and threats in a way that traditional, individualized clinical practice was. However, the instructor does not necessarily make the learning objectives clear in each week, and often tests on material that was only vaguely mentioned in the lecture videos or was poorly defined. The last week of the course, on mapping health data with GIS tools, is promising, as it introduces the student to powerful data tools and comprehensive health and geographic data available to the public. However, it falls short in that this segment provides only a cursory treatment of these tools, walking through an exercise that does not reflect the practical usage of such aids and therefore fails to provide the opportunity for students to attain rudimentary skills.

by David A

Jul 26, 2020

Week 4 was an absolute disaster. The instructor has outdated instructions and incomplete instructions for how to use the QGIS software. In addition, despite many complaints about Week 4 in the discussion there has been no change or clarification to the course. The level of complexity introduced during week 4 does not match the type of short introductory course this is either. The QGIS software is very complex and powerful. Having us do a guided tutorial would have worked if the instructions matched up - they don't - so it led to difficulties figuring out the software on our own.

by Taylor A

Jul 06, 2020

The subjects covered were less intensive and technical than I expected. Most of the information covered, I was already familiar with from my undergraduate studies. The biggest point of difficulty was the mapping exercise at the end, seeing as the students were mostly left to navigate totally unfamiliar territory on their own with the QGIS software. However, if it weren't for this course, I would not be at all familiar with mapping softwares or how to create content using one. For this, I am grateful to Johns Hopkins for the course.

by Amy G

Apr 29, 2020

The content was extremely basic. The videos were not engaging, as the lecturer read the slides verbatim with uninteresting intonation. I did learn the basics of using open source GIS mapping software in the last week, but that was the only highlight.

by Maria A M R

Jul 27, 2020

Thank you for the efforts you have put in this course. I would suggest that the course will make a much more interactive and engaging presentations during the lectures to help those who learn faster with focus-sustaining visuals.

by Jeff M

Aug 04, 2020

There are problems with the GIS tutorial. Several students have asked questions in the forum which have never been answered, or even acknowledged by Coursera or an instructor.

by Guido A K

Apr 04, 2020

Sobre todo en la última clase le falta una actualización. Si bien entiendo que es un curso introductorio, me hubiera gustado que fuera un poco más profundo en los tópicos.

by Kaeleen D

May 29, 2020

I enjoyed the course but it is a bit more basic than I expected. I would really like a course on GIS alone. That would be great. It is thorough and interesting.

by Elizabeth M

Apr 01, 2020

It was interesting! I liked learning the history of the subject, and the professor connecting the dots of graphs and reaching a target audience.

by Janice E B

Jun 07, 2020

I felt that the pace of the course was quite rushed particularly with so many of the graphic content being fact dense.

by Pamela N

Jul 20, 2020

Awesome course, but I was struggling to accomplish the last activity for week 4 which involves GIS in public health.

by Saurabh K

May 08, 2020

Helpful to understand public health problem and study epidemiology and understand tools and formulae to be used.

by Ahmed S Y

Jul 17, 2020

Issues with QGIS lesson, it would be helpful if an instructor gave feedback in the discussion forum

by Kelley N

May 03, 2020

Fairly interesting, but VERY basic. The info was good, there was

by Daisy S

Jul 13, 2020

Mapping activity wasn't good. Very confusing.

by Thomas L

Apr 20, 2020

Factfinder has been decommissioned.

by Amy K

May 20, 2020

The information was okay, but the entire 4th week had to do with laying out maps and there was no help with the program / it was quite impossible to complete. There was no way to get help in the forums.

by Gay H

Oct 16, 2020

Lack of facilitator support. It was my first time to practice on the GIS. I followed the instructions, but I could not get it right. Questions were raised in the forum but nobody responded.

by Anna F

Aug 02, 2020

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I am honestly disappointed by this course. The first week is only a very shallow introduction to the history of public health and epidemiology. The second week only teaches you basic middle school mathematics and in the last week, there are partly no video lectures because the content is too outdated and partly there are video lectures in a bad quality. Each video is not very long, but there is at least a minute only music intro and outro. No support by teachers with technical questions on QGIS, I watched a youtube tutorial in the end. Gave me an overview though, on what I still need to study to work in public health.

by Isabelle Y

Sep 10, 2020

I just tried this course for 7-days free trial. I did not find this course interesting. However Coursera automatically renewed my subscription and charged me $65. I tried to contact Coursera customer services to dispute the charge. There are no customer service phone number or customer service email. I contacted my credit card company. My credit company gave me a number 1-800-952-5210 to contact Coursera. This number is not working. I don't know whether there are other students have been automatically renewed their subscriptions and charged without their knowing. And there is now way to dispute the charge.

by Joanne J

Jul 27, 2020

Lecturer cannot articulate well in English so it was hard for me to understand him and enough examples were not given for the different ratios

by dr M S C

May 02, 2020

I request to please change you payment method. I simply lost my 6,986 rupees just because of your automatical payment method.

by Julian V

May 10, 2020

Remove me please

by SHASHI R D

Jul 20, 2020

v ery poor