Chevron Left
Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,566件の評価
643件のレビュー

コースについて

In order to make a difference in the health and well-being of a population, we must understand the burden of all problems and conditions that affect the population, as well as how well our efforts to mitigate these problems are actually working. This course provides you with some essential skills and tools that will enhance your ability to describe and understand the health of your community. The tools that epidemiologists use are in fact useful for all public health practitioners, including data scientists, program officials, agency leaders, and policymakers. Whether you are deeply enmeshed in your career and looking to augment your skills, or are looking to change career paths into the field of public health, this course will give you some of the practical knowledge and skills that we hope you can apply in your professional endeavors....

人気のレビュー

SF

2020年12月7日

Excellent course! Epidemiology is my passion and I realize how much I do not know about this subject and how eager I am to learn so much more!\n\nThank you John Hopkins for this amazing opportunity!

KG

2020年4月2日

The lessons are very helpful and the method of teaching is very straightforward. I just wish there would have been handouts for the exercises so that we can easily keep a file for future reference.

フィルター:

Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice: 26 - 50 / 650 レビュー

by Melissa F

2020年2月8日

Very easy to understand course. Quiz questions challenging so you must pay attention, can't just buzz through the videos without absorbing material. Only area of criticism was instructions to access some of the online features when engaging in the QGIS project were not current. Some of the features of the website and even the QGIS software were a little different from what was depicted in instructions, but minor stumbling block. Overall very good course.

by Andrea M

2020年6月3日

I loved everything except for the QGIS exercise. The barrier to completion of this exercise was insurmountable for me, as the file for practice required a newer computer than I own! I was able to practice a bit with other online QGIS tutorials and as was true for the overall course, I got a better idea regarding where I need to focus future studies.

by David A

2020年7月25日

Week 4 was an absolute disaster. The instructor has outdated instructions and incomplete instructions for how to use the QGIS software. In addition, despite many complaints about Week 4 in the discussion there has been no change or clarification to the course. The level of complexity introduced during week 4 does not match the type of short introductory course this is either. The QGIS software is very complex and powerful. Having us do a guided tutorial would have worked if the instructions matched up - they don't - so it led to difficulties figuring out the software on our own.

by Amy G

2020年4月29日

The content was extremely basic. The videos were not engaging, as the lecturer read the slides verbatim with uninteresting intonation. I did learn the basics of using open source GIS mapping software in the last week, but that was the only highlight.

by Jeff M

2020年8月4日

There are problems with the GIS tutorial. Several students have asked questions in the forum which have never been answered, or even acknowledged by Coursera or an instructor.

by Ahmed S Y

2020年7月17日

Issues with QGIS lesson, it would be helpful if an instructor gave feedback in the discussion forum

by Sarah C

2020年12月20日

Useful information, but week 4 was very difficult due to outdated information.

by Daisy S

2020年7月13日

Mapping activity wasn't good. Very confusing.

by Thomas L

2020年4月20日

Factfinder has been decommissioned.

by Brad R

2020年12月8日

The course does not have a tutorial on how to use QGIS which is a software filled with icons and no intuitive means to utilize it. Please re-do this entire section with a step by step tutorial on how to import shapefiles and how to use the QGIS features. Otherwise the content isn't at all helpful.

by Amy K

2020年5月20日

The information was okay, but the entire 4th week had to do with laying out maps and there was no help with the program / it was quite impossible to complete. There was no way to get help in the forums.

by ROLA H

2021年7月30日

week 4 was not a pleasant experience. the instruction to download ad use gis was not clear. I felt very frustrated in this week. I hope you change it to more detailed ad well explained method.

by Gay H

2020年10月16日

Lack of facilitator support. It was my first time to practice on the GIS. I followed the instructions, but I could not get it right. Questions were raised in the forum but nobody responded.

by Isabelle Y

2020年9月10日

I just tried this course for 7-days free trial. I did not find this course interesting. However Coursera automatically renewed my subscription and charged me $65. I tried to contact Coursera customer services to dispute the charge. There are no customer service phone number or customer service email. I contacted my credit card company. My credit company gave me a number 1-800-952-5210 to contact Coursera. This number is not working. I don't know whether there are other students have been automatically renewed their subscriptions and charged without their knowing. And there is now way to dispute the charge.

by Renaud V

2021年5月24日

I studied this course as part of the specialization "Epidemiology in Public Health Practice", which accumulates 5 courses like this one.

After final validation and many hours of study, the final certificate for the specialization states that I worked an estimated "4 weeks of study, 2-3 hours/week", which is the same amount of time stated for a single course, such as "Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice".

This is frustrating and people may not want to add this specialization to their Curriculum Vitae. Amount of time spent is not real.

by Oluwatosin A

2020年4月15日

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, felt that it did a great job explaining why these tools and skills are essential for all in the field of Public Health. The videos while being simplistic required one to stay engaged with it as the quiz questions oftentimes were not as easy as you initially thought they were. I really enjoyed the last module as QGIS was a software I'd never heard of before and I'm glad I've been able to tinker around with it. Though I do think the section utilizing this software needs to be updated as it was a bit challenging to follow with updates in the software and updates in the links to download the information needed to make the map for the software. Overall though, great class.

by PROF D P K R

2020年6月4日

Epidemiology is a quantitative discipline that relies on a working knowledge of probability, statistics, and sound research methods. It is also a method of causal reasoning based on developing and testing hypotheses grounded in such scientific fields as biology, behavioural sciences, physics, and ergonomics to explain health-related behaviours, states, and events. The basic tools used in epidemiology is covered in a lucid and swift manner which would be handy integral component for those in pursuit public health participation in future. Especially in this COVID era a handy tool for all physicians and research personnel involved in this field too.

by Hernan P

2021年12月21日

Just like the other comments, I wish there is a special topic for QGIS only. The tutorial is narrated with some screenshots. It will be way better to have interactive tutorials or if the resources has links to an uploaded videos, say in YouTube . More examples please. I enrolled here just for the QGIS tutorial and all the buildups just to have that "study on your own as a student" feeling. But I would still give it 5 stars. Highly informative and very basic approach.

by Elizabeth M

2020年4月18日

The course was extremely interesting with practical examples, well structured and easy to follow, but students must consider it's entirely based on the US public health system (it would have been interesting to see some comparison or mention of other health care systems). The links to obtain data for the last session of the course no longer existed, so it wasn't possible to download the required data and complete the exercise with GIS.

by Myo M O

2020年7月8日

This course is superb! It's the most enjoyable yet informative course to me. The lectures are clear and well-organized. The instructions are straightforward and I think almost everyone can catch up the pace quite comfortably. After all, I think this course is not only for public health professionals but also for everyone who are involved in public health somehow. Thanks so much to Course Instructor for creating such wonderful course.

by Donald B

2020年7月14日

QGIS instructions need to be aligned with the actual software menus - there are several notable instances that would present difficulty to someone that is new to GIS and, in particular, this GIS product. A little more background on the menu choices along with behavior advice - such as you need to scroll down, you need to make a selection even if your choice is displayed in order to get a refresh, etc.

by Zack I

2020年3月28日

Thoroughly enjoyed the content I was learning, excited to use my beginner level skills with GIS where I can, and continue my education in the healthcare field. Thank you for providing this opportunity to spark an interest in a field I had no knowledge of before. While this course barley scratched the surface of Epidemiology, I feel miles ahead in terms of my intellect than before starting this course.

by Salman A A

2020年9月30日

This was my first course in Coursera. The knowledge I gained from "Essential Epidemiological Tools for Public Health Practice" is invaluable . One of the best experience I had in epidemiological studies. The course was concise and rich with essential knowledge of epidemiology. I loved the integration between theory and practical skills. Thank you for everyone worked in making this course possible.

by Kathryn K

2020年5月6日

Great introduction to the study of epidemiology. Very helpful understanding the origins of epidemiology how it has evolved into public health practice today. The course provided good information of the various tools that cabe be used to convey public health data to decision makers as well as the public. Looking forward to taking the next course in the specialization!

by Rashida P

2020年7月7日

it was an amazing course with a very basic idea of teaching the student the very history principles of epidemiology song with introduction and basic education of advanced software and techniques and tools of pubic health like GIS and mapping. Than you Coursera ana TISS for providing me with the opportunity to learn during the pandemic.