Chevron Left
Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health に戻る

ノースカロライナ大学チャペルヒル校(The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) による Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
4,083件の評価

コースについて

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

人気のレビュー

N

2020年4月11日

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

TW

2021年6月17日

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

フィルター:

Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health: 826 - 850 / 1,085 レビュー

by Subham P

2020年7月26日

good

by Johorul I

2020年7月16日

Good

by USHASREE P

2020年5月14日

GOOD

by Sharmistha S

2020年1月5日

Good

by Zihan.Dong

2015年12月22日

Good

by Luthfi S A

2015年9月16日

Good

by Dr M K P

2015年8月24日

Good

by Diego D L T

2021年4月14日

...

by Isaac Z

2017年3月3日

Gr

by Arinaitwe M

2022年7月3日

n

by TEJASWI B

2021年8月7日

by Su M S T

2021年6月27日

v

by NAVEEN B

2021年6月3日

by R. T P

2018年10月28日

.

by CLARE O O

2016年12月16日

C

by Junwen Z

2016年12月8日

V

by GLADYS L H

2016年1月24日

D

by Chun L

2020年4月17日

This is an excellent introduction to the basics of epidemiology. I took it at the testing time of COVID-19 to be able to critique the evidence presented in the vast body of news coverage. The course structure is well balanced and key epidemiology basics covered. The explanations to concepts are very clear, often with reference to real-life examples for easier understanding. The course slides are detailed but concise, with key information highlighted. The additional reading provides useful extracurricular materials in greater depth. After learning this course, I find myself more confident in reading publications on public health studies for my work in air quality, which is such a wonderful reward for following through this course. Many thanks to Drs Alexander and Yeatts! One of my suggestions for improvement would be to provide detailed explanations to the questions in the weekly quizzes. Currently reviewing the answered questions does not provide any informative feedback apart from right or wrong - it does not even show my answers, which is not very helpful for effective learning from the mistakes. Another suggestion may be to add sample size calculations for each study design? However, these are really minor comments, compared with the great materials the two instructors prepared. Once again, thanks very much!

by Josue A

2020年5月7日

Overall this was a good course! There were good topics in each module, and modules were organized in a logical sequence.

Some of the modules (especially those dealing with statistical analysis) were a bit confusing and I had to research a bit more to fully understand them. Also, some of the quiz questions were complicated to understand due to the answer types, phrasing, and they contained information not covered in that specific module.

But, overall it was an enjoyable course that allowed for a basic understanding of epidemiology and its role on public health. The videos' lengths were adequate, most concepts were explained thoroughly and effectively, and the facilitators did a good job of providing enough examples to further explain the application of each concept.

by Tony C

2020年5月5日

Excellent introduction to a broad subject. Clear, concise and well structured. Three suggestions of improvements:

1) Please share the slides separately as a course companion.

2) The quizzes requires some improvement and why don’t provide explanations for some of the answers - specially those with multiple choices to get the full point on the question

3) Some More concrete examples and more exercises (homework) would be extremely useful in the chapter of understanding measures of disease frequency and Measures of association. Granted it requires more Maths (statistics and probability) understanding but that’s the whole point of those chapters.

Thanks again, truly enjoyed.

by Fernando J N

2017年1月20日

The course gives an overall good introduction to epidemiology applied to public health. The classes are well structured and the basic concepts are cleary explained, providing a more pratical insight on the uses and importance of clinical and epidemiological studies to public health. In my opinion, the course fill its purpose which is to give an basic introduction to epidemiology.

However, considering its six weeks long duration, I think that it may be suitable to add facultative activities (videos or even supplemental material) to provide those who want to go deeper a more complete learning experience.

by Elizabeth J B

2020年12月11日

I took this course as a refresher since I have been involved in numerous clinical and medical research in the past. I appreciated the mentioned of the Malaria and TB studies as well, as I have been involved with them in the laboratory side in Africa. The only issue I had with the course, was that it wasn't until at the end that I just found out that I could have been posting my questions. Overall for a virtual class, it was excellent! My Sincere thanks to Dr. Yeatts and Dr. Alexdander for a well given lecture. Look forward to my certificate :-)

by Colleen L

2017年2月23日

An interesting introduction to epidemiology. I felt that the statistical concepts this course covered were clearly explained, and the numerical examples helped further my understanding of these principles.

However, from the course description, I expected the course to talk more about concepts (it covered this a little bit, e.g. the Bradford Hill criteria) and perhaps the state of modern-day epidemiology than it did (for example, studies and successes from within the last 10 years?). I would love to see a follow-up module on that topic!

by Peggy P

2022年3月13日

Firstly, the course structure was well developed. I liked the encorporation of the history of Public Health, the measures of disease occurrenece and disease association. Furthermore, it was good to apply these measures of disease occurence and association in the research designs. The leacturers are also well acquinted in transfering knowledge. You both explained well and made it easiere for the learner to follow through the online learning process. Thank you so much. It was indeed a happy learning. Thanks once again.

by George W K

2020年11月12日

Great introduction to epidemiology. I found the entire course very interesting and well taught. I wanted to take this course because I'm very interested in matters of public health and population health. I did not realize just how quantitative this discipline is - I feel like I should have anticipated and understood that going into this introduction, but I didn't and found it challenging to get my head around exactly how the various measurements inform epidemiologists. Great course and two very capable instructors!