Chevron Left
Essentials of Global Health に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Essentials of Global Health の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,090件の評価
246件のレビュー

コースについて

Essentials of Global Health is a comprehensive introduction to global health. It is meant to introduce you to this topic in well-structured, clear and easy to understand ways. Much of the course will focus on five questions: What do people get sick, disabled and die from; Why do they suffer from these conditions? Which people are most affected? Why should we care about such concerns? What can be done to address key health issues, hopefully at least cost, as fast as possible, and in sustainable ways? The course will be global in coverage but with a focus on low- and middle-income countries, the health of the poor, and health disparities. Particular attention will be paid throughout the course to health systems issues, the linkages between health and development, and health matters related to global interdependence. The course will cover key concepts and frameworks but be practical in orientation. ESSENTIALS OF GLOBAL HEALTH WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Course Learning Objectives By the end of the course, learners should be able to: • Articulate key public health concepts related to global health; • Analyze the key issues in global health from a number of perspectives; • Discuss with confidence the burden of disease in various regions of the world; how it varies by sex, age, and location; key risk factors for this burden; and how the disease burden can be addressed in cost-effective ways; • Assess key health disparities, especially as they relate to the health of low-income and marginalized people in low- and middle-income countries; • Outline the key actors and organizations in global health and the manner in which they cooperate to address critical global health concerns; • Review key global health challenges that are likely to arise in the coming decades. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Value Added of the Course The course seeks to add special value by being comprehensive, by handling each topic in a consistent framework, and by helping learners gain an understanding of well grounded approaches to assessing global health issues and what can be done to address them. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Readings and other materials for Essentials of Global Health For almost every session of Essentials of Global Health, you will see: - Required readings - Recommended readings - Recommended videos We have selected a small number of readings for each session that are central to understanding the content of the session. We have put these under “required readings”. For each required reading, we have also indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. In addition, we have selected some additional readings that would be very helpful to your understanding the content of each session. The first is a textbook, Global Health 101, third edition. This is a comprehensive introductory textbook that closely follows the content of this Essentials of Global Health course. We have indicated for each session what part of the book you should read. Using this textbook can be very valuable to your mastering the content of the course. The second set of “recommended readings” is some additional readings, mostly from journal articles and reports. For these, too, we have indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. Learners should note that to access articles from The Lancet they will have to register with the Lancet, if they do not have online access to a library that has The Lancet. Once they are registered, they will be able to sign into The Lancet and access all of its free articles. We have also indicated for most sessions one or two videos that relate to the topic of the session. These are meant to help the learner get a better feel for the topic which is being covered. Most learners will find the videos brief, easy and enjoyable to watch, and very enlightening....

人気のレビュー

MM

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

MK

Jul 05, 2020

A very thoughtful and insightful course that help me to understand the global health, its key concept, challenges and cost effective strategies to address the issue in the global health perspectives.

フィルター:

Essentials of Global Health: 26 - 50 / 248 レビュー

by Neo K

Jun 04, 2020

If i may, i highly recommend this course for those interested in Global Health studies and career. I learnt a lot from Professor Skolnick, read from Lancet commission, The Global burden disease compare, the World Health Organization and other entities. It is a good course.

by AYSHA S

Oct 28, 2018

This is more informative , convenient and Easily available course That is best in a lot of aspects of life either personal, financial or behavioural life. If ever i would have a similar opportunity to get it i will definitely try to approach it in my first possibility.

by Redvers F C

May 11, 2020

This course was extremely informative, well presented and enjoyable. I feel that I have a lot more knowledge about global health after taking part in this course and I'd like to thank Coursera and Yale University for allowing me to take part in this superb course.

by Jonathan G

Feb 22, 2018

learned a lot about global health but it seems a lot of these concepts and trends are a no-brainer. Of course, there is a huge problem with obesity globally, but it doesn't state the obvious about how to fix the problem i.e. getting more exercise, nutrition etc.

by Nino G

Jul 07, 2018

One of the best courses I have ever taken. I'm doing MPH at Essex University and Richard Skonlik's "Global Health 101" is the essential reading throughout the first module. This course is very supportive, relevant and essential for health care specialists.

by VISHAL D

Aug 07, 2020

Great experience. It was my first ever online course and I am glad I chose this course. Dr. Richard has a really good grasp on his field of expertise and now I can very well engage in conversations about this topic with confidence and knowledge.

by Andreia M B C C

Jun 15, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It covered a broad range of topic and I think it also provided the adequate depth. I highly recommend it if you want to learn more about a wide range of global health topics or to refresh your knowledge.

by Atiene M T

Feb 21, 2020

Engaging professor , great visual aid and world class content. I'm now anble tom decipher public health issues, identify top industries and organizations and also suggest solutions to Public health issues.

You SHOULD take this course.

by Marian F C P

Jul 10, 2020

Great course if you are interested in learning the basics of global health and the current situation around the globe. This course gives you a broad perspective on the topic and a set of skills to work on solving global issues.

by Nuno M V M d S d J

Apr 09, 2020

This course needs more, more information, I didn't learn much, a lot of the things that are explained here are very common knowledge

It will look good on the cv, but be much better structured and it could be more interesting

by Marlene S

Jun 04, 2017

Altough the Course was a bit to fundamental for me and my Knowledge, I think it was perfectly outlaid. Everything worked so well - the videos, the reading material, the communication. Thank you very much for that insight.

by Saula P M

May 01, 2020

Very Informative. I've learned a lot with regards to the key health issues that we have been suffering globally and what had been done to address this health concerns by WHO and other related organisation.

by Maïmouna D S N

Aug 16, 2018

This course was really interesting. It covers different branches of global to give us a big picture of the matter. The professor was good at explaining and giving various exemples for us to follow. Thank you

by Tipack A

Nov 12, 2017

Its really a fascinating course to be met by all age groups and the knowledge acquired made me to think about various global health issues and their present status and further ways to overcome such issues..!

by Pamela M

Jul 02, 2020

Fantastic overview of the essentials of global health. It has what you need to know, and doesn't have what you don't need to know. It's a little long so be prepared to put the time in. You won't regret it.

by Tram K

May 03, 2020

This is my first course here and this one actually blows my mind. The professor is so good, he is the main reason why I can keep up with it even though few topics are hard and long. Really recommend it.

by MOHAMED M K

Jul 05, 2020

A very thoughtful and insightful course that help me to understand the global health, its key concept, challenges and cost effective strategies to address the issue in the global health perspectives.

by Dang H T

Apr 25, 2020

The course is exceptionally wonderful for those who are not familiar with health background. It really helps to me to equip better knowledge of health issues in the world. I strongly recommend it.

by Mayara B P

Jul 03, 2020

This is a magnificent and very enriching course. I appreciated every topic that was covered I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to take this course and learn more about global health.

by ODIMGBE P C

May 06, 2020

i really had a good time during the duration of this course and i learnt more than i even hoped to learn. Thanks to whoever started this program, it was really helpful and full of information.

by JOHN Q

Feb 19, 2018

GREAT REVIEW OF SOME INTERESTING AND VITAL ASPECTS OF GLOBAL HEALTH. THANKS, SO MUCH TO THE FOLKS WHO WORKED HARD IN PUTTING ON THIS COURSE AND ALLOWING ME TO TAKE IT GRATIS. DR QUINCY

by Ritesh k

Jun 01, 2020

Insightful and unique course with diverse range of diseases and health matters covered with their way forward thanks to prof.and Coursera team for providing this type of content as FREe

by Charlotte

Jul 14, 2020

I really I appreciate that I've learned in one of the most prestigious university around the globe and its for free. Its so nice to learning during this pandemic times.Thank you Yale!

by Cristina B

Sep 20, 2019

This was an excellent course. It gives a very solid understanding of Global Health. Lectures are interesting and interactive, and readings gave an additional layer of knowledge.

by Kanani T M

Mar 09, 2018

I'm a working physician who has done a decent amount of global medical work, and I found this course thorough but to-the-point course and a great introduction to global health.