Chevron Left
Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel に戻る

ライス大学(Rice University) による Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
4,642件の評価
1,050件のレビュー

コースについて

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

人気のレビュー

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

フィルター:

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel: 51 - 75 / 1,041 レビュー

by Saba A

Oct 12, 2016

Awesome and easy course! A must for the beginners or for a quick revision. I completed this 4 weeks course in 4 days.. I know 4 days are alot more of a time but i hardly studies for 3 hours per day.. Great course.. looking forward for other courses as well in this specialization.

by Matthew K

May 24, 2020

Great course. I highly recommend following along with the videos and doing the same on your excel sheet. TO THE MAKERS: I would suggest making the excel files used in the example videos available so I could practice alongside the video. OVERALL GOOD COURSE AND VERY HELPFUL.

by Sayed A H H

Dec 12, 2016

A very useful course, I found lots of new and important staff to learn and can implement them all within my day-to-day tasks.

I am expecting a huge difference after participation of this course into my statistical skills, thanks for the organizers of this course.

by Durairaj T

Mar 07, 2019

The course offers an astonishing chance to develop myself in the area of data analysis! Actually, I can learn anything i want from the world's greatest minds. This is a brand new way of learning new things. Inspired by the way of learning in foreign university!!

by Rodolfo A P

Apr 22, 2017

Great course that teaches you a lot of the basics in Excel. The instructor is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and explains the material in a clear way. I am now using much of the stuff that I learned in this course during my daily work.

by Milind P

May 30, 2020

It was a well crafted course, Videos & Study material was to the point. Course contents will be helpful in handling large database in very efficient manner. Instructors mastery over the subject & teaching skills are really appreciable. Thanks !!!

by Rajavel K

May 05, 2019

Many factors made me narrow down to this course.

1 Time Constraint

2 Layman Friendly

3 Problem Sets

4 Easy to Understand

Eventhough I had some experience in Excel data analysis, I learnt some extra content which I think will definitely help my career.

by OLALOYE E O

May 11, 2020

This course is so interesting and encouraging for those interested in starting a career in Data Analysis. The instructors, videos, tutorials, assessments and group discussion forums are exceptional. I will recommend this course any day, any time

by Cessna S

Jul 10, 2018

I loved the course. It was explained in a very simplified and interesting manner. It kept me engaged and cleared my concepts. The Practice quizzes and questions were really helpful in determining my concepts and understanding of the concepts.

by Priyanshu S

May 08, 2020

One of the best courses on Data Analysis. Thank you Rice University and Sharad Borle Sir for providing such a valuable course and for great explanations. The Weekly quiz are very well designed to test your understanding of the video lessons.

by James O C

Apr 09, 2020

This course guides you step-by-step from the basics, so it is for everyone who wants to learn Excel without minimum skills. Moreover, the video and quizzes help to review the materials. Overall, the course is amazing and timely managed.

by Natalie G

Jun 23, 2017

This course was a good basic introduction to some useful tools in Excel. The most useful tool I learned was the VLOOKUP function and pivot tables. Will definitely be employable for any career requiring simple to complex data analysis.

by Suraj K

Oct 28, 2016

Superb learning experience.If there is an advanced course to this would definitely love to do it .

Very good faculty support staff and very enthusiastic fellow students whose guidance and thought process gives a different perspective.

by Karen S Z

Jul 21, 2018

Solid introduction to Excel. If you are brand new to Excel, you will likely need to practice a bit and/or refer to other resources for additional skills. Even though I've been using Excel for years, I still learned some new things.

by Joel F

Aug 01, 2017

Good for beginners, although a bit complicated to get around all the language barriers in Excel and without using the ToolPak which doesn't seem to work for my Excel. I'd recommend having google nearby throughout the course. Good

by Mita M

Feb 02, 2017

Very useful but not necessarily a course for beginners. Understanding the concepts isn't tough because they are explained very well but the exercises can be challenging for people who don't have a functional knowledge of excel.

by Ashu M

Mar 03, 2019

The course content is very good, the questions at the end of each week are also very testing, which gives the learner confidence to test his/her own learning. The instructor's way of teaching will be clear to a layman as well.

by D P R

Sep 28, 2016

Exceptional course. Course load is a little less if you're familiar with Excel before, otherwise learning while doing is really easy. The assignments are very practical and interesting. Looking forward for the specialization.

by Kushal G

Jun 26, 2017

A perfectly framed course,has perfect synchronization with the topic and graded quiz.The best part of thr course was ofcourse Sharad SIr and also graded quiz,it was really smart and required evaluative thinking.Thank you!!!!

by Dipanshu M

Jan 07, 2017

Excellent course to learn the basics of Excel and how to use it for day to day problems of data analysis.

In short it is a complete package for learning excel to beginners as well as for those who know a little about excel.

by Kenneth N B A

Nov 18, 2019

This course is one of the best that I've taken so far. I've always had a hard time navigating and using Excel due to its complexity. The course gave me (some) the necessary skills that I needed for my studies as a student.

by Karthik

Sep 14, 2019

I wish I had received a training like this when I first started working as an analyst 7 years ago. Although I was familiar with the concepts discussed, it was still useful to have them laid out in such a structured manner.

by Adira R

Apr 04, 2019

I really like the pacing of this course and of each video segment. The pace made it easy to follow along with the professor. I also appreciate that he doesn't use many shortcuts, and the few he uses, are used consistently

by Alexandre d A A

Oct 11, 2018

I was think the course is more complicated. When I have experience in Excel, I didn't have difficult for completed the course in few hours. But I think the others courses of the specialization can be more useful for me.

by Federico L

Apr 25, 2020

One of the best Coursera courses I have ever taken. You really learn to master some tools from the foundations to the advanced topics. Excellent non-trivial quizzes at the end of each week help you improve your skills