Chevron Left
Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel に戻る

ライス大学(Rice University) による Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
9,004件の評価
2,039件のレビュー

コースについて

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

人気のレビュー

SW
2020年5月25日

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
2017年4月27日

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

フィルター:

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel: 51 - 75 / 2,042 レビュー

by Ajay C

2020年7月6日

This course is an excellent source to start with basic of excel and charts and diagrams

by Sathishkumar K

2021年4月11日

A very methodical and careful explanation of each stage involved in using MS Excel for basic data analysis in a business context.If you need a very basic introduction to Excel this would be a perfect course. Anyone who has little to no familiarity with pivot tables, lookup functions, and basic mathematics calculations would definitely benefit from the course. The instructor is very thorough. I consider myself an advanced user and found a few of the end-lesson testing questions to have a good level of challenge to them considering the lessons at hand. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone needing to learn Excel for data manipulation. The support from the instructors was excellent: prompt and helpful. I am looking forward to taking the next stage.

Thank you, Dr Sharad Borle and his team.

by Anwesha D

2021年5月25日

I had a great experience learning this particular course in Coursera. This course is great for someone who is not acquainted with the functions COUNTIF, SUMIF, VLOOKUPS, HLOOKUPS, Pivot Tables and Charts. It provides the fundamentals and teaches the main idea behind using these functions and features. The delivery was very lucid. The pace was fine as well. The assignments really helped to brush up on the skills which was really necessary. Whatever issues/bugs/doubts I faced I could easily resolve it referring to the discussion forums.

Also, I have to say the content is very engaging as this is the first course I could actually complete online and earn a certificate. So, highly recommended for someone who is not used to learning online!

by Rasmi S

2021年1月9日

I am very grateful to Prof. Sharad Borle for explaining each and every concept in great detail. I tend to feel anxious when I don't understand something but Prof. Sharad Borle's explanations made me feel so calm. I felt this was an extremely practical course which I enjoyed. I also enjoyed the quizzes at the end of each week because it helps you solidify the knowledge you gained in a very practical way. This is a great course especially if you need to revise VLookUp, HLookUp, Pivot Tables, Charts, and Data Analysis. One of the things I am looking for in courses these days and which this course has given 100% is the practical aspects. I feel so much more confident in using Excel for Data Analysis.

by Abdul H b A Y

2020年9月5日

Good course for the basics, learned a lot about pivot tables and I am excited to apply it to my projects.

Some comments on the quizzes;

1) Week 1 Graded Quiz there was a question on the unit price of the last row, which I got wrong. I am pretty sure the answer is correct. Would love feedback on this.

2) Week 2 Graded Quiz there was a question on the quantity of orders made in one quarter but shipped in the next. I found some orders made in Q4 but received in Q1, so this might not make much sense. Also I got this wrong, and I think that it should be right (add up three numbers from the pivot table). Would also love feedback on this.

Thank you Dr. Borle and team for the great course!

by Lev F

2021年3月3日

This is an EXTREMELY well put together and useful foundational course for anyone who wants to do data and statistical analysis in Excel in needs to master the more advanced features of the program quickly. You come out with hands-on knowledge of key functions, concepts, charting capabilities, and learn with business-focused examples and assignments. This is one of the most useful Coursera courses I've taken so far and I'm looking to complete the entire Business Statistics and Analysis Specialization in with Sharad Borle, the Rice University professor.

by Adwait D

2020年3月1日

This course was very useful for me to understand how we can visualise , analyse and showcase business data so that some meaningful assumptions and inferences can be derived out for decision making. The course instructions also were simple to understand and infact i had taken up another course from another popular app based learning platform but was constantly comparing the teaching style of this course and the other course. I found this team style by the instructor from Rice , very easy and very methodical and thought that this course was superior.

by Dhaval T

2021年2月4日

The course is very good considering it starts of slow and easy with short easy to do tasks and videos, and it is quite striking how quickly the founctions and formulae you learn become ever more useful when they are combined, sure some of the excersises and quiz questions can become confusing but you can still figure them out. Overall i have felt quite excited to learn the various chapters and definately looking forward to learn more. Would recommend updating the videos and quiz's to reflect office 365 or the newer versions of excel

by Brandon B

2020年5月18日

Excellent course. One thing that really stands out about this course is the organization and great instruction. Also the tests really make you have to think. It is not like the majority of online courses I have taken where you have a bunch of multiple choice answers and you can essentially just make guesses until you arrive at the correct answer. In this course you truly have to understand the material to arrive at the correct answers. This is definitely one of the best courses I have taken so far.

by Sooriaganesan M

2021年2月5日

My Name is MR. Sooria Ganesan

Thanks for the course recommend by My Company Ashok Leyland ltd and Excellent Course. I have been using Excel for years and still learned some very useful skills here. Most notable for me was the use of Pivot Charts and Tables, and the use of Excel Data Analysis tools to create histogram charts(which, up until now I did manually). The section on VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP was also very useful. The section on IF statements is well laid out in case you have not worked

by Manzoor A

2020年7月7日

This is the first time I have taken any online course using excel although I have some experience in using excel and data analysis. It is a great honor for me that I have learnt many news things that I never knew before. I appreciate the efforts taken by BISP Pakistan for enhancing skills by providing such plate form. I will extend my gratitude to the RICE University faculty for providing such an amazing teaching methods and making us understand all the contents concisely and practically.

by Aakash L

2020年7月19日

A very easy to understand and simple step by step process in making anyone understand the importance and use of excel in playing a huge role in business. Not only does the excel teach you to interpret data but you can also analyse the data to see any trends and improve them. I would say it made me understand the important role excel plays in running a business and how people need to understand the practical applicability of excel in day to day business life. Great job done, thank you!!

by Siti Z B K

2020年9月11日

Very informational and well-paced course. Really enjoyed watching the videos, practicing on the downloadable worksheets and challenging the quizzes. The lecturer, Mr Sharad, is wonderful in his explanations. I'm interested to enroll in his other courses as I find his lessons easy to follow. One thing I had difficulty with though was understanding some of the quiz questions as they were worded ambiguously. Hope that can be improved on. Thank you!

by Dibyajyoti D

2020年8月14日

Overall pleased with the content of this course. Most of the content was something you might already be familiar with, I was. You will be introduced to the Data Analysis Toolkit in Excel. And anyway, to complete the entire specialisation is the goal. Prof Borle's delivery was on point (would suggest you watch on 2x). The only complain is that the audio is supressed. You wont be able to hear distinctly without headphones or external speakers.

by Joel G

2020年6月7日

My college offered Excel, but it was stopped midway. But this course helped to pick up from where I stopped and go even further than what would have been taught at my college.

The videos were well done, and easily understandable, Though the questions were sometimes tricky. This is my first online course I have ever completed, and I'm really satisfied with the course.

If you want to learn excel, this is the right course for you.

by Anand N

2020年5月6日

This course is great! While i primarily came to learn VLookup & Pivot Tables, i learnt much more incl. scatter plots and histograms. Also the professor's step by step instructions is simply awesome. The exercises and tests were great too - some questions really challenge you! This is great course for someone who know basic excel and wants to take his/ her skills a notch higher. Thank you Rice University & Coursera.

by Ambuj J

2020年4月30日

It was a nice experience to going through the course. Though I usually use many formulas taught in this course but it helped me to get alternate method to apply the same. Moreover, in Pivot I got to know may other stuffs which I was not aware of. Overall, this course will definitely help me to carry out my excel task in a better way, specially in my job where I need to do a lot of analysis.

by Kayla M

2020年10月16日

I enrolled in the course hoping to have a more advanced skills after, but I realized that it only discusses the basic concepts- which are something that I kind of already know. However, I realized that people, more often than not, forgets about the basics. This course has allowed me to refresh the basic concepts , giving me a more established foundation on Excel.

by gary l

2021年11月10日

the course takes ALOT longer to complete than advertised. this is probably because the material is alien to the students - which is why they take the course in the first place. but i think students should be alerted that it can take CONSIDERABLY more time for those who are totally unfamiliar with Excel... the examples and training provided were excellent.

by Swaditraj K

2021年3月28日

A good course for beginners who want to learn Excel, Explanations were very good and the concepts seems very easy and clear. Course coverage also is apt for people interested in business statistics as all the functions seems important. The quality of quiz can improve a little as some questions were not really clear, but otherwise everything was really good.

by Atisheya M

2020年5月9日

I love this course and the instructor. Great speaking voice, very clear and pleasant to listen to (very important).

I went through all the study examples and although some things were a bit above my head, I learned a lot. I was able to complete all the homework and now I'm determined to learn Excel and will take the course over again.

Thank you. Coursera

by Toukir A C

2020年4月23日

This course provided some basic insights on Microsoft Excel including the pivot table, pivot chart, histogram etc. One who's completely new to Excel can enroll in this course and learn a lot. The quiz questions were very much up to the mark and one really needs to understand each lesson clearly to answer those questions. Overall, it was a nice course!

by Frank A

2020年7月15日

The course is a good intro to basic data analysis. Power Pivot is touched on and basic but essential charting methods are also explained (I had not used these for some time so it was a welcome refresher). Overall it was an enjoyable experience and if you are a intermediate level user of Excel you should be able to complete the course rather quickly.

by Jannat E J

2021年3月25日

I have been procrastinating starting this course, but once I started I understood it was much better than other spoon feeding courses where basics are fed repeatedly. This course was a fulfilling one because I got to learn the important aspects of Excel and I believe it was highly beneficiary for starting advanced Excel course. happy Exceling!

by Abhinav P S

2021年8月10日

I​t is an excellent course on using excel. The instructor has designed the course very well and explained the features of the software using some real life data and examples. It will be very useful for someone who is just starting to use excel. In this course, sufficient tools are introduced to do fairly complicated data analysis using excel.