Chevron Left
Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 に戻る

コロラド大学ボルダー校(University of Colorado Boulder) による Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,455件の評価
414件のレビュー

コースについて

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

人気のレビュー

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

LR

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

フィルター:

Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1: 26 - 50 / 414 レビュー

by Diego A Q

Nov 09, 2018

It's a good introduction to Excel VBA if you are completely new to it. Week 4 and 5 are certainly more intense. Basic mathematics (not so basic at week 5) are required for this in order to have a lighter experience, although I suppose people with mathematics affinity are the ones who do this kind of courses.

Anyways, I definitely learned a lot doing this course. As I work everyday with excel but never tried anything with macros, I have been kind of limited to use excel's full potential. I would actually like to continue with part II.

by Sean W

Mar 13, 2018

This is a great course if you really want to use VBA beyond just recording a bunch of mouse clicks. I was already pretty familiar with Excel and some surface level VBA stuff. Thanks to this course, I have a much better handle on the available features of VBA to the point where I have already been able to implement some valuable things at work. I would imagine that this would be the case even for an Excel beginner. I would highly recommend this course for a fairly wide range of experience levels. I'm looking forward to Part 2.

by Jon F

Nov 30, 2018

Excellent! The best part was Week 5, the honors section of the course. I strongly recommend doing the honors section – I learned almost as much in the honors section as I did in the prior four weeks. Prof. Nuttelman is a very good lecturer and he has a very practical and understandable approach to teaching. I always knew this thing called “VBA” was there in Excel . . . if I had known how powerful it was I would have taken this class a long time ago. I am looking forward to Prof. Nuttelman’s second Excel/VBA course.

by Wilfried K

Mar 18, 2020

I encourage everyone who wants to learn something valuable to take this course. The teacher takes the time to explain the fundamentals of VBA programming thoroughly. You have the opportunity to test your knowledge at the end of most teaching videos, and this encourages you to stay focused. The quizzes and assignments are adapted to the level of the learner and in conformity with the topics covered.

Thank you Mr Nuttelman for your engagement.

Note : This is the first time that I complete the course on Coursera.

by Jéssica M

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I'm already familiar with some coding but I wanted simple solutions for some reports I run daily in excel. I was looking for something exactly like this: simple, useful and well structured. I think the course is perfect for small projects and daily solutions in the office as well. The magic of VBA/Excel is it can be applied for most of the knowledge areas. I would recommend for people who want automate repetitive tasks and optimize their work! Great job Charlie!

by Dora L

Oct 20, 2018

I like the sequence of every class. It starts from the easiest part. It increase the difficulty gradually.

Suggestion to the course is: when we are doing some exercise to use VBA, we are not clear about the practice. Why do we need to do it? Is it just for us to get more familiar with the knowledge or will we use it in the future? Where will we use it? It will be more interesting when the learner knows what will they use it to do in their daily life and work.

by Richard M

Jul 09, 2018

Concise treatment of VBA fundamentals and demonstrating the power and value of the langue. I had struggled with self-taught VBA for some time, but this course led me through to a coherent understanding of how to usefully apply VBA to my Excel projects. The staff were also very helpful with hints that helped me past the few snags I encountered on the way. I recommend Week 5 - its pretty tough (for me, at least) but it really pulls a lot together. Many Thanks

by Tim M

Jun 16, 2018

Absolutely enjoyed the course! Charlie is a great teacher who conveys the content in an understandable manner. The length of the videos is neither too short nor too long. Also I really liked the assignments which are challenging without getting too frustrating. As for improvements, you could maybe spice up the PowerPoint slides in the videos a little (colors, background etc.). Other than that everything's perfect about the course, highly recommend it!

by Omar J

Apr 07, 2018

A very useful course for automating work and calculations in Excel by using VBA. The instructor even included debugging techniques that will come really handy as the course progresses and the code becomes more complex. The optional week 5 deals with using iterative methods to find roots and minimums of equations. If your work relys on optimizing and solving equations you can see how the last week, although optional, would be a must in your case.

by Jack M

Mar 28, 2019

The course was exactly what I wanted. Started with the very basics of VBA (along with a review of some advanced excel techniques) before transitioning in to more advanced VBA functions. Definitely got in to some mathematical functions at the end that I haven't dealt with since college (8+ years ago) but it wasn't too bad. The screen casts are all under 10 minutes but still very informative. Wasn't much fluff, just all really good content.

by Hayot R

Aug 19, 2018

I think it's a great introduction to coding for any beginner in coding. And a great introduction to VBA for people used to coding.

To me as an engineering student i sometimes passed some parts of videos since i already knew how to code in various language and knew the concept of loops, if-else, etc.

However it was necessary for me to start with this course to learn the particular syntax of VBA language compared to language I am used to.

by Mauricio M

Aug 26, 2019

Yes! Python is more powerful, true! But the MS Office package rules when it comes to office jobs. VBA comes included in that package and normally people love Excel. You could be the "sensei" / master of Excel by learning Visual Basic in Excel, Outlook, Power Point or Word.

My personal opinion: I have an exciting job cause I knew Excel when I was an intern. Now with VBA I automatize my knowledge. This course is very recommended.

by Tudor S

Jan 29, 2018

I truly recommend this course to beginners in VBA (although prior experience with other language is very helpful). Charlie is a very good instructor, he makes every step of the learning curve seem manageable. His quizzes and assignments cover all material, so make sure you know it all before doing them! This is probably the first Coursera course that is similar in difficulty and richness-of-content to a university course.

by Albert V R

Apr 08, 2018

I have found this course extremely interesting and I have loved week 5 too, which is optional.

I always wanted to learn VBA and I have tried on my own several times but I didn’t succeed. This course has helped me to overcome this initial barrier and know I feel confident to continue learning VBA.

The professor has always been there to help, and I have felt much accompanied in my learning experience.

Highly recommended!

by Lei W I

Jul 11, 2019

It introduces the concept of VBA very well, I have previously learnt a bit of it and know some programming so it is a bit slow for me but I think for a complete newbie the instructor articulates very well. Also it helps students by introducing the use of flow diagram so it is not just about writing the codes but also have a plan before starting to write the code and I think it helps a lot when things get complicated.

by Babak G

Jan 15, 2019

I found these courses very useful. The courses exceed above and beyond any other online Excel VBA course. The instructor is a university professor who is a subject-matter expert, and explains the course material in a very simple and understandable way. Part three is a project-based course that helps learners use the knowledge gained into real projects and helps solidify the learning. I highly recommend this course.

by Irakli B

Mar 14, 2020

I liked the course very much, it was really informative and great for those who aren't familiar with VBA at all and want to step in this "field", Definitely going to take part 2 and I strongly recommend this course to anyone interested in VBA. One little complaint as the lecturer said himself is that there are fewer financial related cases than I'd like, but it doesn't obstruct the quality of the course at all.

by Zhiqing L

Mar 08, 2018

I strongly recommend this course to those who have no VBA experience and want to learn VBA. There are lots of VBA websites/forums, but they are not very useful to beginners.

A very good thing of this course is that Dr Charlie is teaching you to think in a "VBA way" to solve a problem, but not just teaching syntax.

I will definitely take part 2 and part 3. Thank Dr Charlie again for providing this VBA course.

by Anam R

Mar 07, 2019

Great course! It taught me so much, really amazed to find the power of VBA and all thanks to the instructor who shared such great knowledge with everyone in the world.

The style of teaching is very simple so beginners can also learn and understand. The pace of course and the way concepts are advanced is also good.

In some videos, audio was slightly low, it could be fixed, but it was not bad.

Thanks a lot!

by Toshiaki K

Jun 24, 2018

If you get used to Excel, this course is perfectly for you. I am non-native, yet can grasp what the point is clearly in each term. One thing I want to recommend you is to learn the shortcut key combination firmly at first, like Alt+Tab, Alt+F11, Space to start the play, F5/F8 to run or step through, otherwise it might be tough to keep up with its speed in case you rely solely on your mouse.

by shantanu c

Jul 24, 2018

I am preparing for masters in Operations Research specializing in Finance. I heard Excel and VBA is still very popular in finance, so I wanted a good reference material to wet my toes. But this course was much more than I thought I wanted to learn and it helped in achieving more than my aspirations through a very well thought out content and assessments. Well done Professor Charlie!!!

by SUJITH K H

Jul 10, 2018

Hi,This course is very helpful for beginners in Excel/VBA, you will learn a lot about VBA and excel at a good pace. It helps you to apply this knowledge in real world problems. The examples and assignment given with this course work will be a good hands on experience. I would love to do the subsequent courses with Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving.Thanks,Sujith kumar Haridasan

by Deeparnak B

Mar 10, 2019

This is one of the most useful courses I have done on coursera. I'm now equipped to go ahead and apply the concepts learnt from this course right away. The instruction by Prof. Nuttelman is extremely fluid and easy to follow, even for the most complex concepts presented in this course. This course is highly recommended to anyone who wishes to leverage their excel and VBA skills.

by Vivek K S

Aug 31, 2019

The way tutor explains is very lucid. also the screencasts are ver

The way the instructor explains is very lucid. From week 1 to 4 all screencasts are very helpful. Examples are binded to the concept he explains in the screencast and very helpful for assignment and quizzes. Assignments and quizzes are nicely prepared and not very tough. One last line, Kudos to the instructor.

by Diego R M E

Feb 20, 2019

I recommend this course to everyone. The course is really well designed and useful (screencasts, examples, tutorial). Furthermore, Charlie is an excellent teacher.

As a suggestion for making the course even better, it would be interesting to know/understand why the answer is incorrect when the grader tests the assignment and gives us some feedback.

Thank you, Charlie!