Chevron Left
Experimental Methods in Systems Biology に戻る

マウントサイナイ医科大学(Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) による Experimental Methods in Systems Biology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
215件の評価
35件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn about the technologies underlying experimentation used in systems biology, with particular focus on RNA sequencing, mass spec-based proteomics, flow/mass cytometry and live-cell imaging. A key driver of the systems biology field is the technology allowing us to delve deeper and wider into how cells respond to experimental perturbations. This in turns allows us to build more detailed quantitative models of cellular function, which can give important insight into applications ranging from biotechnology to human disease. This course gives a broad overview of a variety of current experimental techniques used in modern systems biology, with focus on obtaining the quantitative data needed for computational modeling purposes in downstream analyses. We dive deeply into four technologies in particular, mRNA sequencing, mass spectrometry-based proteomics, flow/mass cytometry, and live-cell imaging. These techniques are often used in systems biology and range from genome-wide coverage to single molecule coverage, millions of cells to single cells, and single time points to frequently sampled time courses. We present not only the theoretical background upon which these technologies work, but also enter real wet lab environments to provide instruction on how these techniques are performed in practice, and how resultant data are analyzed for quality and content....

人気のレビュー

SP

Sep 22, 2019

Loved this course. Prof. Birtwistle is really into teaching and liked the way he has organized this course. Thanks!

FP

Jun 03, 2016

Excellent course with a wealth of information about system biology technologies

フィルター:

Experimental Methods in Systems Biology: 1 - 25 / 35 レビュー

by Felix E R P

Jun 03, 2016

Excellent course with a wealth of information about system biology technologies

by Paul G

Mar 31, 2020

Whilst a significant improvement on the dreadful first course in the specialisation, I found this course frustrating and poor in several key areas. Firstly, I am a Biomedical Informatician with several years hands-on experience and am looking to build up my skills in Systems Biology, and I hoped this specialisation would help with that. Based on the first two courses, it doesn't - at all.

Firstly, whilst the lecture videos are much better than in the first course, it really adds little to investigate lab procedures in such detail. An overview of how they work and a focus *on the data produced* and to how that are relevant to models based upon differential equations would have been excellent: this only happens in the final week! The instructor has never posted once in the discussion forums since the course began and there are issues reported with the quizzes which appear to not have been rectified - so the quality control is poor and I found for me personally, much of the material was irrelevant to my aims and objectives in taking the course.

Coursera really have missed an opportunity with this specialisation: the MIT Synthetic Biology course offered by edX is excellent, even though it requires a very high degree of background knowledge it doesn't shy away from the materials (it required too much Molecular Biology for me though it's an excellent course). "Experimental Methods in Systems Biology" *could* have been excellent - IF the material of the final week of lectures had been the majority of the coure. Very disappointing and, honestly, a waste of money in my honest opinion.

by Eduardo R M

Dec 04, 2015

Great course,

Recommended if you are interest in new technologies

by Himanshu

Feb 21, 2019

A good course for someone interested to work in the field of systems biology, and thanks to Icahn School of Medicine and Coursera for the same.

But the course could have been a bit more comprehensive with respect to cellular experiments and include coverage of experiments done outside the Mount Sinai lab as well, especially 'non-omic' experiments such as cell growth and viability assays or KD , KO or Over-Expression studies that can be really useful for building network models.

by Joyce C M A

May 13, 2019

This course is definitely not for beginners and students must have previous lab experience (in my opinion). It is a great course to get your feet wet in new techniques that you have not performed yet.

by Harshit K S

May 04, 2020

A really nice course which I believe served its purpose. Maybe a pdf version of experimental protocols followed in the lab videos can be added in the reading section of the lab-based video or in optional reading. This will help students who are interested in knowing the specific protocols for the technique.

by julio c r m

Aug 07, 2016

This a great course it helps a lot to get to know state of the art techniques and how to use them properly although the assigment questions of selecting the statements are quite confusing.

by Yuridia M

Jun 08, 2020

Excelente curso, en lo personal me dio más perspectivas para el trabajo con sistemas biológicos. Me gustaría que se profundizara más sobre el tema de redes metabólicas y análisis de datos.

by Esteban C G

May 08, 2020

Un excelente curso que da un panorama muy útil de las herramientas comúnmente empleadas para experimentos enfocados a la biología de sistemas

by Sheetal P

Sep 22, 2019

Loved this course. Prof. Birtwistle is really into teaching and liked the way he has organized this course. Thanks!

by Cristina B

May 24, 2020

excellent overview of experimental methods in systems biology

by Jiho C

Mar 09, 2017

Good lecture to know experimental method in lab

by Boudalia M E A

Jan 15, 2016

excellent!!!!

tanks...

by Yingchao M

Apr 20, 2020

A very good course.

by Mac D G

Jan 24, 2018

it was so useful

by Dominika B

Sep 28, 2016

Very useful. :)

by farzaneh d d

Sep 06, 2016

its very good.

by Nurşen Ç

Jun 10, 2019

ain't better!

by Mrinal V

Oct 22, 2016

Loved it! :D

by Camila A F P

Jan 29, 2019

Excelente

by 李俊宏

Dec 07, 2017

The course is mainly focused on description of the technologies used in system biology. Mechanisms of these experiments may not be very clear which makes this course seems like an introduction to the experiments. Also the quizzes are too long with enormous words, sometimes it's like a game of finding differences. I hope the quizzes be more focused on principals and calculation, which will make it more clearer.

Finally, the teacher and all staff have made a lot of efforts to build this nice course! Thank you so much!

by Mai L

Sep 30, 2017

The course provides up to date understanding of new technologies. The examples are carefully analyzed and explained. The course is very helpful for those who want to follow lab-based research. However, learners must be aware that the amount of knowledge you take in for each lesson is very large, you might need to watch the lesson over and over again to actually understand deeply.

by Pablo L

Nov 21, 2018

Really good course, even though the test were so unfair with the multiple choice questions. Why not to give any simple 0.2 or 0.25 if you get one answer out of 5? Why do I have to select all ofthem correctly if not I do not receive any point? Very unfair, 4 stars because of this. the rest of it is perfect even with lab based videos.

by Mohamad K K

Mar 04, 2016

very good introduction but as i go through the videos and then do the quiz i feel like the material doesn't highlight exactly what is needed for the quiz. Maybe i'm not taking the video lecture as seriously as i should. Something else to reinforce the material cause it seems a bit condensed.

thanks for a wonderful course!

by Erick C O

Feb 07, 2016

On the bright side, "Lab based" videos are excellent for visualize the techniques. Nevertheless "Choose all that apply" questions in the quizzes are very ambiguous, these questions should contain an explanation for prevent confusion at the end of every unit.