Chevron Left
Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies に戻る

ロンドン大学(University of London) による Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
248件の評価
85件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

人気のレビュー

MS
2020年6月5日

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

DD
2021年5月18日

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

フィルター:

Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies: 1 - 25 / 85 レビュー

by Angela T

2017年8月1日

This is an excellent course and I have really enjoyed it. The topics covered are diverse and the course has provided me with several areas for further independent research.

by Edyta R

2020年8月24日

Interesting subject and enjoyable time learning. I just realized how much I love learning. Thank you for this wonderful experience.

by Millie W

2020年7月15日

I really enjoyed this course. I signed up as I needed a few more activities related to my subject (history) on my UCAS application. Not only was it useful in that sense, I learnt so much on areas of history I had never even heard of. Recommend completely!

by David W

2021年4月23日

Excellent course, learn a great deal about the subject in a short time. This course and the program are great for those who strive to be life long learners.

by Mariana H L

2020年3月2日

Very useful and interesting.

by akhil

2020年2月6日

super

by Pol M

2019年2月7日

The course is really interesting. Nevertheless, it often focuses too much in the context of historical events to finally discuss a single picture for just 5 minutes. Moreover, I've found the tests to be too much focused on really precise and sometimes anecdotical data instead of the general conclusions which, from my point of view, are a more reliable reflection of the learning success.

by Carly Z

2019年12月13日

About half the links in this course are broken, which is very frustrating. I found the course content itself to be very interesting, though!

by Paulo J A G

2020年3月18日

Good material courses. The only negative criticism is related to some repetition of content in some videos.

by elena G

2020年4月10日

Many of course links are erase but in the test you insert questions from thinks that is not available

by Audrey L

2017年12月27日

Great material in this course, though some of the links need to be updated.

by Olga E

2018年1月22日

The quizzes are not related to the topic of this course at all.

by Gustavo M d A

2019年6月10日

disappointed, you enter is dedicated and is waiting an eternity for someone to evaluate their activities. A little sought after course, so you enter and do not know when you will receive your certificate, since there are no others to evaluate their activities

by Leslie S

2020年9月17日

Enormously grateful to Emmett Sullivan for such amazing insight. This should be a GE course for all liberal arts colleges worldwide. Indeed, the camera never lies. Was not entirely satisfied with the randomly picked peers for review. Would have preferred a group of peers with similar competencies who understood the rubric.

by Bharati B

2020年7月29日

This course is a wonderful exploration of historical interpretation of image manipulation or alteration. It was a splendid journey with Professor Emmett Sullivan to understand how history unfolds in front of the camera and how films can be considered as 'public history'. A good course for students of cinema studies, indeed.

by Anabel S d G

2017年9月14日

Highly recommended. I enjoyed revisiting important parts of History through iconic photographs and learning to look at them from a critical and analytical point of view. Mr. Sullivan was great in his lectures and the assignments were insightful. It was hard but well schedule. Many thanks

by David

2021年10月13日

This is an excellent course cutting across the 20th century's photographic highlights with candor, poignant questions, and provocative accounts of photos and how the manipulation of photos impacts the viewer and the perceptual history associated with photos of people, places and events.

by Marieta C

2021年1月22日

An amazing experience and a scenic journey into history! The course teaches one to look and really see, it’s both informative and interesting, the reference material ( additional reading) though ( that’s my only “ remark” ) contains some corrupt ( expired) links.

Highly recommend

by Tanya E Q

2020年10月15日

I loved the course. I´m a photography enthusiast and also interested in History, so the course provided me a another point of view related to the importance of using images as a historical source and all the implications. Thank you and congratulations for this wonderful c

by Sue C

2021年9月20日

A very well taught course, with the Lecturer obviously passionate and knowledgeable. Engaging topics, relevant reading material and well thought out quizzes and assessments. Thanks Coursera. I am now looking for other courses using film and image to explain topics.

by Priyam G

2020年12月5日

Emmett Sullivan is a legend. This course was a huge eye-opener and has provided me with a much larger scope for media research. It was a treat to listen to him as well as all the insightful interviews. Thank you for organizing this course, keep up the great work!

by ISABELLE M

2020年10月2日

This was an amazing experience and I have never enjoyed something so much. Kudos to Dr. Emmett Sullivan for making this such a memorable experience. Really loved your perspective and how you gave way for a more clearer understanding of history through the camera.

by Maria F M

2020年11月10日

I enjoyed every bit of the course! It has been awesome to have a more direct look on the possible political usage of photography and other images, and how these forms of disseminating information play a key role in the study and general understanding of History.

by Paul S

2021年5月4日

Excellent and enjoyable course. Knowledgeable and enthusastic lecturer. The course material appears to have been created in 2013 so some of the URLs that are included do need updating: some resources are either no longer available or are redirected.

by Pedro J d A M

2020年7月18日

The lessons and the course material are amazing. Dr Emmet's teachings goes beyond expectations with deep, scrutinized lessons. For people who work in the media , or just interested in photography, the course is a must! I definitely recommend it.