Chevron Left
Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position に戻る

イリノイ大学アーバナ・シャンペーン校(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) による Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,070件の評価
258件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

人気のレビュー

CR
2020年12月2日

Having worked with accountants for 11 years but only taking a few accounting classes in college, this taught me many things that help me better understand what the accountants are talking about.

JC
2020年5月21日

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

フィルター:

Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position: 1 - 25 / 258 レビュー

by JAI C

2020年5月22日

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

by Stephen N

2017年10月24日

I really enjoyed the professor's clear explanations. This has helped me understand the balance sheet, which will help me understand my current and future companies more clearly. Thanks!

by RICHARD S

2020年7月22日

This Course was very enjoyable partaking. I had an accounting experience but this course took me into deep specifically the practical sessions. Its free and lets all get involved.

by Adwait P S

2020年4月5日

Its a Great Course! You will Enjoy every moment of this course.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wishes to understand the fundamentals of Accounting

by John K

2020年7月15日

The course was enjoyable with good use of examples. Explained in easy to understand terms. I am looking forward to the next course in this series.

by David Y

2019年6月11日

Simple and thorough.

by DEVANSH C

2020年8月26日

great course

by Thorsteinn A

2017年4月20日

The course is well structured and remains focused on the topic on hand. It is easy to follow Kevins thought, but the discussion is quite superficial; no concrete numbers and examples are worked through in the discussion. It would have strengthened the course if the discussion went step-by-step through a balance sheet of one of the companies featured in the course.

by Crystal A

2020年4月21日

This was such a good course to have taken. I am glad this is readily available and free for those who do not have the finances at the moment. That generosity is very much appreciated. I am also thankful for how much understanding and work was given in presenting the course to the vast diversity of students. When comprehending the course would be helping beginners learn and utilize the material, the course was gentle and caring. Thank you for this course, thank you to the instructor, and thank you to Illinois University.

by Samuel C P J

2020年6月25日

My Sincere Gratitude to Associate Prof. Kevin for his clean and simple explanations of accounting . The Introduction to Accounts was exemplary and attention puller. The real world examples used in this course is meticulously planned and placed and paced in the lessons one by one. Wow! superb experience in learning my favorite subject Accounting. Once again thank you Prof. Kevin

by Nikolay M

2017年1月14日

Very good course. Gives a view on corporate business finance.

Teacher is also great.

Recommend this course to anyone who want to start finances, business or wants an dive deep into entrepreneurship.

by Katherine B

2021年3月30日

I never thought I would enjoy learning about balance sheets so much! I found this course engaging, educational, and I was motivated to continue to learn and progress during the course.

by Sandalika A

2021年4月15日

Very clearly indicates all the basic fundamentals of the balance sheet and its components. This course gives me an excellent overview. Interesting to complete all the excercises.

by Hailey S

2016年8月3日

This course is extremely basic. It took me about four hours to complete the entire course (minus the peer reviewed assignment since I audited). This wouldn't be an issue in and of itself, but there were quite a number of issues with the presentation, from questions appearing in the wrong video, to badly worded and misleading questions. It's as if the course material was quickly thrown together and not reviewed or tested. Overall, there is some good info in it if you have no background in accounting and no idea what a balance sheet is, but if you're looking for insight into interpreting balance sheets, this is not the class for you.

by Doug L

2017年4月12日

Easy to comprehend but far too basic to be helpful and I don't feel I received an "Understanding of financial statements" because the course was too rudimentary.

by Jeffrey N

2018年6月8日

I've taken a number of accounting classes in the past and have a fairly good understanding of transition basics. This course illustrated in a very simple but informative way financial statements through practical, easy to understand examples. It was clear that a lot of thought, energy and effort went into this courses preparation. It exemplified the idea that you don't need to "make things any more complicated than they need to be" to deliver the information at hand.

by Katherine L C B S

2020年6月5日

I really liked the course and I recommend it to anyone interested in applied social science, accounting. In my opinion, the teacher had the dexterity to capture themes and subjects relevant to this area of study and make them viable through a totally different, interesting and understandable approach. In short, I am grateful for all those involved in making this course possible.

by ALEXANDRE J D S

2020年7月30日

I thought the MOOC was very good. Teachers demonstrated great knowledge. The difference was the capacity for critical vision in each class, I was impressed that in addition to the incredible didactics in relation to the method for compliance, they also demonstrated great scientific knowledge, which helped a lot to enrich the article. I really appreciate the opportunity.

by maged n

2018年1月10日

Yes the course is more than amazing but I suggest that the peer graded assignment needs to be a graded quiz instead ..because I have finished the course 2 days ago and now waiting for the certificate and no one unfortunately graded my work yet ! so please guys make it a quiz not assignment .

Thanks

by Kunal L

2021年3月15日

Very important course for understanding Balance Sheet and its accounts from basics and its impact on business. Course is well designed and professor's well verse explanation of topics makes concepts very easy to grasp.

Must have course to understand Financial Statements.

by Cuauhtémoc G C

2020年7月27日

I liked this course very much. I wish Coursera would allow you to mark courses as favorites, so you could have a list of all the courses you would like to take in the future.

Also, I do not understand why this course is not showing in the "Complete" course tab yet.

by Hadi G

2021年2月21日

Amazing course, a sort of dummies101 type of instructional course to really introduce you to accounting notions when you have absolutely no knowledge about it! However, it lacks training with exercise sheets and solutions, as it is very important in accounting!

by Saleh O

2020年10月31日

I have always wanted a beginners course that would satisfy the phrase "for beginners", but I have not found any, except for this one... everything is in layman language here. It is just what you are searching for so don't even hesitate to enroll; enroll now!

by Justin W S

2018年4月26日

Great introduction for those totally unfamiliar with accounting and balance sheets. It sounds so simply, but the professor's basic definition of a balance sheet and a financial statement gave me (a complete novice) a great grasp of accounting and its goal.

by Alexandru L

2020年4月25日

It really introduces you to the basics of accounting using easy to understand ideas and examples. Highly recommend it for people who want to set a pillar for their future economic career or just to better understand a business and its balance sheet.