Chevron Left
First Order Optical System Design に戻る

コロラド大学ボルダー校(University of Colorado Boulder) による First Order Optical System Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
253件の評価
88件のレビュー

コースについて

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5600, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Optical instruments are how we see the world, from corrective eyewear to medical endoscopes to cell phone cameras to orbiting telescopes. When you finish this course, you will be able to design, to first order, such optical systems with simple mathematical and graphical techniques. This first order design will allow you to develop the foundation needed to begin all optical design as well as the intuition needed to quickly address the feasibility of complicated designs during brainstorming meetings. You will learn how to enter these designs into an industry-standard design tool, OpticStudio by Zemax, to analyze and improve performance with powerful automatic optimization methods....

人気のレビュー

RG

2019年8月25日

Really nice course with very clear explanations of the principles of optical engineering and learn how to use ZEMAX Opticstudio to simulate your optical system

AR

2020年4月29日

An excellent course that teaches you geometric optics and gets you started with ZEMAX. Some of the quizzes have typos/bugs in them, but this is a minor gripe.

フィルター:

First Order Optical System Design: 76 - 89 / 89 レビュー

by Christopher O

2021年3月10日

The lectures were pretty good and overall I learned a lot. A lot of bugs and QC issues though. Multiple errors in the notes, such as a wrong formula in an early lecture in Week 5 which is corrected later. This caused me to get a couple of homework problems wrong several times before finding the correct answer on another website.

Also, the UC Boulder website no longer works for some of the exercises they ask you to do to practice getting a feel for optical systems. It was built in Flash, i think, and it no longer works.

Also, my subscription to Zemax ended a week early, before I was done with the course.

Also the instructors don't respond to any posts in the discussion forum, even if they are unresolved by co-students.

by Christoph

2022年4月10日

Unfortunately the forum is not really operated and the autograder in the test sometimes does not accept correct results especially when they are not numeric but symbolic. I seemed to me, that some of the quiz or assignment questions could not be solved based on the questions but needed some research, which is OK from a learning and focus point of view, but I wasted a lot of time in the beginning of the course by re-viewing lectures and reading through notes.

I think, in general the course gives a good overview and introduction of the topic but lacks proper implementation or restructuring to work on the Coursera-platform.

by Leslie C

2020年11月16日

It gives a decent overview of optics. I did have former college courses that introduced me to optics, but there isn't enough practice material here. It seemed to just give the raw skeleton. I understand it's up to the student to learn and not to give us step by step guides to every question. But at least give us several optional practice problems with maybe a numerical solution so we can practice and figure out on our own.

by Hyok L

2021年11月8日

There were several questions in quizzes that were not possible to solve, based on the lectures. I needed to google. Other times, I'd get a wrong answer, and I have no idea what portion is wrong. One time, the feedback was that, the answer would be correct if I had the correct sign in one term. I changed the sign, and it was still wrong.

by Gema M

2020年12月18日

Contents are good and the lecturer presents them in a clear way. Nevertheless, there is no response from the professors on the forum and the automatic grader doesn't work very well (it might give you a wrong answer just from rounding up). Solutions to the exercises should be provided at least once the quizzes are approved with 50%.

by Mithra A

2020年6月24日

Overall the content was good. And it provided an initial path on how to go about optical designing. I sometimes feel the course does not have enough support to clarify my doubts. A chat box where a course candidate can clarify the doubts will be of great help.

by Shashank D

2021年7月18日

The course was good however there are few things that stood out.

1) Notation and use of mirrors wasn't well explained

2) Quiz emphasis was more on solving algebra equation rather than hands on practice

3) Not much support on forums

by James D

2020年5月7日

Good info - but assumes a decent working knowledge of optics. Learned quite a bit from the capstone project, but the exam was rough (lots of curveballs).

by Tarık S

2020年4月2日

It was not easy to pass the course as the materials given is not in the level of the assignments!

by M S R

2020年10月7日

This course took me months to complete because of messed up recognizing the answering system.

by Pablo S

2020年5月16日

If you are okay, that the videos only touch each subject but you are suppose to be a expert in the quizzes and especially in the capstone project, then this course is for you. But don't expect detailed explanations or enough practise, to go through the course with comfort! You will not finish the course because of the capstone project unless you have prior knowledge of the subject!

by Kim M

2022年5月11日

Too difficult, I've never expected at this level. They didn't teach detail, and told us to complete the assignments. If someone can pass the homework, it's actually no need to take this class IMO.

I give up at first week. I hope other people get suceed in this class. I'm down. I'm too stupid for taking this class. The course makes me furustrated a lot !

by Phillip T

2021年7月15日

This was a total waste of money. Never received the tools required to actually do the course

by MANIVENKATRAJ M

2020年9月3日

i want to un enroll the course