Chevron Left
Introduction to Forensic Science に戻る

南洋理工大学、シンガポール(Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) による Introduction to Forensic Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,835件の評価
585件のレビュー

コースについて

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

人気のレビュー

AP

2021年4月16日

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.\n\nyou just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.\n\ni loved this

DP

2022年1月21日

Its a great course, i have learnt alot about forensic science and i am thinking of pursuing this career. Mr.Roderick Bates is a great Instructor and i wish i can do my Diploma and Degree with him.

フィルター:

Introduction to Forensic Science: 26 - 50 / 589 レビュー

by Sheneya F

2020年11月13日

Thanks to Mr Roderick Wayland Bates for his simple and vivid explanation .....I liked his way of presentation... The course was really very useful and the case studies were thought provoking......

by Beatriz G L

2020年11月26日

This course really provided a lot of insights for me regarding solved and unsolved cases. It made me more excited to pursue Forensic Science after finishing my undergraduate degree. Thankyou!

by Keerthika

2020年8月26日

The course package is very informative! I managed to learn more about forensic than I expected. The learning is very well divided into different weeks for more efficient learning experience.

by Jamyang P

2019年10月29日

The course was very insightful and i thoroughly enjoyed every stage of the course and learnt so many new things. Everything is provided was in good detail and ordered well. Thank you!

by Virginia

2016年10月13日

Professor Roderick Bates is a fantastic lecturer. It is my first time back at school in 23 years and I followed his classes with ease. Highly recommended course for everyone.

by Jonathan V P

2018年11月11日

Very helpful class and a lot of interesting material and real cases. The professor and mentor are excellent and very helpful. Great class I would lovely recommend it

by Zafar A

2019年2月9日

I learned a lot from this course, Everything was well prepared, and excitingly delivered. I was not bored even for a second.

by Anupriya C

2019年2月11日

Well laid out course. Perfect for basic introduction to various topics in forensic science

by Shaza S

2020年10月21日

Great professor! Well organized lectures. Would highly recommend.

by CurlyPianoGirl †

2020年9月2日

It's an excellent course, you can learn chemistry, biology even a little of history, so it's very complete and interesting, if you like science and investigation I recommend you this course.

ThThe only thing I can mark as "a bad thing", as a native Spanish speaker, is that sometimes the subtitles weren't correct or weren't in coordination with the video, but it wasn't a big problem, just a little setback.

P.D.: Para aquellos que solo hablen español es importante tener en cuenta que las pruebas son en inglés, además de que a veces en los videos los subtítulos fallan, así que es recomendable entender lo suficiente de inglés como para poder comprender las consignas y/o preguntas de las pruebas.

by Pat D

2022年1月17日

The course itself was very good! The only problem is having to wait for someone to review/grade the case projects with no easy person to contact. It would be very helpful to have a definite contact for "me" to contact when problems arise such as the one noted above. The only help I could find was to try and contact a moderator, though I do not remember reading that she would be the person to contact. Loved the course. Please change the easability of contact when needed as that was a BIG frustration and would be a definite consideration when thinking about taking another course through Coursera. Thanks, Pat Donaldson

by JIGNASHA D

2020年6月10日

The course goes in depth into the world of forensic science. The course dwells into the idea of a crime scene which not only makes one use critical analysis but also puts you into the shoes of the criminal themselves. The topics covered in this course were immense and the easy understanding of complicated topics such as DNA,Toxicology and many others made me want to continue on the course with interest and curiosity.

by Teresa C

2020年10月5日

very interesting course which is worth the time and effort to learn if one is interested or curious about forensic science work. After completing this course made me realized that forensic science work is really not that easy as shown in dramas / movies. Kudos to the forensic scientists who contributed their expertise and knowledge through the participation of the investigation process to help dead victims "talk".

by Julia Y

2017年7月17日

Amazing! I would highly recommend this to anyone, no need to have too much scientific knowledge, just basics, everything is explained incredibly well and the lessons are engaging - especially the case studies. Also, the skills learned are able to be applied to evidence in the short response assignments (of which there are 2). Over all, this was a great experience, this course is great for anyone and everyone!

by Alicia J

2019年6月5日

This course is a well written and structured course i have taken an "introduction to forensic science" course before but it was not as good as this one was. The website i took my course on was https://www.futurelearn.com/ it was an okay course but the accent was very difficult to understand. If you were to take a forensic science course take this one first i reccomend you to take the class on this website.

by Rodrigo P R V

2020年5月2日

A simple and easy to follow course, wich introduce the main techniques used in the field of forensic Science. The cases ilustrative of the advances in the multiple subjects, like DNA o Poisons. I especially enjoy the Case assignments at the end of some lectures, it was a great oportunity to test the knowlegdes of this course. I recomended as a first approach to the forensic Science.

by Ganapati K

2017年6月19日

Amazing course, and brilliantly designed. The Professor peppered his lectures with occasional anecdotes and humour, making the course very interesting. Initially I had some misgivings on taking this course, as I do not have a prior background in chemistry, but with a little bit of extra effort could grasp the essential nuances of chemistry as was required for this course.

by MENG Y

2020年6月19日

I am used to be an NTU student. While when this MOOC course is available for NTU undergraduate for electives, I have finished all my electives AUs. But luckily I can still take a free audition after graduation. It is a very interesting course and solves many of my questions when I saw those SCI episodes. Thanks a lot for the professor and tutors for preparing it!

by Maude L

2018年7月7日

I love this course. I have no background in science and everything is explained very well, I am learning so much. It is more time-consuming for me than the average time the course is giving as approximates. I'm in week 4 and I needed to spend about 5 hours every week on each subject except for week 1. I recommend it to everyone who finds this subject interesting.

by Martina P

2017年7月16日

This course was very interesting and the teacher explained all the concepts clearly and easily so that everyone could learn even without any previous knowledge. All the assignments were easy to do. The only thing that I would reccomend to improve is the peer assignments that sometimes are subjected to free interpretations. I learned a lot and had a lot of fun !!!

by Jose L L

2017年7月14日

Es uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado en línea. Me gusta la calidad de sus videos, y la información actual que manejan a través de diversos medios, como lecturas y artículos.

This is one of the best courses I have studied online. I like the quality of their videos, and the current information they handle through various media, such as readings and articles.

by Bruno P

2016年11月12日

Very good introductory course, gives very good background on forensic science, evidence collection and analysis. Particularly enjoyed Professor Roderick Bates' informal style and witty comments during the video classes. A very interesting point were also the video experiments, showing us simple protocols that can be used in the lab. All in all, a great course!

by ANOOP A S

2020年10月24日

Fantastic course. It was nice to learn new things from this course. A perfect blend of scientific principles included in this course. From Locard's principle to identifying the culprit via DNA analysis of pine trees (if my memory is right) to the end, it was an awesome exploration with wisdom. Thank you mentor and Coursera for this wonderful course.

by Priyanka C B

2020年8月18日

Initially, I thought I wouldn't be able to complete this course because of my laziness. But as I started the course, curiosity to learn new things grew and it happened so that the lectures that were scheduled for one week were completed in a day or two. I'd recommend it to everyone who's interested into Forensics. Go for it! Fighting!!!

by Gwenyth M

2021年8月21日

​This course was excellent - interesting, informative, fun.

B​ig thank you to the lecturer, he was awesome .... exceptional presentation.

M​y only complaint is assignments being marked by peers. It's their opinion about your answers & if they are wrong, then you are wrong. The experts should be marking the assignments.