Chevron Left
Introduction to Forensic Science に戻る

南洋理工大学、シンガポール(Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) による Introduction to Forensic Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
636件の評価
173件のレビュー

コースについて

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

人気のレビュー

NU

Feb 07, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

フィルター:

Introduction to Forensic Science: 26 - 50 / 169 レビュー

by Abby H

Aug 14, 2017

Very fun and interesting course. Learned a lot about the field of Forensics with little background in it to begin with. Has a few quizzes on materials and a couple of fun peer reviewed assignments where you interpret a crime scene. Definitely recommend this for anyone with an interest in forensics.

by Elizabeth K

Feb 06, 2018

Fantastic introduction to the area of Forensic Science! Very thorough and informative with a lot of detail on many subject areas. I enjoyed every second of this course and feel like I now have a more advanced knowledge of Forensics. Great at busting myths seen on TV shows such as CSI!

by Trevor J H

Apr 10, 2018

Lots of effort went into this course by Dr Roderick Bates. It was extremely interesting and informative and easily understood. The video material and examples are superb. I enjoyed doing the murder cases. One of the best courses so far Ive done here at coursera.

by GARIMELLA R M

Sep 12, 2017

Great course. Prof. Bates is genius and a great teacher. I love this course very much. I am expecting sequence or specialization from same University and same professor.

Thanks for giving us an opportunity to express our feelings towards a course in coursera.

by Seow Y D

Aug 11, 2019

I am truly grateful to Coursea for granting me a financial aid to pursue this course at essentially zero cost. I have learned many techniques and case studies from this forensics science course without having the stress of failing the module in school.

by Nerea W

May 29, 2018

It's a great course, everything is so entertaining. Altho so far there is a sexist comment saying that a woman professor did not really look like a forensics expert, she looked like the perfect professor to me ;) . But apart from that it is all good.

by Anna L

May 11, 2017

I am fascinated by the Forensic Science field and this course was invaluable for me. Now that I have completed this course I am considering undertaking more courses about this subject. The tutor was excellent, came across friendly and knowledgable.

by Abu H

Aug 02, 2019

This Course was really basic and fundamental information that contain helpful material in Forensic Science chemistry. So, I enjoy a lot throughout the course, and learnt many new points and cases that is really essential for my future prospectus.

by Shobhraj S P

Feb 22, 2018

Its been great to be apart of this course, the content was super informative. Special thanks to our professor who's been super good in explaining each and every aspect of this course relating forensic science techniques. Proud learner, Thanks !!

by Sander T

Nov 15, 2018

Really liked this course. Great teacher! great powerpoints! Also for people who don't speak english quite often! I'm not a legend in the language but i could follow everything beceause of the catchwords in the powerpoints. 10/10.

by Ashwini P

Aug 11, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course as it taught me a lot about the concepts of Forensic Science and how I can apply these concepts in my future career. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in Forensic Science.

by Elisavet C

Nov 12, 2016

An amazing course with plenty interesting information. I was personally astonished from the quality of the material. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in learning and loves to be challenged.

by Suzanne M

Oct 19, 2017

This course was very informative and well laid out across the different modules. The case studies included in the material were very interesting. The instructor was easy to listen to and has a great sense of humor.

by Nivedita S S

Feb 28, 2018

great course work.

great case studies that make you think.

very good course design.

i hope there is an intermediate or an advanced course in future relating to field of forensics,

Thanking the entire team of University.

by Ángel M A

Apr 15, 2018

Voy a escribir en Español, aunque entendiendo y hablo inglés perfectamente. Este curso es excelente. No es básico, diría nivel medio, yo estudio bioquímica y biología molecular y es de lo más divertido.

by Nwawuba S U

Feb 07, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

by Dr. P R

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

by Jamyang P

Oct 29, 2019

The course was very insightful and i thoroughly enjoyed every stage of the course and learnt so many new things. Everything is provided was in good detail and ordered well. Thank you!

by Adriana R S L

Aug 15, 2018

its educational and the cases helps you to understand in an easier way, it was also a good reminder of some old learned info stacked in the back of my brain...highly recommended!!

by NITISH M

Jul 16, 2019

Really find interesting.

I got a lot of knowledge about the forensics and also got to know that the forensics in TV and movies is really somewhat different from the real world.

by Anna S L

Oct 11, 2017

I am really enjoying this course: it is very well made and I am learning a lot of interesting informations that other similar courses do not even mention. Thank you Mr Bates!

by Nilesh W

Dec 20, 2019

Very informative and interactive course. Good for basic understanding of Forensic Science.

Looking forward for advance level course including other areas of FS as well.

by Niveditha i

Dec 07, 2019

It has provided a good amount of information to understand the basics of the subject with lots of case studies makes us understand the application dynamics as well.

by Shamas u R

Apr 12, 2019

Through Coursera I have learned many more abilities like to investigate the case, It help me to enhance my abilities very much.

Thank you Coursera...!!!

by Karla M

Jul 19, 2017

Such an amazing, detailed course! I wish there were a Forensics speciality here on Coursera because I would take all of them! So fascinating!