Chevron Left
Introduction to Forensic Science に戻る

南洋理工大学、シンガポール(Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) による Introduction to Forensic Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
576件の評価
156件のレビュー

コースについて

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

人気のレビュー

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

ER

Nov 20, 2016

This is by far one of the best courses I have taken. It's intriguing and thought-provoking while providing fascinating information and going into detail on how forensic science works.

フィルター:

Introduction to Forensic Science: 1 - 25 / 153 レビュー

by Felix C B

Feb 03, 2019

Quite illuminating module

by Zafar A

Feb 09, 2019

I learned a lot from this course, Everything was well prepared, and excitingly delivered. I was not bored even for a second.

by Anupriya C

Feb 11, 2019

Well laid out course. Perfect for basic introduction to various topics in forensic science

by Lawrence R

May 01, 2019

Very interesting course which was very well presented. Would definitely recommend.

by Ismael T F

May 02, 2019

forensic scientist

by Jonathan V P

Nov 11, 2018

Very helpful class and a lot of interesting material and real cases. The professor and mentor are excellent and very helpful. Great class I would lovely recommend it

by Belinda J T

Jun 16, 2018

Fabulous so far, very engaging and easy to retain. Thank you for the thought out slides and presentation. I love the hidden humor too! :) 11 Star excellence :D

by SHAJIA K

Feb 01, 2019

it is a great course to gain knowledge

by Virginia

Oct 13, 2016

Professor Roderick Bates is a fantastic lecturer. It is my first time back at school in 23 years and I followed his classes with ease. Highly recommended course for everyone.

by Everett R

Nov 20, 2016

This is by far one of the best courses I have taken. It's intriguing and thought-provoking while providing fascinating information and going into detail on how forensic science works.

by salman

Jun 05, 2017

nice course

by Sanne A

Oct 09, 2018

If you're a CSI fan and that is the main reason for following this course, you might find this course interesting. But as someone who works within the field, I found some anecdotes/examples downright cringe-worthy or inappropriate and came across a couple of statements and quiz questions that are very questionable and/or misleading.

I think it's ironic that it starts with addressing how CSI can give the wrong impression of what the field really entails, and then continues using a lot of sensational content, with a presenter wearing goggles and a lab coat, and using introduction slides with a tune that sounds like it is coming directly from one of these shows.

As the course name suggests, it does give an introduction to Forensic Science, but I'd argue that it would benefit from adding some more sophisticated principles that lie at the heart of this profession. Students following this course, without a more proper background within the field, would very likely still suffer from the type of bias that is sometimes (not coincidentally) called the CSI effect.

by Adithya

Nov 17, 2018

The Worst Part: The peer-graded assignment were the peers think that the example for marking criteria as answers and reward you with 0 marks for your idea and explanation, thus making you to redo the assignment for another 1 to 2 hour (Time taken by me for doing once. I failed and again did the assignment for another 1 to 2 hours because I was creative.)

The better part: Is the lecture where the instructors gives demonstration how to use the instruments such Chromatography, Spectrometer and also some experiments such as detection of blood and certain chemical compounds.

My suggestion is not to register for the certificate but instead just go through the free contents i.e. videos and you'll get an amazing knowledge and techniques used in FORENSIC SCIENCE.

by Mostafa M

Jun 11, 2018

very useful and interesting course.update: I am unfortunately have to review my rate and change it to one star. this is not because of the course itself actually, it is because the assignments.I applied for this course from months ago and until now I can't get my peer-review assignments finished yet. I finished around 30 courses and yet this is the only one that I faced this problem in.

by Mario A G

Dec 17, 2018

Excelente estructuración del curso así como la selección de los temas. Altamente recomendable

by Kayleigh H

Mar 26, 2019

Very well presented,simple and covers a wide range of Forensic science

by Dakota T

Mar 26, 2019

I am so excited to continue! Already, this course has provided amazing articles and resources to help me learn!

by Alessandra C

Feb 08, 2019

amazing job! Hope a second edition of this course!

by LARA A A

Feb 09, 2019

I would recommend the course to everyone who loves smart learning Thank you.

by 徐丹妮

Feb 09, 2019

Some videos do not have Chinese subtitles……So there are some difficulties in learning.

by Mandy L

Feb 10, 2019

Very intersting with very good explaination!!! Thank you so much!!!

by Hardik G

Apr 10, 2019

A very very good course. Well explained. Lab demonstrations should be increased

by Shamas u R

Apr 12, 2019

Through Coursera I have learned many more abilities like to investigate the case, It help me to enhance my abilities very much.

Thank you Coursera...!!!

by samavia j

Apr 01, 2019

its amazing and i really recommend it to others

by briyith a

Jan 08, 2019

bastante interesante y divertido!