Chevron Left
Front-End Web Development with React に戻る

香港科技大学(The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) による Front-End Web Development with React の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
stars
796件の評価
197件のレビュー

コースについて

This course explores Javascript based front-end application development, and in particular the React library (Currently Ver. 16.3). This course will use JavaScript ES6 for developing React application. You will also get an introduction to the use of Reactstrap for Bootstrap 4-based responsive UI design. You will be introduced to various aspects of React components. You will learn about React router and its use in developing single-page applications. You will also learn about designing controlled forms. You will be introduced to the Flux architecture and Redux. You will explore various aspects of Redux and use it to develop React-Redux powered applications. You will then learn to use Fetch for client-server communication and the use of REST API on the server side. A quick tour through React animation support and testing rounds off the course. You must have preferably completed the previous course in the specialization on Bootstrap 4, or have a working knowledge of Bootstrap 4 to be able to navigate this course. Also a good working knowledge of JavaScript, especially ES 5 is strongly recommended. At the end of this course you will: - Be familiar with client-side Javascript application development and the React library - Be able to implement single page applications in React - Be able to use various React features including components and forms - Be able to implement a functional front-end web application using React - Be able to use Reactstrap for designing responsive React applications - Be able to use Redux to design the architecture for a React-Redux application...

人気のレビュー

AA

Dec 13, 2019

The course was very helpful for me I learnt many new things in react world through this course. The instructor teached the course very well and covered all the content nicely. Thanks coursera

BK

Feb 10, 2019

Instructor Jogesh is really good and I feed the course pace is set absolutely perfect for online learning quickly and easily.\n\nThank you sir,\n\nBest Regards,\n\nKishore Buridi

フィルター:

Front-End Web Development with React: 1 - 25 / 198 レビュー

by Marek T

Mar 09, 2019

I was really excited to find this specialization. I work with React and

full stack JavaScript for several years now, and I am always looking

for high quality learning resources for me and other developers from

my company. I thought an university level course will surely qualify

as such a resource, but oh my, was I wrong.

The instructor clearly doesn't have any real world react experience. The

instructions in the course go maybe a bit beyond basic and FREE

tutorials on the websites of React, React Native and other used technologies.

The whole specialization is very basic and I can honestly tell you, that

the knowledge acquired in this course would not be even close to what I would

expect from a junior developer before considering him for a position.

Application created during the course is trivial and will not prepare you

for real world development.

Another really astonishing thing for me were the assignments. I simply

cannot understand how a course created under the name of a university can

provide such ridiculous amount of hand holding. Pretty much everything is

given to you, all the way down to details like how you need to name your

functions.

To sum in up, on the plus side I did appreciate:

1. The idea of a full stack JS development course.

2. Technologies chosen for such a course.

On the other hand, my biggest issues are with:

1. Too trivial.

2. No automated testing.

3. No architecture. A project structured by this course, would be hell to work with in just

a slightly larger code base.

4. Very sloppy coding.

5. And worst of all: usage of well-known antipaterns. Eg.: functions in render

methods of components.

I would advise anyone to save their money and just read throughout official

React documentation. If you like to learn by online video courses, there are

much better (and cheaper) options around made by top developers with plenty

of experience.

by Syed M M H

Oct 08, 2019

Course is backdated. Poor coding style. Poor approach. I started a project after watching this. I needed to reimplement everything and forget everything I learnt from here.

by Dhanush c

Jul 10, 2018

Dope react course.I hesitated to even choose react because of the syntax of react.But its cool now as im used to it . Felt comfortable while learning

by Guillaume B

Sep 18, 2018

This was just the right amount of "taking me by the hand" for my level. The emphasis on building a site and hands-on experience is how I prefer to learn. Thanks!

by Herbert R

Oct 04, 2018

The pace of the course is too fast for the topics being introduced. In week 4, too much information is being thrown at you to learn. One cannot get a good understanding of these topics in such a short time.

Additionally, the professor should have diagrams of concepts like ReduxThunk and Redux in general to give students a much clearer explanation of what is going on.

Finally, instructors assistants rarely reply to discussion questions.

by Aravind V

May 16, 2019

Excellent Course to get a grip of React JS. I loved the way you start a project from the week 1 and finish parts of it as assignments during the course. This actually helped me focus on the learning rather than getting stuck in the assignments. The concepts were clear. I felt some of the redux concepts could have been explained with more diagrams etc. But still overall this course is really good compared to some of the online tutorials I was referring to for learning React. It gave me a proper structure to developing a React application.

by Michael S

May 05, 2019

I was able to use the course to build some simple React apps and further my knowledge. Has a good set of additional readings, lectures are clear, the assignments are quite simple if you follow the lectures and gave me a good code base to start creating my own projects.

by Muhammad U S

Sep 13, 2019

A comprehensive course to get you started with React. It covers all the fundamental concepts with good explanation and steadily escalates to advanced concepts. I would highly recommend developers with good JavaScript (ES6) knowledge to pursue this course.

by Buridi S K

Feb 10, 2019

Instructor Jogesh is really good and I feed the course pace is set absolutely perfect for online learning quickly and easily.

Thank you sir,

Best Regards,

Kishore Buridi

by Pavan K M

Aug 24, 2018

Awesome course, which has given me the most of the insights of the React and i started converting my real time projects after taking this course.

by sbabureddy

Jun 06, 2019

Good course on React Web Development but it does not cover latest concept of react hooks that is the only bad thing about this course.

by Mahendra Y

Feb 05, 2019

Short and nice course(You can complete it in 10 days only)!

very nice and easy approach was used for teaching the concepts.

by Raul R

Mar 18, 2019

Awesome course!! I am learning a lot in the course. React is fantastic!

by Kevin L

Jul 14, 2019

great content. Looking forward to the next course

by Meryl M

Jun 20, 2019

I really like this professor! He has a pleasant voice, explains everything very clearly and gives you a lot of context for understanding why he's doing what he's doing. I learned a LOT in this course and feel comfortable using React&Redux in my own projects. As an experienced full-stack developer, I didn't need to use the forums for help much at all, and I was able to watch most of the videos at 2x speed. That said, there was a ton of useful content in this course, and I often refer back to the materials while building my own projects.

I have one problem with how Redux is taught, although it's not huge. In the exercises, we wrote the whole project using just React first. Then, to teach the Redux part, he had us replace React code with a whole ton of Redux code without showing us what it was doing and ended by saying something like, "As you can see, everything works exactly the same way it did before." In my opinion this didn't make it very clear how Redux was working. It would've been clearer if the data retrieved via Redux would have been a little different - like maybe it could have had some extra dishes/leaders/promos in there that weren't in the React-only dishes objects. That said, I still left this course understanding Redux and Thunk much more clearly.

Also, his mic is right next to the keyboard, so you have to hear this loud clunking for hours and hours and hours if you're listening to this course on headphones.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to experienced web developers who are trying to learn new skills.

by Yuichiro M

Oct 22, 2019

You can learn a basic developing method using by React.

As the instructor said, you need to pay an enough time to understand Redux.

I needed some additional survey to get whole knowledge about Redux.

by Basanta P

Feb 16, 2019

Got lost often. It would have been better if I knew the overall picture and what I was working on currently, not just in terms of confusion, which really resulted in confusion.

by SHAILENDRA S

Sep 29, 2018

Good

by DIPUNJ G

Mar 02, 2019

The course 1 was really good. It's strange though, it's the first time I didn't like a coursera course. But I dont't blame the instructor/course creators since I believe that React is tough and complex to understand for a beginner like me. You really need a thorough JS background to really understand what's going on. I have been resetting my deadlines for more than 3 months now, and I don't think that this course is meant for me, at least for my given understanding of JS and web technologies.

I would strongly suggest that you first familiarize yourself with react and then try to pursue this course.

by Pitch A

Nov 02, 2018

The course was challenging but it was all worth it. The course goes through a lot of information to get you started with the React + Redux. After going through the course, I became comfortable writing and understanding how to code in Redux and even adding animations to React code. I can use the code I learned as a template to build React+Redux apps.

My only compaint is that I struggled with the timing as in 1 week you cover 2 to 4 topics / sub modules. I had to extend the deadline twice due to work commitments.I think this course should be adjusted to 6 weeks rather than 4 weeks to provide better pacing for the students.

All in all it was all worth the time and effort!

by Brendan C

Dec 31, 2018

Really excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed this class. My skill level with React and related frameworks is vastly improved, but also my skill level with ES6 has been increase through the various exercises.

Professor Muppala is great at explaining complicated technology in a way that make it easy to understand and remember. And the web site you build over the course of the various exercises is instructive and useful. It provides a great clear template to build your own React-based website.

I thoroughly enjoyed this class.

by Stefan Z

Nov 06, 2018

I needed this course at a point in time where I needed to learn the basics of React really fast. This course helped me learn a lot of the basic concepts like components, routing, redux, using props, action creators, middleware, promises, fetching data from a server and others. It also features a good amount of simple UI design techniques using Bootstrap's grid system and eyecandy like react animations. I recommend this course to those who are new to React and want to get exposed to it in a quick pace.

by Olena V

Oct 25, 2018

Very good and thorough course on React that briefly discusses many other concepts used in building the React applications such as Flux, Redux, node, npm, git, Bitbucket, Single Page Applications, Json Server and others. This course does not have any quizzes, only peer review assignments.

by Dave G

Aug 06, 2018

This course provides a solid foundation for learning how to develop web applications with React. Lectures are very clear and easy to follow. I recommend to any developer looking to learn React at the beginner level. Good introduction to ES6 as well if you're still using the old syntax.

by Oliver G

Nov 03, 2018

Have taken so many Udemy courses on React but this beat them easily. So well presented and taught, my interest in learning React grew so much that I ended up enrolling to the whole specialization course in case i miss anything! Hats off to Professor, one of the best out here !