Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Fundamentals of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
11,402件の評価
2,914件のレビュー

コースについて

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

人気のレビュー

FS

Jul 14, 2020

Excellent course to learn and refresh about fundamentals of design....It applies to all spheres of MULTIMEDIA..Highly recommended... As a suggestion course and notes should be available in PDF format.

CS

May 10, 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

フィルター:

Fundamentals of Graphic Design: 251 - 275 / 2,870 レビュー

by Julie T

Jun 17, 2020

This course provided a good understanding of the basics of graphic design elements. The videos were interesting and made the concepts easy to understand. The assignments helped to reinforce the ideas presented and gave practical application for techniques.

by Jessica R

Apr 06, 2020

I started this course knowing absolutely nothing about graphic design. I now feel a lot more knowlegable of how graphic design works and how I can successly use it in a career. I highly recommend to all those that are interested in pursuing graphic design.

by Nikita K

Feb 06, 2016

It's great that the course has a lot of practical assignments! Also it is very important to get feedback on your work from other people that have interest in this field. It's good to learn what works and what doesn't and why. Very useful for me! Thank you!

by Jonathan C

Sep 18, 2020

The professor's explanations were clear and easy to follow.

His usage of visuals was perfect....well placed and always relevant, and frequently entertaining.

I highly recommend this class to anyone and look forward to taking other classes by this professor.

by Lin Z

Aug 30, 2017

A rigorous introduction course, with many optional peer-graded assignments for further practice. I would highly recommend doing all of the optional exercises because they really help you understand and think further about the concepts taught in the video.

by Rafaela M

Jun 01, 2017

I really loved this couse! It fit perfectly with what I wanted, both in terms of practicality, the way it is taught, the wealth of information and the possibilities of work to train the different skills, make this course very special, it was very worth it

by Kenzie B

Jul 31, 2016

Loving this course. Not only is it helping me learn the fundamentals of graphic design in a fun and inventive way, but is also providing a great community. Would highly recommend this for anyone looking to improve or start there graphic design skills. :)

by IMSUJUNGLA

Jun 16, 2020

I had no problem with the required assignments nor the teaching style. A well-rounded course

the only minor problem i faced was handling the subscription plans so students must not forget to update their plans & fees! (As how i forgot)

Thank you Coursera!

by Victoria E

Oct 05, 2018

Very informative and creative (at least if you do all the assignments). Really made my creative juices flowing.

The only downside, is you only get peer-reviews, so you don't get to check with a professional if your work is good, bad, getting better, etc.

by Карандашева К В

Nov 16, 2016

This course is very useful, especially for the beginners. It creates the fundament for your future study. The practical part is very interesting and gave students the opportunity to try different aspects of graphic design. Thank you Coursera and CalArts

by Monica M d V

Dec 17, 2015

This is a wonderful wonderful course... The tasks are perfectly designed to make you learn and understand... Every single video lesson is fun and engaging! I definitely recommend it to any one who is no familiar with GD and is interested in learning it!

by Ricardo M E P

Oct 12, 2017

It was undoubtedly an enriching experience. It allowed to gain basic competences in the design area and simultaneously, to unleash the creativity and the critical sense. As soon as possible I will do the specialization modules. I strongly recommend it.

by Disha S

Sep 10, 2020

This course has been really helpful. It is divided and taught so systematically. I am so happy and satisfied. I would like to thank Mr. Michael Worthington, you have been a great mentor. And of course The Cal Arts Institute for this amazing course.

by Md. R H

Jun 16, 2020

At the very first moment of course, I thought it will be boring. But I was wrong. The videos and assignment was completely enjoyable and fun. I like the way of the course going forward from week to week. I will surely do other courses from CAL ARTS.

by Sara H A

Jun 23, 2017

I find this course really helpful!! I didn't know anything about graphic design. I rolled into this course for no exact reason but I absolutely loved it! It is so good! I 100% recommend people trying this course whether you are a beginner or a pro!

by Laoise D

Jun 11, 2020

Loved this course, great introduction to graphic design. The instructor is brilliant, all videos are really informative and the assignments are a great learning experience. Really excited to continue on and finish the graphic design specialization!

by Laura W

Jun 08, 2020

A great course! I learned more about the basic design principles during this course than I did during my first year of my degree. Very easy to follow with creative assignments to practice what you learn and get involved with a community. Thank you!

by EminOj

Jan 02, 2019

However I do have my master in Graphic Design I would rather to take those courses to upgrade my knowledge on my career and I think it has been had many beneficial effects to me. Most likely it will benefit me while I am teaching my students later.

by Crystal L

Feb 17, 2019

It is a great way to enter the world of graphic design. The pace of the course is easy to follow, and the exercises made me understood the theories presented and had fun at the same time. I recommend it to anyone who is interested by this subject.

by Su Y T

Jul 04, 2020

The course structure very well and easy to understand. Also help the learner to apply artistic features into real world appliances that design could be create in a more fun way than before. The peer review assignment also give us motivation too.

by Valentina T

Feb 19, 2017

The course introduces a structured way for beginners to make images. It provides a disciplined schedule to produce images. I recommend the course to people who have dabbled in the subject and are interested in learning a more systematic approach.

by Maria C

Apr 16, 2020

This course was extremely helpful when it came to sharpening my Graphic Design skills. I really appreciated the breakdown of what Graphic Design really is. I will definitely be continuing to the next course. CalARTS curriculum is truly helpful!

by Jana K

Nov 28, 2016

It was a great course. I have learned a lot. I don't consider myself specially talented in art or aesthetic feeling, but I think I improved after passing this course. And I have got a different view on many things connected with graphic design.

by Drew O

Apr 04, 2016

I'm taking this as a refresher. I find the videos to be very helpful and the peer reviews super rewarding in terms of both contributing and receiving. I've managed to relearn a few things as well as pick up some new approaches to my daily work.

by Mohamed A

Jul 28, 2020

I am very grateful to this site and to this institution, which gave me time and effort to be one of its students. I thank Mr. Michael Worthington for the time and knowledge he gave to students to be specialized graphic designers. Thank you all