Chevron Left
Genomic Data Science with Galaxy に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Genomic Data Science with Galaxy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

3.7
476件の評価
133件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

人気のレビュー

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

フィルター:

Genomic Data Science with Galaxy: 1 - 25 / 137 レビュー

by Lauren B

Feb 19, 2019

The programs on used in the lecture videos have all been deprecated and there was not enough information provided in the lectures to be able to tackle the final project.

by Ummiye V O

Nov 24, 2018

Seems like Galaxy is far updated after the preparation of the course material. A refreshment on them might be useful. It is not essential but this discrepancy increased the time I had to spend on the course.

by Marc-Michel W

Mar 11, 2019

There is far less information provided in the course content to adequately prepare students to carry out the project at the end of week four. The lectures are very low level and introductory but the course project is in-depth and requires a lot of prior knowledge.

by Bryan G

Jul 05, 2018

The course itself is very well taught, although the information is rudimentary relative to the final project. The main reason I am giving the course 2 stars is because the lectures do not prepare the learner for the final project (although it does provide most of the basics for training yourself), and the peer review of the final project lacks direction. For example we are expected to grade our peers based on whether their answers are correct, without having any guidance of what the correct answer actually is.

by Arkan A

Dec 20, 2018

The course content covers the very basics and is unfortunately not technical enough for you to actually apply to real data analysis. In addition the class project at the end is much more demanding than what was covered by the materials. Finally the grading of the class project is peer-based which is fine but no answers or guidance are provided which leads to "blind leading the blind" scenario. In my case my project was correctly done but i received a failing grade because my "peer" marked the assignment incorrectly. I merely resubmitted the exact same result and got lucky with a competent "peer" who gave me the pass i deserved the first time around.

Overall, needs more detail and better implementation.

by Katarzyna M

Aug 31, 2018

The course was ok until the final project. The videos should cover more the topic that are needed to solve the project or more reading should be provided.

by Robert D

Jun 18, 2019

Class is incredibly out of date. Good general information, but needs to be updated to reflect current version of Galaxy.

by Steve S

Feb 14, 2019

Great course! Could divide the learning experience into two parts. Genomics and IT. A lot was demanded from the genomics side that personally, I supplemented with uTube presentations. From the IT side I soon learned that once the sequencing had been performed, it was a big data problem of fuzzy pattern matching for which you had a lot of software primitives (Galaxy) tied together by workflows. Again, uTube helped to solidify this concept. The class approach while teaching a lot, mostly relied on independent research in order to be successful in a directed study endeavor.

by Robert C M

Jul 22, 2019

The final project could have included more documentation...I did not feel prepared for the final project.

by Omnia G

Jul 18, 2019

The course need to be updated and the contents is very poor and does not prepare student to carry out analysis on his own. The course always suggest reading the documentation however the course does not help to be able to understand documentation.

by Dongyuan W

Jul 15, 2019

The materials did not make sense for people who without basic knowledge about biology, just like me. The videos just told you "How to do it" but not "Why to do it". I really feel soooooo difficult to finish the final project.

by Maria J

Jul 12, 2019

In peer-review assignment the details about the project and how to use the tools are not taught which seems to be tough for students to complete the project . If they correct this issue then it will be very useful

by Ke Z

Jul 05, 2019

I learned a lot through the course, but the final project really makes this course pathetic. The peer-review system is a mess. I do have some molecular biology background but I still feel that understanding the requirements for the project is challenging, I can imagine how confusing it could be for students without biology background.

by José A C E

Jun 26, 2019

I am highly dissatisfied with the final project. It requires an understanding of galaxy that is not provided in the course. The quantity of tools and the general usage, details and tricks for each one makes the final project far more challenging given the knowledge acuired in the course. At least there should be a final feedback by the course about the answer submitted for the final project (I never knew what could be consider a "correct" number of variants).

by Tom

Jun 20, 2019

Outstanding class, maybe slightly out of date unless it's been refreshed.

by Sreenithya R

Jun 20, 2019

This was a great course! For beginners, this will feel very easy in the beginning but there is a lot more to know and understand. One suggestion from me will be to read the manual for every tool you would use in Galaxy. Also, the course lectures need to be updated. Overall, it was a good experience learning Galaxy.

by Rafael V R

Jun 17, 2019

O curso é excelente! O único ponto que acredito que podem melhorar é o projeto final, pois eu não soube como prosseguir no começo. Fiquei um pouco perdido. Mas fora esse detalhe, é um ótimo curso.

by Eric Y L

Apr 03, 2019

The course is all good, except that for the project part, I guess there should be more flexibility in grading part. Say, different people may use different reference genome (hg19, hg38), or apply different approach (say filtering with mapQuality). This should be counted.

by ruchira s

Mar 31, 2019

The course content was great but the project was hard considering how the material was not covered in so much detail. Also, there was no help provided in regards to my query for answer key. Even after trying second time I wasn't sure if my answers were right , which they were but I had to wait a very long time in anticipation of results.

by David B

Mar 19, 2019

The course videos are lean and has enjoyable hands on assignment to accomplish. In particular the last assignment is very exciting for its formula of peer (student to student) reviewed valuation systems

by Nicholas H

Mar 08, 2019

goodjob

by Carlos H L d M

Mar 01, 2019

Very good

by Kevin K

Feb 26, 2019

Course materials were good, final project was very difficult without prior experience. Lots of digging through forums to find details.

by Michael N

Jan 26, 2019

Great course.

by Giovani B F

Dec 29, 2018

I expected more instructional examples of tools and galaxy using in command line (for Linux/Mac), although the few examples of applicability were useful and the final project (forced hands-on) was the most helpful task that brought out real knowledge and experience in galaxy.