Chevron Left
Genomic Data Science with Galaxy に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Genomic Data Science with Galaxy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

3.7
722件の評価
210件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

人気のレビュー

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

フィルター:

Genomic Data Science with Galaxy: 176 - 200 / 204 レビュー

by Matthew K

Feb 17, 2016

Quite confused during the majority of this course, especially after how clear the first course was. Was able to follow instructions but did not fully understand why I was doing anything. Not enough foundation given. The final project came out of no where. We did not learn nearly enough in the course to be able to tackle that. The majority of steps that needed to be taken were not taught in class or if they were, they were glossed over. I was floored by how the class went form simple to extremely complicated with no transition phase.

by Hans W

Sep 08, 2019

The lecturer only shortly explains what it is we are trying to analyze. He quickly skips over the biology and tells where to click in Galaxy. Additionally I can understand that frequently you would like to stick to the default values. Every now and then the lecturer changes some parameters without explaining well enough how and why to do so.

The assignment at the end is tough. It is hard to accomplish with only the course material as background. One needs to look for other Galaxy tutorials to successfully complete the assignment.

by Md K S

Jun 06, 2016

This course did not make any effort until I had to dig deep into biology by myself. The course content is insufficient. I think if a sample input was used and every field of the input were explained and also the outputs were explained then it would make much more sense. Poorly designed and demonstrated. Thankfully I started the last assignment very quickly, it took me 10 days to understand how to proceed with the assignment. The TA is excellent, without his help I wouldn't pass this course.

by J'aime M

Jan 13, 2017

The material/information required for the capstone was not covered in the lectures and required considerable additional time and effort to find via online forums and the galaxy pages themselves. A manual of code examples and types of jobs would have been great. Further a better use of time would be to start doing the capstone on day 1 and do all of the lectures and quizzes later as the quizzes were very easy and anecdotal, but the capstone required more time then scheduled in the course.

by Rhian C

Jan 13, 2017

Save your money and just work through the free Galaxy 101 tutorials on the Galaxy site! I found that the lecturers sometimes used random terminology without ever explaining it (for example, "tags" is another word for sequencing reads, but this is only ever used in RNA-seq methodology, and then only rarely). Also, the final peer reviewed project isn't explained very well and uses tools and methods that aren't even within the scope of the module. Mostly just a waste of time.

by Tyler H

Jun 23, 2020

This course is far too out of date and disjointed from the final project to be of any merit. While the lectures hosted by James Taylor are good, they are far too out of date, it would be a shame to lose them however they do not serve the purpose of this course. The final project reflects very little of what was learned in the course and frustrates many students. This course is in serious need of an update and more engagement from JHU/Coursera.

by Timothy S

Feb 22, 2016

This course was very disappointing and much of the content in the tests and course did not show up in the course project. I felt like the course project was far more advanced than all the other detail. In addition, there was minimal to NO detail on instruction. VERY poor development here and I would not recommend it to anyone. All you need to do is look at all the threads of complaints. I am looking forward to the next Python course and h

by Olga L

Mar 31, 2020

I have DS abd CS background and this course was like an ice bucket after "Intro to Genomic Technologies" course. Many genomics unknown terms were just casually mentioned. Videos where mostly about clicking buttons, without not much of WHY.

And the course project is just a pure madness. Has anyone verified that this course make sense end-to-end?

And did I mentioned that pretty much all mentioned tools are deprecated as of March 2020?....

by Deleted A

Jun 02, 2020

Very poorly structured course. Lectures did not prepare student well for the sheer difficulty of the final project.

Here are the cons with the course: (1) the course instructions for the final project were very vague, (2) a lot of the software used in the lectures are either old/deprecated, and (3) expertise with the command line and Galaxy compute resources is automatically assumed.

by Melissa L

Feb 12, 2020

This specialization is horribly out of date and the material taught is grossly insufficient to actually complete the course project, past that good luck getting it graded as no one seems to know what the "correct" answers actually are. The community in the discussion forum has been posting issues with executing the tutorials and assignments for over 3 years with no assistance.

by Ammar A

May 08, 2016

Good introduction to the galaxy tool. However, the final project was too difficult for what was given in the lectures. I spent 97% of the time I spent on the course doing only the final project. It was too difficult and unfair. I think a way to improve the final project might be to make easier a little bit and give exclusive lectures to help students to do the final project.

by Mohammed S K

Mar 27, 2017

Very poor presentation and content. Difficult to navigate and all the links used including that for Galaxy are outdated. There was no effort made to provide a method to get through the course given all the changes since the videos were recorded. This course is the reason I have decided not to pursue the specialization it falls under.

by Michael G

Mar 30, 2020

The course itself is informative and the quizzes accurately represent the presented material; however, the final project exceeds the instructive material by such a wide gap that it was impossible for me to complete. Furthermore, I did spend significant time researching the topics further but still could not complete.

by Dmitriy S

Aug 01, 2016

Course assignment requires knowledge that is not discussed in the course. Various inconsistencies throughout the course. Week 4's material is not really helpful and I had a feeling that the instructior just wanted to "wrap up" the course and didn't really care if the material is appropriate. Poorly written quizzes.

by Omar D

May 27, 2016

This course's content is useful but honestly the final project is ridiculous because it is peer reviewed and the project is not very straightforward. Everyone gets different answers and without an answer key, no one knows what is right and wrong making it is almost impossible to pass. This needs to change.

by Anas A

Jul 12, 2016

First, the instructor assumes that the students know so much background knowledge when the students are expecting to learn these stuff in the course. I also feel that this course teaches students to memorize steps needed to accomplish certain operations in Galaxy without explaining why it occurs.

by Pedro M

Feb 03, 2020

I'd like to first thank the makers of this course for their efforts! However, to be honest, this is possibly the least enjoyable course I took from JHU on Coursera (and I took several already). It's all about click here and there, and the final project is overwhelming!

by Matthew Z

Nov 29, 2019

This course is severely out of date. The lectures are several years old and advocate the use of tools that are no longer state of the art. The lectures also do not cover fully the material needed to do the final course project. Overall this class is not recommended.

by Gonzalo C S

Apr 04, 2017

Very bad explanations. You don't understand anything about what you're doing, just pressing buttons. THis should maybe go after the command line course, so that at least you would have any idea of what you're doing.

by Matteo B

Aug 11, 2019

Dumbest course I ever seen......confused and very low level. The final exam is peer reviewed by two classmates and I didn't pass because one classmate is unable to open the vcf file

by Makragić A

Oct 26, 2016

I suggest to do this course ONLY if you're doing whole specialization.

Course is simply bad, teacher doesn't give to much information and project is very hard to finish.

by David P

Aug 07, 2016

This class presents very elementary information in the video lectures, then it requires knowledge far beyond what is taught in the course to finish the final project.

by Ali R K

Feb 21, 2016

It gives a quick background on Galaxy and its softwares. Content is appropriate but does not prepare you for even the final assignment or real genomic problems.

by Shashank Y

Jan 10, 2020

The worst online course I ever did. Totally outdated material and no help regarding the project. struggled for the whole day and still not able to complete it

by Kara V B

May 18, 2020

This course is out of date, and what you learn vs what you are expected to complete in the project are not equivalent. I am disappointed with this course.