Chevron Left
Genomic Data Science with Galaxy に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Genomic Data Science with Galaxy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

3.7
757件の評価
225件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

人気のレビュー

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

フィルター:

Genomic Data Science with Galaxy: 76 - 100 / 219 レビュー

by Jaeyoung C

Apr 12, 2017

I think the final project required much more domain knowledge than what the course actually taught.

Peer review system can be sometimes very confusing. Some of the confusions can be clarified by reading bunch of past discussions, but it'd be much better if there is a single place (not discussion forum) where students can find all the necessary information regarding the final project and how to grade. I think this info must be part of syllabus.

by Faisal A

May 29, 2017

Good course, I learned a lot... I have to wait about a week to being the peer-reviewed project, which was disappointing because I was ready to finish the course! Prof. Taylor instructs well, but if you're not following along, don't expect to understand what's going on...

Most of the bad reviews are from the project, which I don't have access to. I really hope it's not as bad as people suggest...

by Jennifer D

Jun 09, 2020

The Galaxy tools and the community surrounding it are great!

The course project is challenging and took me a lot longer than the suggested 2 hours; grading peer assignments takes about that amount of time since answers are often slightly different and you have to run workflows to accurately assess.

The course could definitely use an update since many of the tools discussed have fallen out of use.

by Margaux S

May 09, 2018

Great introduction to a new piece of software I had not yet come across. The lectures were clear and concise, however I felt the coursework was a big step in difficulty and was much harder than the level of the lectures. I also felt I was not equipped with the right knowledge to mark my peers confidently. I would recommend more guidance in the coursework and especially on how to mark it.

by Martin W

Aug 27, 2018

This course introduces the powerful Genomic software Galaxy, which accesses supercomputers to solve bioinformatics problems. The lectures are very interesting and concise. The final project is challenging since the lectures do not cover the tools required for the project. Fortunately, discussion forum posts by students and Mentors provide guidance about the Galaxy software.

by Steffen B

Apr 12, 2020

I felt that the lectures were great, but I struggled with finding the information needed to complete the final assignment, not coming from the field of genomics. I did not know and had to find out for myself what the different abbreviations meant and how to read a VCF file. A bit more guidance would have been helpful.

by Suki S

Mar 21, 2016

This was a bit challenging, not in content, but more in organization. I felt like I was getting freshman-level lectures and than was given a graduate-level assignment. The directions and expectations could have been clearer but the TA was terrific in trying to help us thru our difficulties.

by Omar R

Jul 28, 2019

Galaxy was explained very well in the course with examples and tutorials. The major challenge is to get a response from the professor on technical questions. Also, the final exam requires you to do a lot of search, find and define. A very good course for Galaxy; however be ready

by Giovani B F

Dec 29, 2018

I expected more instructional examples of tools and galaxy using in command line (for Linux/Mac), although the few examples of applicability were useful and the final project (forced hands-on) was the most helpful task that brought out real knowledge and experience in galaxy.

by Yang L

Apr 03, 2019

The course is all good, except that for the project part, I guess there should be more flexibility in grading part. Say, different people may use different reference genome (hg19, hg38), or apply different approach (say filtering with mapQuality). This should be counted.

by Brandon W

Jul 16, 2018

This is a very good beginner course. The only complaint I had on this course would be to have the instructors include 'additional' material that the students could access if they so desired. Some type of 'additional reading' list would be awesome!

by Raphael L C

Mar 14, 2016

I feel dual emotions about how this course is organized. Although the Course Project was hard to perform without much background in genomics, it was the part where I learned the most - thanks to the staff and the other students in the forums.

by Asia S

Apr 14, 2020

The course was certainly illuminating on a valuable tool, however changes to Galaxy and the tools used in Galaxy since the course was made and the requirements for the final project caused completing the course to be a bit complicated.

by Maria J

Jul 12, 2019

In peer-review assignment the details about the project and how to use the tools are not taught which seems to be tough for students to complete the project . If they correct this issue then it will be very useful

by David B

Mar 19, 2019

The course videos are lean and has enjoyable hands on assignment to accomplish. In particular the last assignment is very exciting for its formula of peer (student to student) reviewed valuation systems

by Rafael V R

Jun 17, 2019

O curso é excelente! O único ponto que acredito que podem melhorar é o projeto final, pois eu não soube como prosseguir no começo. Fiquei um pouco perdido. Mas fora esse detalhe, é um ótimo curso.

by D T

Aug 26, 2017

Highly instructive course on using Galaxy. Gives a very good flavour of the benefits, actual workflows and even a bit of administration in terms of installing your own version or a cloud version.

by Lara S

Jun 10, 2016

Very nice course. However, the final project is not very close to the course content. Still, it is very well doable thanks to the very helpful tutor / mentor.

by Carlos M G V

Apr 09, 2017

I like the course, very useful tutorial to start working with Galaxy, as a programmer it gives me a lot of knowledge to help the bio molecular scientists

by Sabrina S

Nov 20, 2016

Overall very helpful. The peer review instructions for grading may need to be expanded; found helpful notes in the forum, unfortunately after submitted.

by Daniele T

Apr 21, 2020

Good learning for someone with no experience.

Lectures are from late 2014/ early 2015 but still deliver the main idea and tools for the topic.

by Monika C

Oct 25, 2019

Please, update the course in terms of Galaxy tools used. Apart from that, it was a very useful course for me and very professionally led.

by Olga D

Nov 14, 2018

Course is very good! Fun to learn about Galaxy. The project assignment is not too well aligned with the materials being thought...

by William M G R

Jul 17, 2020

The final project is very hard and time-demanding, but I am very satisfied with what I have learned through this course.

by Ashwini J

Jul 20, 2016

Good intro course for people trying to understand data science role in Genome related data and other informations.