Chevron Left
Genomic Data Science with Galaxy に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Genomic Data Science with Galaxy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

3.7
723件の評価
210件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

人気のレビュー

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

フィルター:

Genomic Data Science with Galaxy: 51 - 75 / 204 レビュー

by Chunyu Z

Feb 10, 2016

very helpful class. instructor is very clear.

by Zhao Y

Apr 26, 2018

Very useful, but not for beginners !

by Dana W

Jun 22, 2020

Practical and of great value!

by sandeep s

Dec 05, 2016

Excellent explanation. Thanks

by Carolina M C

Jan 30, 2018

Very fun and educational

by Michael N

Jan 26, 2019

Great course.

by Lisa K

Nov 06, 2016

great course!

by Xing Y

Oct 16, 2018

Very useful!

by Olushola ( A

Sep 08, 2017

Good course!

by Azin K

May 10, 2020

Thank you

by Carlos H L d M

Mar 01, 2019

Very good

by Nicholas H

Mar 08, 2019

goodjob

by Gabriel L

Nov 22, 2019

The course is very well taught, the lectures are clear and easy to follow, the quizzes are properly designed and you can solve them with the material available. The drawback is that the Galaxy platform has been updated to much in relation with the course, they need to perform an updated version of the video lessons to keep it updated. It will take you more time than advertised because you will have to adapt to the changes in the new version, if not you could you install locally on your computer the older galaxy version used in this course. Everything except the peer-graded assignment is very clear, for this last assignment you will require to gather knowledge from somewhere else, do not frustrate as there is a forum and available help in google. But it is much difficult than the quizzes, and even though my peers gave me feedback I still do not know if my submission was right or wrong. Overall I enjoyed this tutorial and I would recommend it to my mates.

by Jacqueline W

May 09, 2016

Really interesting course! The introduction to Galaxy and all of the analysis tools is awesome. There is a pretty big cliff between the course content and the final project; it would be helpful if there were more detailed information along the way about what each of the analysis steps means (i.e., interpretation of the information, versus just knowing what file type to select at which analysis step). Based on the discussion board, many students had similar thoughts. Grading the final projects for others is a bit uncomfortable, given that no answers are provided for the counts, and there are multiple different workflows that could be considered correct.

by Frederick S

Oct 26, 2016

A lot of complaints about the final project for this course. To be fair, the course content wasn't directly relevant to the final project. However, there were parts of the course that communicated saved workflows, how to import, etc. In order to identify how to do what was asked I found an example workflow that could be imported. I also found an example history that allowed me to read through the approach and then complete myself. I was honest in turning in the assignment that it was based on an imported workflow. There is a big part of community and reproducible research to the Galaxy tools and I had no issue completing the project.

by Yehia A

Apr 08, 2020

The course is quite useful, and was well-introduced.

However for the final project, it is solely peer-reviewed, and most of us are still amateurs, so sometimes the judgement is not appropriate. plus there are lots of tools that can be used for a certain step, and each tool yields a totally different outcome.

I suggest that some lectures should be added to give more support to students during the project, in addition to providing guidance for the tools that should be used in the project. like for example, use tools w,x,y,z, to do this and that and so on.

by Kasper T K

Nov 20, 2017

The course is quite easy to take, which is reflected in its ability to inform the needed tools and approaches for doing some very basic genome data exploratory analysis.

The Final assignment was however outside the scope of the learning from this course, as principles and anaylsis which are NOT covered by this course (but in a latter Genomic Data Science specialization - Command Line tools) , are required to complete the final assignment. Instruction were too vague, which is the course for subtracting one star.

by AT V

Dec 02, 2017

This is an exceptional course. It is very interesting to learn the importance of Galaxy tools together with some practical experience in this course. The final project is quite apprehesive at first glance, nevertheless its engaging when you pry for furthermore to create the ultimately functioning workflow of demanded results. My suggestion would be to add on few more materials before the final project submission. I thank Coursera and Dr.James Taylor for this wonderful course. Cheers.

by Will S

Oct 26, 2017

Overall, a very informative course. The course project can be improved. For instance, if each week had a small component that tests the student's understanding of the tools using some data and a quiz so that the student can make sure he or she can actually apply Galaxy and get correct results. The course project can build on all the tools used. Instead of a peer graded assignment, there could be a quiz for the project so that there is no confusion as to what the correct results are.

by Jaeyoung C

Apr 12, 2017

I think the final project required much more domain knowledge than what the course actually taught.

Peer review system can be sometimes very confusing. Some of the confusions can be clarified by reading bunch of past discussions, but it'd be much better if there is a single place (not discussion forum) where students can find all the necessary information regarding the final project and how to grade. I think this info must be part of syllabus.

by Faisal A

May 29, 2017

Good course, I learned a lot... I have to wait about a week to being the peer-reviewed project, which was disappointing because I was ready to finish the course! Prof. Taylor instructs well, but if you're not following along, don't expect to understand what's going on...

Most of the bad reviews are from the project, which I don't have access to. I really hope it's not as bad as people suggest...

by Jennifer D

Jun 09, 2020

The Galaxy tools and the community surrounding it are great!

The course project is challenging and took me a lot longer than the suggested 2 hours; grading peer assignments takes about that amount of time since answers are often slightly different and you have to run workflows to accurately assess.

The course could definitely use an update since many of the tools discussed have fallen out of use.

by Margaux S

May 09, 2018

Great introduction to a new piece of software I had not yet come across. The lectures were clear and concise, however I felt the coursework was a big step in difficulty and was much harder than the level of the lectures. I also felt I was not equipped with the right knowledge to mark my peers confidently. I would recommend more guidance in the coursework and especially on how to mark it.

by Martin W

Aug 27, 2018

This course introduces the powerful Genomic software Galaxy, which accesses supercomputers to solve bioinformatics problems. The lectures are very interesting and concise. The final project is challenging since the lectures do not cover the tools required for the project. Fortunately, discussion forum posts by students and Mentors provide guidance about the Galaxy software.

by Steffen B

Apr 12, 2020

I felt that the lectures were great, but I struggled with finding the information needed to complete the final assignment, not coming from the field of genomics. I did not know and had to find out for myself what the different abbreviations meant and how to read a VCF file. A bit more guidance would have been helpful.