Chevron Left
Genomic Data Science with Galaxy に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Genomic Data Science with Galaxy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

3.7
604件の評価
165件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

人気のレビュー

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

フィルター:

Genomic Data Science with Galaxy: 126 - 150 / 159 レビュー

by Omnia G

Jul 18, 2019

The course need to be updated and the contents is very poor and does not prepare student to carry out analysis on his own. The course always suggest reading the documentation however the course does not help to be able to understand documentation.

by Jennifer D

Nov 21, 2016

The course material did not cover anything that we needed to complete the final exam. Although I learned a lot working on the final exam, I felt overly stressed & I had to self teach myself in order to get through it.

by annet k

Jan 08, 2018

This is a very good course but I took a lot of time on the final project because it was very difficult since much of the work was not covered in class.

by Swati

Sep 27, 2018

Not very well explained concepts in the course. The project at the end is very challenging based of on what has been taught in lectures.

by Lynette P

Mar 10, 2016

Nice overview of Galaxy, but does not really provide enough information for a beginner to start using it without additional resources.

by Jee M L

Dec 09, 2019

Overall, I think this was a poorly designed course. What was presented in the videos were barely enough to complete the assignment.

by Cesar B

Oct 30, 2018

The material is not sufficient to have a good learning experience with the Final Exam

by victor a

Dec 28, 2019

Outdated information, not enough information to complete the assignments.

by Jorge C

Apr 08, 2016

poor ! very superficial .

by Julia O

Apr 12, 2016

The cloud computing service with amazon described in the course is not free anymore. I was charged money for using it. The course also took much more time to complete than I wanted to spend. I believe a better design of the project could lead to a more efficient, less frustrating learning experience. Details below.

The usegalaxy server was extremely slow. As shown in the course, I installed an instance of galaxy in the AWS/Amazon Cloud. I was under the impression that this was a free service for the first year. Amazon has changed its interfaces and I could not do the installation as recommended. But I managed to run a few analyses with some workarounds. I did not explicitely terminated the galaxy instance for ~ 6 days. Charges of $280 accumulated.

The course project in week 4 was far beyond what was covered in the lectures. It took me a whole week, spending multiple hours every day. Many dead-end roads coupled with extremely long run times on the galaxy servers resulted in very inefficient learning and many frustrations. Help via the discussion forum was critical to design an analysis pipeline - so thank you Dejan and all contributors for the support.

This is not a course I could easily do part-time: I don’t have time to read the fine print on what is available for free on Amazon, nor do I have time to go through all of the tools on galaxy to find out what would be the best for my analysis.

On the positive side: I think Galaxy is a great tool.

by Deleted A

Apr 25, 2017

Awful course. The lectures IN NO WAY prepare you for the final assignment which is supposed to take two hours. The "course" consists of really boring videos of the instructor using Galaxy and in no way teaches you anything about using Galaxy or how it works. The lectures and quizzes are a joke. You can pass the quizzes just by watching the videos. I got to the final assignment and had no clue what to do if you. I know nothing about bioinformatics, or NGS (which is why I took and paid for this stupid course) so I spent WEEKS on the final assignment and I STILL could not finish or pass the course. Whoever allows this course to still exist and waste people's time and take their money should be ASHAMED of themselves. Read the discussion forums and you'll see what I'm talking abut. DO NOT TAKE THIS COURSE.

by Robert K

Aug 31, 2016

This course is supposed to be part of specialization. Unfortunately this is a second course, and the first part doesn't provide necessary information on what we actually do with Galaxy. It felt like following instructions to push certain buttons.

I would only recommend it to knowledgeable people with certain background, that should be listed as a REQUIRED knowledge. I hardly learned anything, except for that there is something called Galaxy, we do some analysis by pushing buttons, using preconfigured tools. I don't have expertise to analyse data on my own... unfortunately.

As I applied for a financial help here, I won't complain much :).

by Matthew K

Feb 17, 2016

Quite confused during the majority of this course, especially after how clear the first course was. Was able to follow instructions but did not fully understand why I was doing anything. Not enough foundation given. The final project came out of no where. We did not learn nearly enough in the course to be able to tackle that. The majority of steps that needed to be taken were not taught in class or if they were, they were glossed over. I was floored by how the class went form simple to extremely complicated with no transition phase.

by Hans W

Sep 08, 2019

The lecturer only shortly explains what it is we are trying to analyze. He quickly skips over the biology and tells where to click in Galaxy. Additionally I can understand that frequently you would like to stick to the default values. Every now and then the lecturer changes some parameters without explaining well enough how and why to do so.

The assignment at the end is tough. It is hard to accomplish with only the course material as background. One needs to look for other Galaxy tutorials to successfully complete the assignment.

by Md K S

Jun 06, 2016

This course did not make any effort until I had to dig deep into biology by myself. The course content is insufficient. I think if a sample input was used and every field of the input were explained and also the outputs were explained then it would make much more sense. Poorly designed and demonstrated. Thankfully I started the last assignment very quickly, it took me 10 days to understand how to proceed with the assignment. The TA is excellent, without his help I wouldn't pass this course.

by J'aime M

Jan 13, 2017

The material/information required for the capstone was not covered in the lectures and required considerable additional time and effort to find via online forums and the galaxy pages themselves. A manual of code examples and types of jobs would have been great. Further a better use of time would be to start doing the capstone on day 1 and do all of the lectures and quizzes later as the quizzes were very easy and anecdotal, but the capstone required more time then scheduled in the course.

by Rhian C

Jan 13, 2017

Save your money and just work through the free Galaxy 101 tutorials on the Galaxy site! I found that the lecturers sometimes used random terminology without ever explaining it (for example, "tags" is another word for sequencing reads, but this is only ever used in RNA-seq methodology, and then only rarely). Also, the final peer reviewed project isn't explained very well and uses tools and methods that aren't even within the scope of the module. Mostly just a waste of time.

by Timothy S

Feb 22, 2016

This course was very disappointing and much of the content in the tests and course did not show up in the course project. I felt like the course project was far more advanced than all the other detail. In addition, there was minimal to NO detail on instruction. VERY poor development here and I would not recommend it to anyone. All you need to do is look at all the threads of complaints. I am looking forward to the next Python course and h

by Ammar A

May 08, 2016

Good introduction to the galaxy tool. However, the final project was too difficult for what was given in the lectures. I spent 97% of the time I spent on the course doing only the final project. It was too difficult and unfair. I think a way to improve the final project might be to make easier a little bit and give exclusive lectures to help students to do the final project.

by Mohammed S K

Mar 27, 2017

Very poor presentation and content. Difficult to navigate and all the links used including that for Galaxy are outdated. There was no effort made to provide a method to get through the course given all the changes since the videos were recorded. This course is the reason I have decided not to pursue the specialization it falls under.

by Dmitriy S

Aug 01, 2016

Course assignment requires knowledge that is not discussed in the course. Various inconsistencies throughout the course. Week 4's material is not really helpful and I had a feeling that the instructior just wanted to "wrap up" the course and didn't really care if the material is appropriate. Poorly written quizzes.

by Omar D

May 27, 2016

This course's content is useful but honestly the final project is ridiculous because it is peer reviewed and the project is not very straightforward. Everyone gets different answers and without an answer key, no one knows what is right and wrong making it is almost impossible to pass. This needs to change.

by Anas A

Jul 12, 2016

First, the instructor assumes that the students know so much background knowledge when the students are expecting to learn these stuff in the course. I also feel that this course teaches students to memorize steps needed to accomplish certain operations in Galaxy without explaining why it occurs.

by Matthew Z

Nov 29, 2019

This course is severely out of date. The lectures are several years old and advocate the use of tools that are no longer state of the art. The lectures also do not cover fully the material needed to do the final course project. Overall this class is not recommended.

by Gonzalo C S

Apr 04, 2017

Very bad explanations. You don't understand anything about what you're doing, just pressing buttons. THis should maybe go after the command line course, so that at least you would have any idea of what you're doing.