Chevron Left
Character Design for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Character Design for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
761件の評価
203件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

人気のレビュー

JM
2016年12月21日

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM
2017年11月5日

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

フィルター:

Character Design for Video Games: 151 - 175 / 196 レビュー

by Steve C

2019年8月10日

This was probably my favorite course of the 4 pre capstone courses. Having played video games pre Atari, the other classes weren't a huge surprise but the activities were fun. This is the first one that really challenged me to get out of my comfort zone.

by Eduardo L

2016年3月15日

For the first course, you will only be drawing. You will not learn anything about programming video games. It was nice that they showed famous artists for cartoons, but the videos felt too long, with dialogues that felt like rambling at times.

by Simon W

2020年7月26日

I liked the course itself and the assignments but something has to be done about spammers that just give one point and write "good" or "nice" in both the positive and negative feedback box. This really takes away a lot of the fun.

by Andrea B

2016年3月13日

I would have liked to get input on my work by an instructor instead of just other students, but it was a good exercise to hone my skills. I wouldn't pay for credit because I feel like my work isn't being professionally graded.

by David M

2019年10月31日

Very cool to see other artists in their "zone" talking about their experiences and giving some advice, gave 4 stars instead of 5 just because plenty of the talking isn't as informative as I would have liked.

by Anna M T

2020年4月20日

Only issue with this course is that since there's only peer review and your peers can all be at different levels of skill, you run the risk of not getting any constructive criticism.

by Ramon M L

2018年11月29日

I like the course but missing some basics of character design. As body shapes drawing, personalities, i wanted some basics on how to draw and approach to designing characters.

by Joshua B

2017年8月31日

This course expanded my mind into creating a character inspired by surroundings. I have designed characters before in class but this was the next level i needed!

by Jose S

2020年2月3日

Very interesting and engaging activities. It was great to make designs to be compared and assessed by other students. Highly recommended.

by Yu

2016年1月21日

An amazing course, I really enjoyed it ..

very useful assignments .. opened my mind in different ways

would have loved references or so ..

by Joseph F

2018年8月12日

I wish this class had more actual lessons on character design concepts and philosophies rather than the demonstrations it used.

by Naila Z W

2020年6月2日

Pretty good notes given by 2nd and 3rd lecturer, first dude needs to actually plan what hes gonna say

by E. C C

2017年8月14日

Nice use of iteration to push your ideas of who or what a character should or could look like.

by Ginevra F L A

2016年4月20日

I learned a lot from the teacher, and the guests gave useful insight into the industry

by Juan D M

2016年6月23日

One of my favorite ones up to now, long and interesting classes with amazing artists.

by David T S

2020年11月21日

It was a short and fun course. Got me to practice thinking more creatively

by Stelios V

2020年4月19日

Anyone interested in character design and its basics will find this useful

by Emilio M

2016年2月16日

I liked the talks a lot but didnt expect to be forced to draw :)

by Sergio P

2019年7月30日

Grades were complicated to get (due to few people taking it)

by Deleted A

2016年9月8日

Interesting course overall ! Suitable for beginners.

by Zheng L

2018年7月22日

lectures are knowledgable, homework are interesting

by Tarun p

2020年5月16日

best for the beginners in character design

by Lin J

2016年5月22日

This course is quite enjoyable and useful.

by Julian A

2018年11月26日

There's effort placed in this course.

by Alyson D

2017年4月2日

Suporte de legendas em mais idiomas