Chevron Left
Character Design for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Character Design for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
877件の評価

コースについて

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

人気のレビュー

JM

2016年12月21日

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:

I like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM

2017年11月5日

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

フィルター:

Character Design for Video Games: 176 - 200 / 234 レビュー

by Sarah D

2019年2月12日

Helpful!

by Nilce W

2017年6月1日

Love it!

by Aranza M

2016年11月10日

loved it

by Andre B

2016年10月17日

loved it

by David O M

2016年5月24日

Awesome!

by Daniela M

2016年1月18日

Awesome!

by Satya S N

2017年7月29日

Awesome

by Tyraell H

2017年3月9日

awesome

by Percy D R R

2021年7月3日

chevre

by Stephen W

2017年10月21日

Great

by Domenico S

2021年7月3日

-

by Carlos A A J

2021年6月29日

m

by Luis A V P

2021年6月25日

.

by Tatiana M

2020年7月23日

I enjoyed the course and can see progress in my character design skills.

Pros: you observe the working process of famous artists; you participate in creative challenges; you get the main theoretical anchors that are needed for character creation.

Cons: fellow students check each others assignments. For many it seems hard to criticise because they lack knowledge and experience, not everyone is able to be a good mentor. Some just neglect their responsibility to give a thorough review.

I was happy to learn a lot of new things, I ended up with good pieces for my future portfolio.

Big thanks to all teachers, moderators, filming team, guest artists and fellow student for this experience!

by Joshua S

2021年9月2日

I​ really enjoyed this course. I am someone with experience in art and writing/character creation, but I really struggled to bridge the gap into character design through art. This course effectively bridged that gap for me and helped me think more practically about these things. I think that the course is really valuable in terms of the homework and broad concepts covered, and you get out what you put into it. I would have liked a bit more 'teaching' of character design concepts - it was a bit more open than I'd expected and without my own study on the side I think I would not have gotten as much as I did.

by Streltsova M

2016年10月1日

A very interesting experience. I got imagination level-up. Though it was really difficult to understand what should you do in each assignment. I've spent quite a while time to realize what to do each time. And some students did their homework completely wrong. But except of that it's a great course.

by Cleo T

2020年5月16日

The course content is easy to follow, and is very insightful as you learn about the different artists' creative processes. The assignment grading system, however, needs to be improved so that it's easier to submit peer reviews, and to make sure that feedback received is constructive and useful.

by Sophie H

2016年12月31日

I enjoyed this course because I learned about the more practical aspects of character design. The assignments were based of the same theory but didn't feel repetitive. The only thing I found was that the grading was veryyyyy easy.

So: A bit underwhelming but fun and interesting.

by Steve C

2019年8月10日

This was probably my favorite course of the 4 pre capstone courses. Having played video games pre Atari, the other classes weren't a huge surprise but the activities were fun. This is the first one that really challenged me to get out of my comfort zone.

by Selene G Y

2022年3月8日

This was a nice coure, I learned a lot from the artist that were invited to participated here, very talented with useful tips! But Would be cool to also include artists from other backgrounds like women, queer people, trans, etc.

by Andrea B

2016年3月13日

I would have liked to get input on my work by an instructor instead of just other students, but it was a good exercise to hone my skills. I wouldn't pay for credit because I feel like my work isn't being professionally graded.

by David M

2019年10月31日

Very cool to see other artists in their "zone" talking about their experiences and giving some advice, gave 4 stars instead of 5 just because plenty of the talking isn't as informative as I would have liked.

by Anna M T

2020年4月20日

Only issue with this course is that since there's only peer review and your peers can all be at different levels of skill, you run the risk of not getting any constructive criticism.

by Joshua B

2017年8月31日

This course expanded my mind into creating a character inspired by surroundings. I have designed characters before in class but this was the next level i needed!

by Jose S

2020年2月3日

Very interesting and engaging activities. It was great to make designs to be compared and assessed by other students. Highly recommended.