Chevron Left
Introduction to Game Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Game Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,940件の評価
580件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

人気のレビュー

TN

Apr 13, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG

Feb 13, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

フィルター:

Introduction to Game Design: 426 - 450 / 565 レビュー

by Daniel F F C

Jun 16, 2018

Superb :3

by Luis E

Mar 08, 2018

Loved it.

by Xindi H

Feb 06, 2016

It's fun.

by Anubis L

Jan 17, 2016

Excellent

by 王成昊

Sep 17, 2015

excellent

by Manar M N H

Jul 09, 2020

Great!!!

by Rajesh

Sep 27, 2016

its good

by Senala P

Jun 13, 2016

Amazing.

by Gabriel V

Sep 10, 2017

Awesome

by Klaus D D d S

Jul 27, 2017

Nice!!!

by Nelson J R d S

May 27, 2020

top d+

by Chris T

May 26, 2018

fun ;)

by Licinio S

Mar 19, 2018

Great!

by Daniel D

Jan 26, 2017

Nice!!

by Joel P

Mar 05, 2017

Great

by Syed F B S A R

Jun 23, 2020

Fun!

by 盛成成

Oct 15, 2017

nice

by Javier I C S

Jul 10, 2020

OK

by Bilge K

Nov 28, 2015

<3

by Oguz G

Apr 18, 2016

This course provides a nice insight into the gaming theory. Do not expect to make a dive into video game analysis. This game focuses on the fundamental ideas behind gaming, which includes all games. However, the assignments revolve around building board games, so you do not need to worry about not knowing any coding to make video games. Assignment criteria could use some polish, as the rubrics focus too much on mechanics (is it one page long?) rather than content elements. The delivery of the content is interesting. The instructor has gone to great lengths to bring in features that will help you focus better. There could be a better 100% integration between the material in the videos and the assignments, as sometimes you are asked to use only a tiny portion of 30 minutes of videos for the week, and that can make the videos less useful, or the assignment not as educational.

by Kumsal O

Oct 25, 2015

This course was interesting. It's truly an introduction to the field. I've actually read about Game Design in my spare time and it was nice to remember some of the concepts I've seen. It's all positive and good but I'd have liked to see the assignments handled a bit differently. It just felt too much one way, especially with one page rule. I do understand this is done to keep people organized and not going crazy with their ideas because since it's peer reviewed it should be fair. Also, once your game idea from an earlier week didn't have much room to introduce the aspect presented in the current week you feel kind of stuck. Although assignments mention we should build on previous weeks' games there is also mention to building a new game too. That part could be clarified or the nature of the exercise can be much more varied than one page requirement.

by Anne K

Nov 26, 2015

I really enjoyed this course! The videos were fun and informational, the assignments were enjoyable, and reviewing other student work was helpful. I also liked hearing from my fellow students and their ideas about my work and improvements I could make.

I would give the course five stars except for one thing - there was no one from the university to interact with. No one answered our questions on the forums, so questions went unanswered, ambiguities remained, and some issues grew as we progressed. Someone, even just a grad student or two, needs to be involved with the course in my opinion.

by Oleg L

Sep 17, 2018

The course is more of "teach yourself" variety - you're given brief advice, you're given the task, you're given one week to do it. Good for trying different ideas and improving your ability to see the idea through instead of leaving it hanging in your head. You also see others' ideas at peer review, and one can learn a great lot by noticing opportunities they missed themselves.

For those taking the course, I advise to make a new game each time rather than alter one idea you got at the very beginning over and over. You're learning _design_, not _polish_.

by Jordan L

Jan 24, 2016

This course is an excellent introduction into the world of game design. Fran Krause's teaching style is both engaging and fun. While the lectures are really short, and there's not really a whole lot of material, I found that I learned well through the doing the projects.

My only criticisms are that this course is a little too easy and a little too short. A good game increases it's difficulty as the levels progress. If you don't increase the difficulty, you take away from the reward. The same can be said about a good course.

by Agnieszka J

Dec 06, 2016

I'd give it a 5 if I was only rating the material- it was very informative and easily digestible. Just what you need for a starting course.

The assignment and scoring part of the course is what brings the rating down a notch. Relying solely on feedback from people who are probably beginners in the field and who go by one sentence instruction on what to feedback on was not always constructive. More guidance needs to be added to what to look out for when scoring somebody's work.