Chevron Left
Introduction to Game Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Game Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,232件の評価
680件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

人気のレビュー

TN
2020年4月12日

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG
2020年2月12日

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

フィルター:

Introduction to Game Design: 651 - 673 / 673 レビュー

by Rodrigo A P S

2020年11月30日

The course itself isn't bad, but the grade system could be better, I found myself being evaluated without receiving feedback or reviewing games where other students wouldn't answer the questions that where asked along with the submiting of the game.

by Ramon M L

2016年2月18日

It felt few content, i think there could be more content in this course. Though i have to say i learn new stuff, but i which it had more content to learn more.

by Deborah M M

2015年11月19日

A whimsical introduction to game design and the springboard for a Specialization Certificate, therefore important to take.

by Dimitris K

2016年8月13日

A quite simple beginning, might end up being a little bit too simple. The future looks promising, though!

by Leah O

2017年1月9日

It was ok for what it was. It is a very brief introduction. Fun teacher, but very limited information.

by Jeffrey B

2016年12月9日

Good introduction course. Perhaps a bit light on material... reviews from others are very helpful!

by Tulay M

2021年1月7日

Course content is ok, but its hard to progress if all passing requirements are peer-grading only.

by Sergey F

2017年7月19日

very simple, only some basics and a lot of "water" material. I don't see reasons to pay for this

by Daniel

2016年2月24日

Very little content. Most of the value comes from working on games for the assignments.

by Marc-Olivier M

2021年7月28日

Very little content. About 15-20 minutes of lectures per week.

by Dr. M N

2020年7月15日

I was not able to unenroll it

by Paul B

2015年10月28日

Fun course, not much depth.

by Maeve B

2016年2月16日

This course, though fun, was not intensive at all. The main issue I have is probably with the Coursera structure itself. Many of your homework assignments are based off of if people can understand the instructions of the game- which, if you have mostly non-English speakers, sort of takes the homework from being "be creative and challenge yourself" to "make sure everything you write down is 3 words max or else the people GRADING you won't understand it". This is also true when looking at these students' games- when half of your grade depends on your clarity, these kids are ultimately at a disadvantage. I'm sure there were amazing games made by some of the non-English speaking students, but I wasn't able to understand and play many of them. It is fantastic that Coursera is open to everyone, but when your grades are based off of clarity of language, it gets tricky.

by John C

2021年9月20日

I'm sure this course will work for some people, but beware that there are people who speak different languages in the course, leading to unfair assessments. I've been given 0s in response to my language as if it's my fault and I can't understand their suggestions since it's in a different language. Would be better if there were language settings or something to prevent language barriers affecting scores, but as it stands I don't recommend this course unless you're willing to put up with it.

by Varsha A V

2016年1月31日

The lectures tend to be a bit boring. However the hands on assignments give great insight into understanding the basic concepts of game design and narration.

by Rebekah c

2015年10月5日

idk its not what i expected. i really want to start with actually making a computer game not a paper game

by Richard H

2015年10月20日

The instructor is good but the amount of content is severely lacking compared to alternatives.

by Alexander P

2017年10月19日

Not enough content for a paid course

by Keone M

2016年2月9日

Enjoyable but limited content

by Emi S

2020年9月9日

Feedback was very poor. Instruction is generally minimal and there is not a lot to learn from this course. The reason why this course works so poorly is the reliance on other enrolled individuals to provide important feedback. An alarming amount of student work I peer reviewed showed very little consideration for the project goals and one sentence descriptions. In addition, my work would sometimes receive one sentence feedback. There was absolutely no assurance that I would get constructive feedback. It's also possible to resubmit my work for a regrade, which can very easily be exploited. The worst students could complete this course in a single afternoon. This course needs an overhaul on evaluation.

by Benjamin B

2019年9月23日

The content of the course was great, but forcing people to wait for peers to grade (which in my case took a week per assignment) is ridiculous and clearly just drags out time to make you pay more for the monthly subscription. Remove this feature or require fewer peers.

by Ivan D

2015年12月1日

I went in this course with high expectations. After I watched all of the videos for the first week and saw the hilarious homework I quickly checked what this is about.

LESS THAN 3 HOURS OF VIDEOS! Not to mention paying, you will be better off with Extra Credits...

by Anton B

2016年3月21日

Primitive and useless