Chevron Left
Game Theory II: Advanced Applications に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Game Theory II: Advanced Applications の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
360件の評価
68件のレビュー

コースについて

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind", game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Over four weeks of lectures, this advanced course considers how to design interactions between agents in order to achieve good social outcomes. Three main topics are covered: social choice theory (i.e., collective decision making and voting systems), mechanism design, and auctions. In the first week we consider the problem of aggregating different agents' preferences, discussing voting rules and the challenges faced in collective decision making. We present some of the most important theoretical results in the area: notably, Arrow's Theorem, which proves that there is no "perfect" voting system, and also the Gibbard-Satterthwaite and Muller-Satterthwaite Theorems. We move on to consider the problem of making collective decisions when agents are self interested and can strategically misreport their preferences. We explain "mechanism design" -- a broad framework for designing interactions between self-interested agents -- and give some key theoretical results. Our third week focuses on the problem of designing mechanisms to maximize aggregate happiness across agents, and presents the powerful family of Vickrey-Clarke-Groves mechanisms. The course wraps up with a fourth week that considers the problem of allocating scarce resources among self-interested agents, and that provides an introduction to auction theory. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-II-Syllabus.html There is also a predecessor course to this one, for those who want to learn or remind themselves of the basic concepts of game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/game-theory-1 An intro video can be found here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Game-Theory-2-Intro.mp4...

人気のレビュー

LV

May 02, 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

AS

Sep 11, 2016

Outstanding course on Game Theory. Provides excellent mathematical and logical treatment of the concepts and theory. A perfect stepping stone for researchers willing to pursue their research in Gam

フィルター:

Game Theory II: Advanced Applications: 1 - 25 / 69 レビュー

by Diogo C

Jul 01, 2018

Better than the first course. The topics were less familiar to me, so it opened a few more doors.I still feel like the math was neglected, most of the time. I don't expect every derivation, but at least an acknowledgement of where the formulas come from if one wants to derive them himself.The graded quizzes should have provided an explanation of the correct answers, I think. Sometimes that explanation made everything clearer to me (when I got the correct by mistake or by simple elimination).I really appreciate the reading material! At least I can now follow the subject more in-depth if I want, so that's very welcome.Overall, still feels like a fairly light overview, but it's a good introduction to the subjects of mechanism design and auctions, I feel.

by Mariano B P

May 30, 2018

Excellent! i think it shall contain more realistic examples for mechanism development and auctions

by 汪宇恒

Apr 03, 2018

too hard...need some analysis background

by Lisa V

May 02, 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

by Carlos C

Jun 28, 2019

The quality of the course is really high and I found it quite demanding, which is nice after the first course. It forces you to focus, review and think deeply about the meaning of the concepts. The exams are well-defined and they test properly the units. Some points aren't perfectly explained but that might be because the requirements for this course are quite high. Someone that is not used to mathematical notation would easily lose the track of the lessons. I hope that there'll be soon a Game Theory III.

by Jie H

Apr 16, 2019

This course could be better in many ways. However, I really appreciate the efforts the professors made to put up so much information into this short course. It opens many new worlds for me in the universe of game theory, and in particular, the Arrow's theorem is so astonishing that it almost refreshed my thinking on the mechanisms of voting.

by Lucas F d C M

Mar 10, 2019

The professors are great!

I think the students would profit more if there were more exercises to track their learning.

I had some difficulties because sometimes it requires an advanced level in math which I don't have.

Eventhough, I could enjoy and acquire some valuable skills.

Thank you!

Sincerily,

Lucas M.

by 高瀚邦

Mar 06, 2019

Maybe harder than I, but obviously, more useful.

by ZHU S

Jan 11, 2019

The lecture are useful and the lecturer clear in their content and delivery. However, it would be better if more practices with answers can be given, and the tutorial should include questions of greater difficulty, such as those with real game settings and rules to solve for optimum strategy.

by Ashish k

Jan 10, 2019

Brilliant mind-teaser, helps you form skills that will lead to logical thinking in strategic interplays between everyday events and even the more complex one.

by Runyang W

Jan 08, 2019

话题主要为高级微观中的机制设计,非常适合我这种转专业的同学

by Koa Y

Jan 04, 2019

Great course, I was really overdue but am hoping to get a certificate if possible

by Mohammad Z

Sep 09, 2018

poorly explained lectures. you're better off reading a textbook

by Ka L K

Apr 10, 2018

A more advanced course than Game Theory I. The topics are interesting but also in depth. Beside the lecture a lot of reading is needed if you really want to understand the concepts. After finishing this course I attend the master course in my university without difficulty to follow. The only thing for improvement is the homework. If lecturers could post some optional homeworks for students who want to train more, then this course will be really a University-level course for undergraduate students.

by StevenX

Apr 07, 2018

A very well-taught class

by Kiryukhin R

Apr 01, 2018

perfect one to get a taste of theory behind the voting schemes and game mechanisms design

by Anders A

Mar 13, 2018

Solid through the entire course, good lectures and interesting tasks. Only missing a few explanations in some of the task.

by 苏恭超

Feb 26, 2018

This course covers some interesting topics in game theory. It gives you a taste on how some of the more advanced games work out. Some of the quiz and test problems, however, are somewhat puzzling. I would prefer that explanations in detail can be provided for students once they finish quiz and tests.

by Roger G

Feb 18, 2018

Excellent course, I wish it was longer to have more examples but very interesting and well taught material

by Li W

Jan 19, 2018

Great, the Problem set very helpful to understand the core of Mechanism Design conception. Thanks the 3 professores 's instruction.

by Dina I

Jan 17, 2018

Very interesting material.

by Roland R

Jan 10, 2018

Great Course, same parts are challenging but i learned a lot about

by 韩天煦

Jan 08, 2018

excellent

by Vladislav S

Jan 07, 2018

Very interesting course, however it requires a lot of effort to put in. I struggled a little bit through math and sometimes it was difficult for me to get a concept but reading adjuctment materials helped me a lot. I think this course was a great complement to my game theory studies. You definetely will learn many fascinating things about mechanism design and auctions!

by Lee S Y

Jan 06, 2018

Lectures were clear and quizzes were effective. Could have helped to explain solutions in the quiz though.