Chevron Left
General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application に戻る

ライス大学(Rice University) による General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
250件の評価
60件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

人気のレビュー

ZK

Aug 29, 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

Oct 02, 2018

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

フィルター:

General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application: 1 - 25 / 62 レビュー

by William L

Jul 14, 2016

This course should be a 5 Star course. It is challenging and requires effort. The lectures are well done but not up to the level of the quizzes. The book looks like an abandoned project. The errors and missed references to tables and equations from part one of the book to the other are too many.

Having said that, I have never learned so much about a topic. I attempted the problems in the book before I took the quiz. That makes a huge difference. A week covers 2-3 chapters in the book. I started to doing the each chapter's problems before moving on in the week. This made taking the quizzes a lot easier.

Overall I am very happy for having taken this course.

by Blair L

Dec 17, 2017

I learned a lot from the course, and truly appreciate Professor Hutchinson's (and Rice's) generosity in having delivered it. I would have benefited a from more time invested in the quizzes. They were not well edited. (Similarly, the e-book could use a good edit.) This was an annoyance more than a severe detraction, however it leads into a larger issue. I believe that the motivated e-student benefits from a more involved means of analyzing content-retention / gestation than simple multiple choice questions. In fact, one might argue that the whole idea of a MOOC is the quizzes / tests of comprehension. If you wanted to learn it on your own, you could just buy a book and go to the Kahn Academy for some videos. (This gets into a larger subject that edX, coursera and the whole MOOC experiment needs to ask with earnestness -- whether the traditional class-delivery model is sufficient in an online forum. I would argue strongly that a greater investment is needed -- that Kahn Academy is a different breed. This raises an obvious financial question -- for non-tenured editors, quiz makers, etc. But asking the money question too soon is putting the cart before the horse.) Anyway, thanks for the class, and all the best.

by Rain

Jul 19, 2019

This is an extremely flawed course, both technically and academically. Half of the math used in the first week is incorrect (anyone using a calculator would discover this, but I also worked as an accountant for many years, as well as previously working in the financial markets as an investment analyst, so my math skills are above-average), and even when they made one correction in the video, they missed the other 20 or so. Even the textbook written by the professor has math errors in it (such as 12 X 0.99 supposedly being equal o 11.98 - not on this plant, or any other I know of, since it's actually 11.88). There are mix-ups in what shows up in what areas of the quizzes (such as Rutherford's gold foil experiment being in the first test, but the first week covers an entirely different area), and the first quiz talks about stuff that isn't discussed at all. Please explain how anyone would know grams per litre of SF6 at sea level when it isn't covered anywhere in the textbook or the lectures or the test itself. Not once did he explain the terms diatomic vs. monatomic (only the brief blip with Avogadro and how 'some molecules must be made up of two atoms then' as a conclusion, but no way to determine which ones, and not the actual meaning of the terms that ended up on a test). Nor does he talk about what (aq) is supposed to mean, where he uses it in brackets in an actual chemical formula. From my understanding of math, I'm supposed to be able to multiple aq by the rest of the formula, but since there is no element called aq, I have to guess that can't be right and it must mean aqueous solution, rather than a solid, but again that isn't even mentioned. Less than 2 seconds of time to explain, but the students are expected to search all over the internet for the answers. Um, isn't that the entire point of taking a class? So that that someone *teaches* the subject instead of students being forced to go to Wikipedia (which is generally frowned upon by academia)? Science is supposed to be accurate, and Rice is supposed to be a top university in the US. I weep for the entire country.

by Adrian R

Jun 21, 2019

I am using this as a review of General Chemistry to prepare for the MCAT and it is so helpful! The approach when I took it during class was very rote-memorization-heavy and I was worse off for it. Prof. Hutchinson lays things out in a very logical way and all the learning is based on key questions that a curious learner would likely find themselves asking; all the "why" questions you might have while learning Gen Chem are answered and not brushed off with a "just memorize it." It does probably help some that I was exposed to this material once already but I am retaining so much more than when I took this course in college or even than when I was going through the ExamKrackers MCAT Chemistry book. So much gratitude!

by M.R.T.

Jun 17, 2019

Perfect MOOC

by Stéphane H

Mar 26, 2019

Very insightful course ... very well explained and progressive

by EMMANUEL N

Mar 23, 2019

exallent

by Keith S

Dec 16, 2018

Very clear explanations, well presented.

by Yasuhiro K

Nov 01, 2018

This course is the best course of general chemistry. The lectures were a little tough, however, I think I got intuitive understanding on chemistry. I deeply thank Prof. Hutchinson for his passionate Lectures. (If some minor misprints in quizzes are corrected, this course is worth more than five stars!)

by Bandyatuyaga M

Oct 02, 2018

DEMAND

I would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

by jianghui

Sep 25, 2018

it is very important to me

by augustin m k

Sep 06, 2018

it's was good for me

by 刘诗凡

May 13, 2018

Great

by Lord L A

Apr 14, 2018

excellent course. Gives basic concepts that one must learn.

by Gary B

Mar 16, 2018

Over all a good intro to chemistry but found it long after a while.Perhaps breaking up the single courses into two courses each covering a semester. Found the math during the last two weeks to be a beyond me and wha tI thought was required for a basic beginner course.

by Andres C P V

Mar 11, 2018

excellent, thank you

by Terrence M

Feb 17, 2018

Lectures are great and material is comprehensive. The only problem is there is a multiplicity of errors in the questions.

by Bartolome M M

Nov 15, 2017

Good Teacher, good Metodology, recomendated 100%

by Mohamed A

Oct 03, 2017

Thank you all

by Deleted A

Sep 10, 2017

Great course!! Very helpful and intresting method of study.

by Alma D

Sep 08, 2017

Excellent challenge!

by Darren C

Jul 25, 2017

Helped me learn Chemistry from a fresh perspective! Highly recommended!

by Mauritius X

Jul 17, 2017

Very good. A quite effective way of teaching chemistry

by Marc H

Jun 15, 2017

The concept development method of learning was very effective. Thank you!

by Jessica R

May 24, 2017

I really enjoyed the Concept Development approach to the material. I wish more science courses were taught with this approach! Inductive learning is so much more intuitive. Dr. Hutchinson is an incredibly knowledgable, personable, and engaging professor. The videos are clear, succinct, and he reviews material from the previous video at the beginning of each new video so the course felt very well organized.