Chevron Left
General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application に戻る

ライス大学(Rice University) による General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
766件の評価

コースについて

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

人気のレビュー

ZK

2015年8月28日

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

2018年10月1日

DEMAND

I would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

フィルター:

General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application: 76 - 100 / 197 レビュー

by Ugbosu F O

2020年7月21日

I'm really happy about my success in this course, at first it was looking bulky but now I'm done, not just done but I've also acquired so many skills on this course.

A big thank you to everyone at RICE and Coursera.

by Ritchelle A P

2020年10月11日

i would like ti thank my instructor for having this kind of lecture.. chemistry is one of my favourite subjects during my junior high school. it is indeed an amazing experience to gather learnings about chemistry

by Aaron J S M

2020年11月3日

Hello! This rating reflects how great the course is! I just need to acquire my Certificate, I thought it was given automatically after the course. Please do tell me ASAP if I need to do something for it.

by 18UCHA041

2020年8月2日

It was new study approach. It was different and it always kept me on my toes. I kept questioning and understanding topics from different perspectives throughout. Thank you

by Md. R U C

2020年6月9日

I enjoyed the course very much. None of the lectures was boring. Mr Steven Hutchinson is a dedicated teacher. I'll ensure to keep up my way of learning.

by Revathy R

2020年7月13日

Thank you Dr. John Steven Hutchinson. The course was systematically covered and questions were challenging too. Looking forward to your next course.

by Nguyen D L

2021年6月2日

I love the lecture and quizzes. I am more confident to help my son with Chemistry now. Thank you Prof Hutchinson and Rice University Staffs.

by Elsadig A M A

2022年4月7日

Thanks for this training general chemistery concept I requierd mor courses semiller to advance exciperiance .

by Igbaroola S A

2020年8月12日

This course has been quite amazing. I hope to apply it in my further knowledge of concept in chemistry.

by Joaquín C

2021年8月23日

Muy bueno, sigan así con más cursos como estos , pero se necesita certificación por favor, gracias

by Anni J R R

2022年6月20日

Muy buenos materiales de exposición además de las retroalimentaciones en cada examen, excelente

by Abhishek P

2020年6月16日

I explore chemical kinetics and equilibrium. Further, i learned some new concepts as well.

by Suthakaran k

2020年12月6日

Exam papers are really great because each questions are very intelligent and bravely

by Utibe V E C

2021年7月22日

i​t was a really enlightening course and i am glad i got the honour of doing it.

by Shaik L

2021年8月26日

Thanks to course community, I have to enjoyed this course.

By

Dr. SHAIK LAKSHMAN

by sjpradeeba C

2020年7月9日

Excellent course. I have completed the course but i didnt receive certificate

by Dr. C K

2020年5月2日

good basic learning program,thank you to the Professor for easy expaination.

by Ms. S B

2022年1月21日

The course really very helpful to learn the concept much better and easier.

by MARY A M T

2020年10月13日

Thank you so much for this cousre. I get more ideas. Really interesting...

by Alvin I

2020年8月6日

This course is amazing. It helped me to understand chemistry in a fun way.

by Marc H

2017年6月14日

The concept development method of learning was very effective. Thank you!

by Fernando d S M

2015年10月26日

Very Very good, if you want to learn something just try these classes !!!

by Lalita S B

2020年9月2日

This course is helpful for understanding basic concept in chemistry

by Glenn E M

2020年5月14日

Much more challenging than expected for a general chemistry course.

by Poliane m a

2020年9月28日

Experiência diferente e muito complexa rica em muitos detalhes.