Chevron Left
Introduction to Genetics and Evolution に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Introduction to Genetics and Evolution の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,379件の評価

コースについて

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

人気のレビュー

AT

2020年5月28日

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH

2017年7月3日

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

フィルター:

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution: 326 - 350 / 359 レビュー

by Ilan L

2021年12月4日

Very nice course taught by a great professor - lessons were always interestingly presented. However, I did feel that there was a lack of preparatory materials to work with before doing the weekly exams and not much of the taught subjects were later on repeated in the reading supplementary. These issues made studying for an exam a bit challenging if you had large gaps between the time you studied the subjects and the time you took the exam.

Overall, I recommend this course to anyone interested in biology but has no background in it.

by Hagar T

2020年11月15日

This course is great for all those who want to understand how genetics works and mostly how research in the field works. However, I would recommend a good knowledge of biology beforehand, and doing quite a lot of reading on the side. I really enjoyed it though, as what I wanted was exactly that, to open a little door and see if I am really interested in the subject. In any case, not the first course by Duke that I am following, and they always hold up to expectations!!!

by Welbert G R

2020年7月24日

O curso apresenta uma abordagens extremamente relevantes para os conceitos de genética e evolução. Apresentou abordagens que são novos, ao menos pra mim. Todavia, não avalio o curso com 5 estrelas porque em muitas aulas, os temas são muito densos e concetrados. O que sobrecarrega o entendimento e dificulta uma melhor compreensão. Na minha opinião, o curso seria melhor que já é se os conteúdos fossem distribuidos entre mais aulas e mais avaliações.

by Monzerrat M V

2020年8月1日

It is amazing all of the information presented in the set of videos. I truly recommend it to anyone that wishes to have a deeper understanding of how science and biology is applied to the real world, and how evolution has influenced how humanity looks today. The quizzes contained questions that were confusing, in my personal opinion, but with 2 or 3 tries, I was able to kind of understand the answers. Thank you.

by Andre S

2016年6月6日

Professor Noor is very friendly and clear in his lectures. He also answers questions in the discussion foruns with speed and detail. I was able to learn a lot from this course and challenged myself to a heavier load of lectures than I had expected because they were not boring at all. My only caveat is that the questions in his quizzes can sometimes be unnecessarily confusing because of wording or tricks.

by sudhir k

2016年2月23日

This is a beutiful course, very well designed. Its a very tough topic but the instrucotr makes all efforts to make it easy to understand. Sometimes one has to go back and listen again but he gets the points across. I am thoroughly enjoying the course and understanding about genetics, genetic drift, selection, sweeps, and so many difficult concepts.

by Shryli S

2020年8月20日

Very useful and informative. Prof. Noor has done an amazing job here. All thanks to him and Duke University. The Quizzes were extremely hard and challenging. Introducing at least 3 attempts each time before the waiting period of 8 hours would really help the candidates to finish the course sooner.

by Yash S

2016年10月27日

This is a great course if you want to understand how genes contribute to evolution and their roles in determining various phenomenon that occur in our bodies and in other life forms in nature, as well as the basics of evolution. Dr.Noor is an absolute delight.

by Tyler S

2020年2月18日

Thank you! This course was very informative and well put together! I would advise that the quizzes provide some explanation as to what went wrong, and I was a bit annoyed that I couldn't speak to you directly but Overall it was grouse! Thanks

by RAMYA

2020年5月26日

Was absolutely wonderful, gained a lot of insights on evolution and understood the aspect behind genetics. It was a delightful learning experience. Thank you professor Noor and all the others for this!

by Fridda F

2020年1月13日

This course has a very good level, and is not as such an introduccion, you must know a little bit of molecular biology and the genetics terminology. May be hard but is really woth.

by Idan H

2021年2月1日

A great course for those who want a simple introduction to Biology.

Reflects the basic concepts of the subject clearly, with real-world examples.

by valérie c

2015年12月31日

very interesting. I regret that we are not allowed to discuss the exam questions (of course after the dead line) for a better understanding.

by Yolanda J

2021年1月7日

Good course! Evolution done different from what I learned in the past. Updated info. Included Gwas and how to analysis genome sequences.

by S U V

2020年4月18日

It was very good. A good knowledge was imparted on genetics and evolution through impressive teaching.

by Raval n S

2020年8月13日

So nice and really amazing guidance proved by the sir..and very AMAZING quiz is available..

by Oscar P

2021年9月7日

A mandatory course for whoever wants to start a career in genetics

by Letícia M R

2020年9月7日

Excelente curso, muito explicativo e com vários conteúdos.

by Eylül K

2017年7月20日

A perfect beginning for evolution, helps a lot, thank you!

by KANAKALAKSHMI I

2020年9月29日

Very nice course, it gives a immense knowlegde

by Colin R

2020年8月19日

Very informative and well paced in its lessons

by Anjali S D o B

2021年8月19日

Very nice course and interesting topics!

by Emome T

2020年9月29日

Thank you sir for making genetics fun.

by Rocío C

2020年5月5日

it was interesting, but very long!!

by Shahzeb A

2020年8月7日

lovely course