Chevron Left
Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
251件の評価
52件のレビュー

コースについて

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

人気のレビュー

SV

Jan 10, 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP

Dec 08, 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

フィルター:

Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II): 1 - 25 / 50 レビュー

by Jan G

Feb 03, 2020

Course is abandoned, no support on forums, waiting for weeks for peer-reviews, images don't load in the interactive text and quizzes, links in assignments are broken. Coursera should refund me for this joke.

by Ryan B

May 06, 2019

Long waits for peer review....ruins what is a good course.

by Ксения

Sep 06, 2017

Spend a huge amount of time because of mistakes in tasks!

by Hercules P N

Jun 09, 2017

These courses are consistently excellent. The are possiblly the best entry point for someone wishing to have a go at bioinformatics.

by Ricardo S

Oct 10, 2016

I learned a lot on this course. Sequencing, sequencing antibiotics. Ilumina sequencing using BaseSpace. I attended an Ilumina seminar in person ( that I found on the website and by serendipity was coming to my city) and understood everything, because the experience with this course. I wish you can connect the sections with relevant papers (Pavel have so many that is hard to choose one).

by Daniel D

Oct 08, 2019

The course is absolutely fantastic. Concepts are introduced gradually, and you get away with solid fundamentals of genome sequences.

Beware however that the course is not actively maintained any longer and has few participants. It may be that your final assessment will take a bit to be graded by the peers and the forums are not super active.

by Evgeny L

Jan 01, 2018

If you liked first course, you must take second course too, one of the most enjoyable and challenging courses available. It's great not only for bioinformaticians, but for people who are interested in algorithms and their application.

by Lucas M

Oct 09, 2018

Excellent course. I didn't have the time to follow the honor's track, but I've done it for other instances of the specialization and I can say that the interaction with Stepic works perfectly. Way to go, thank you!

by Swaroop V

Jan 10, 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

by Mihai P

Dec 08, 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

by Federico R

Apr 17, 2017

It's really a great course. A must for everyone working with bioinformatic tools in order to understand some basics and limitations that ultimately leads to biological conclussions

by Dr S C

Jul 05, 2018

Another excellent course. Great to be able to start from a basic idea and keep expanding it until we look back and see we've learnt how to solve quite a complex problem!

by Qianhao L

Aug 28, 2017

It would be great if all the slides for every week could be shared. The Bioinformatics II is much harder than the last level. They've made it easy to learn.

by Philipp M

Oct 18, 2017

A really rewarding course! Definitely shifted up a gear compared to the preceding course, so I recommend doing this in the prescribed order.

by Paolo B

May 09, 2017

Excellent and fun introduction to sequencing techniques. I found it harder than Bioinformatics I, but worth the effort.

by David B

Jul 25, 2017

This is a well organized course with excellent interactive programming exercises that help with learning the concepts.

by Nivedita S

Jul 24, 2017

I particularly enjoyed this course a lot more than the first! i felt it was more application oriented and intuitive.

by Rudramani P

Aug 24, 2019

This one is great introductory course for physicist like who knows the computing but lacks biological background.

by Ricardo

Feb 22, 2018

Excellent course to get a sense of Genome sequencing , programming assignments really make you learn.

by Ce D

Dec 02, 2016

Very useful to my working project. My gratitude for all the staff of this course.

by Yirou L

Dec 27, 2016

Very helpful to those biologist who wants to start a career in bioinformatics

by Zack X

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

by Enamul H

Apr 22, 2017

Excellent! I have learned a lot. Pavel Pevzner is a boss of bioinformatics.

by Midori I

Dec 09, 2016

This course is really help me to understand how to Assemble genomes!!

by Olaf W

Oct 03, 2018

Great , interactive content. Well structured and explained.