Chevron Left
Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
289件の評価
61件のレビュー

コースについて

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

人気のレビュー

SV
2017年1月9日

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP
2017年12月7日

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

フィルター:

Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II): 26 - 50 / 60 レビュー

by Enamul H

2017年4月22日

Excellent! I have learned a lot. Pavel Pevzner is a boss of bioinformatics.

by Midori I

2016年12月9日

This course is really help me to understand how to Assemble genomes!!

by Olaf W

2018年10月3日

Great , interactive content. Well structured and explained.

by Dasha P

2019年4月2日

Thank you very much for such an engaging course.

by Sumant K

2020年10月29日

Excellent introduction to Genome sequencing

by Naveen P

2017年6月30日

The course is well defined.

by Ayaan H

2016年6月26日

Enjoyed this course!

by Wenbing Y

2017年1月22日

Very good courses.

by vibha h

2017年5月18日

Very nice course!

by Andrés H P C

2021年6月8日

Amazing course!!

by ZIHAN X

2019年3月24日

good course!

by Weidong X

2016年7月30日

good course!

by Mario J C

2021年1月6日

Excellent!

by Ahmad M Y A

2016年12月16日

excellent

by Tomasz K

2017年5月10日

Great!

by Rajat S 1

2020年6月4日

nice

by chenhyde628

2016年9月25日

wery

by Huairen Z

2021年11月26日

This course is wonderful for students who are interested in genome assembly. The course contains examples data and codes for analysing genome assembly. The challenge is that many example codes are difficult for beginners, and some of the algorithms are hard to interpret. I wonder weather the instructors can provide more clues and toy example codes for beginners. I believe that the course will attract more and more people if there are more specific examples and more deep about the real data sets in bioinformatics. Because there is still a challenge for us to write our own scripts for construct a genome even we have finished the course. Of course, maybe the aim of this course is just give students a general outlook of genome assembly. Anyone, This course is wonderful and there still a lot of improvement in this class.

by hilda p

2018年8月21日

The course needs updates EXAMPLE: The version 3.0 for spades doesn't give the statistics and if you do a new version it doesn't give you the same data. I think this happened to other students, but we used Quast that it was later described in the instructions, but if it wasn't because someone suggested it in the discussion I would have follow the same path of using a new version that would have given me wrong data.

Thank you so much, This course has been helping me a lot.

CHEERS!!!

by Carolina G

2020年8月7日

Very good course. The course staff needs to take a look at some pseudo codes and stepik assessments because they are kinda heavy to process. Besides that, great info and development.

by bob n

2020年8月6日

Really enjoyed the course. Dropped from five to four stars because the final challenge introduced several new concepts rather than integrating concepts taught throughout the class.

by Елена Ш

2020年4月17日

Сам курс довольно интересный, но в итоговом задании не работали некоторые программы. Кроме того приходилось дважды сбрасывать сроки чтобы дождаться оценки.

by Meng Z

2019年9月15日

This course is great, but some times I can't open the dataset to test my code. I wish this can be fixed.

by ChenYuexi

2017年6月21日

There is no debug dataset like the previous course, which means you will get stuck longer.

by Juanjo B

2019年4月29日

The instruction material was slightly less helpful than in bioinformatics I.