Chevron Left
Getting Started with Essay Writing に戻る

カリフォルニア大学アーバイン校(University of California, Irvine) による Getting Started with Essay Writing の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,984件の評価
807件のレビュー

コースについて

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

人気のレビュー

TR

2021年10月26日

It is actually quite a simple course, easy to attend as it does not require a long time each week. However it did improve my writing skills, I'm considering to attend the next advanced writing course.

BD

2015年11月16日

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

フィルター:

Getting Started with Essay Writing: 776 - 800 / 807 レビュー

by Jingfei Z

2017年1月9日

It is a good course, but if you want to hand on the assignments, you have to pay. So I am a little disappointed.

by Supantha R

2020年8月7日

The course was OK,but it could be better. They could provide us with more information.

by Portia A

2015年11月16日

Its ok, I didn't learn a little and I didn't learn a lot.

by 罗詹妮

2015年12月29日

Too easy. The example showed is not very academic

by Anwar R

2019年3月27日

Don't charge for the quizzes please. :D

by Karen R T

2020年9月20日

It was a good course! Well organized!

by Luana B

2016年3月16日

The course was great and interesting.

by 匡翔宇

2017年3月27日

还行吧。当然只能带入门,学一点理论。要想学会论文写作远非这门课能做到的。

by M T

2019年12月21日

Good learning opportunity

by Derrick G

2019年7月17日

looks good !!!!!!!!!!!!

by harpa ó

2015年12月1日

It was okay.

by Patricia

2016年2月26日

I took the first class in this specialization. I liked that enough to enroll in the second class, however I did not realize that it was being taught by the same teacher. Nothing against her, she certainly taught the class and met the objectives, she just speaks too slow/articulates too precisely for me. Also, I was not aware that Coursera changed the auditing policy. As an auditor, I am no longer able to participate in the assignments or quizzes in this class. Without the ability to do the assignments and receive peer feedback, it seems pointless to continue the class. Furthermore, there was a problem with the practice exercises... You need to download an app to do the practice, which I did several times, but the lessons or assignments never worked. I sent notes to coursera about this with no reply. The low rating is primarily based on the fact that I could not do the practice assignments and that coursera took away the ability to complete assignments and take quizes.

by Miriam R

2017年3月9日

The video lectures were good, the tests were almost a give away and the essays were an opportunity to practice what I learned from the lectures. My only BIGGEST disappointment is that the essays were evaluated by students like me. I received evaluations that doesn't tell me much or evaluations that doesn't make sense. If I only knew that this course was not an instructor supervised course, I would have been willing to pay extra money just to get a professional to assess my essay and provide me with feedback. At this point, I am disappointed that I decided to just watch the videos but skip the peer-reviewed essays and make the most of what I paid for.

by Lingfei T

2015年12月11日

While some of the materials are interesting in this course, it gives a very "high school" feel rather than providing help with college essay writing. It would be helpful to have this course more geared towards college academic writing and have more emphasis on developing ideas, finding resources to support ideas, synthesizing, paraphrasing and all the other skills useful for college academic writing.

I assume most people who come to Coursera are above high school level. Some of the materials like the monkey example are a bit too childish and the sample articles can be too simple to be appropriate to learners at this level.

by Mary L M P

2021年12月20日

The course has interesting general topics and covers three types of essays: compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument. However, the grading system is terrible. Some assessments require a peer-review that focuses only on verifying that the format is respected, i.e., margins, indentation, double-spacing. It means it ignores the content, and therefore, the peer review is pointless. Even worse, some people might evaluate the format wrong, even if it is correct. There's no input or verification of such improper assessment. No much learned here.

by Bradley H

2020年7月29日

Although I take many online webinars, conferences, courses, etc. this is the first categorized as a MOOC. There is/was an expectation that writings would be reviewed in some manner. This does not appear to be the case. Either by an instructor or by our peers. The only review is one of format (centered title, font size, etc.) This is not sufficient, for me. I will continue with the Specialization but question the value of the course if this continues. Value is measured in time more than dollars. Thank you. Brad H.

by Muhammad Z

2020年5月13日

Assignments are the core of any course, however, the marking/review criteria, set in this course, for assignments was really disappointing. It only judged, if the document was properly formatted. Looked like a joke!

Apart from that, the course could be more generic and detailed as there remains a number of confusions, regarding the content and direction of the essays, even after taking this course.

by Bruce B

2016年5月24日

I have yet to have ANY of my essays reviewed, although I have finished every requirement of the course. I"m very disappointed. I hope that the directions given to me by the course attendants will correct this problem, however.

by Yuchen L

2021年8月6日

I feel like the peer graded activity is useful, but too much used in this course. Would have been nice to have the teacher evaluate your essays.

by Saurabh S

2016年2月7日

i think, this course content is a bit dependent on thought process..

it changes with individuals

by SUSAN S H

2016年2月18日

I am learning a lot but I can not afford to pay.

by Hannah T

2016年2月4日

Perhaps this class would be good for a non - native english speaker. I went through the first, maybe, five videos. From what I could tell, I learned all of the stuff in this class by the age of 10. If this class is for people who english is a second language, it should be more obviose.

by thilaga r

2021年9月4日

I wasn't able to upload my essay under my submission page. And I couldn't reach out to any instructors because, I don't have my instructors contact details. Its very disappointing as I really would like to submit my essays and get feedback from my peers.

by Jasper N

2016年9月13日

Very general, and knowledge you could easily acquire from the web. The only difference is the presentation of the information is stretched over an hour worth of video. The most useful part of this course however is the walk-through examples provided.

by Rebecca E

2016年2月22日

Didn't learn much of anything at all, the peer review system is lazy on the Teacher's part, and half of my classmates couldn't even speak proper English, let alone write it.