Chevron Left
GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design に戻る

トロント大学(University of Toronto) による GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
379件の評価
121件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you will learn how to find GIS data for your own projects, and how to create a well-designed map that effectively communicates your message. The first section focuses on the basic building blocks of GIS data, so that you know what types of GIS files exist, and the implications of choosing one type over another. Next, we'll discuss metadata (which is information about a data set) so you know how to evaluate a data set before you decide to use it, as well as preparing data by merging and clipping files as needed. We'll then talk about how to take non-GIS data, such as a list of addresses, and convert it into "mappable" data using geocoding. Finally, you'll learn about how to take data that you have found and design a map using cartographic principles. In the course project, you will find your own data and create your own quantitative map. Note: software is not provided for this course....

人気のレビュー

SH
2020年8月3日

It is one of the best course of the specialization. I learned a lot about data acquisition, map design elements and principles and exporting map. It gave me a greater knowledge of map designs.

MI
2020年8月16日

A nice and well explained course again. i think if some sample data can be supplied to the trainees when you are demonstrating something in ArcGIS it would be more helpful to practice.

フィルター:

GIS Data Acquisition and Map Design: 101 - 120 / 120 レビュー

by Md. W I K

2020年7月20日

Good

by JOSEPH R

2020年5月20日

good

by Walid M A

2020年5月9日

good

by EZEMA A S

2020年4月18日

nice

by Anthony R

2020年7月6日

Full points to the course tutor for being immensely knowledgeable of and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The course content itself is deeply interesting to me and it is well taught. My major issue with this course is the way the final assignment is graded. If you look through the discussion forum for the assignment you will see students pimping reviews and full grades while asking for the same in return. And some of these submissions do not deserve full grades. I also get the impression that if you do not give someone full grades you are not likely to get the proper review and grade your submission deserves. There ought to be some controls against this otherwise it defeats the purpose of putting any detailed work into the assignment and also robs the honest workers of the grade and review they deserve.

by Gemma E

2020年9月21日

The instructions were quite intense but complete so it was easy to understand the instructions given, However, since ARCMap is no longer in use and only ARCGIS PRO is given as a student trial, the directions do not exactly translate to assist in using the current software available. The instructor is very easy to understand and his teaching style is great! Just wish it was updated to assist in working with the latest software

by Jeff M

2020年7月20日

This course provided a good overview for the motivated GIS student. I got a lot out of it, but it was also frustrating to see some steps taken by the instructor that I could not immediately replicate on my end - and have no one to ask for help! This is not a course to rush through, and I benefited greatly from working on my own maps during pauses that I took in the course itself.

by Sharon L

2020年8月26日

Very informative course, finding that searching for the data is the most difficult part.

Perhaps have links to some of the data used in the examples would be of benefit, found that could not edit tables for some of the data that I downloaded, became very frustrating to do a simple calculation.

by Timothy R

2020年7月10日

The map layout and design portion of the course was extremely helpful on how to make maps more readable and enjoyable to look at.

The use of GIS data to make the maps is also well done. I wish the course would update to incorporate ArcGIS Pro (the new version of ArcMap).

by Duncan P H

2020年3月30日

As a beginner this was a useful course. I would like to have more information on the examples shown so I could reproduce them as worked examples. I was confused by the final project instructions relating to the use of ESRI basemaps.

by Manuel C D

2020年4月29日

Gran curso, dificultad adecuada, material y conocimiento aportados muy buenos.

by Rupok C

2020年7月10日

Very much informative course of this specialization.

by Solomon A

2020年8月4日

Don Boyes is a good teacher. Highly recommended.

by sreedevi

2020年7月11日

Learnt a lot through the project and class!!

by Md. H R

2020年9月27日

Excellent demonstration

by Nanditha H S

2020年7月29日

very qualitative

by Debajyoti D

2020年8月13日

good course

by Tarek M

2020年9月20日

tres bien

by Fatma I

2020年8月7日

It's a good course. The only thing I would have liked is to be instructed on actually using Arcmaps and creating maps etc. The instructor uses Arcmaps to demonstrate various functions or create certain types of maps, but it assumes prior knowledge which may not have been taught and map creation is not necessarily undertaken in the sequence one would undertake if they're new to map making. Don is a great instructor though and really easy to listen to and obviously has a lot of great experience. I suspect if the course went for an additional three weeks then there would have been space to provide us with better instructions. Overall, a good course and I can now create maps by finding and adding data, designing the map and identifying features.

by ABDUL M K

2020年7月9日

nice course