Chevron Left
GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,256件の評価
240件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

人気のレビュー

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

フィルター:

GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality: 176 - 200 / 234 レビュー

by julio c g

May 09, 2019

muito bom

by Jenevra W

Apr 28, 2019

This course is definitely worth your time, especially if you use GIS in your everyday work. There's a lot of information packed in to 4 weeks, but the final assignment is incredibly rewarding. I would recommend anyone who has taken the first course in this specialization to continue on with this course.

by Lydia C

May 14, 2019

The structure of this course is excellent. It is meticulously designed and put together, the videos are straight forward and concise. The professor, Nick Santos, is extremely skilled, passionate and organised. I highly recommend it.

by Pablo G M

May 13, 2019

The next step into a deeper dive in the world of GIS, giving the first steps in order to start creating, editing and modifying data.

A well planned course with a good level of progression.

by Osmar C T

May 14, 2019

muy interesante

by Claudinei R d S D

May 22, 2019

The course is very difficult, but very productive. If you study, you will really learn.

by Mega D

Jun 26, 2019

Excellent course for GIS newbies, very good through lectures and a lot of good examples. thank you coursera, and the lecturer from UC Davis

by Jerson

Jul 16, 2019

Ha sido el segundo curso del programa y en mi experiencia hay que dedicar un poco más de tiempo del que uno cree para afianzar mejor las lecciones enseñadas, el curso cumplió con mis expectativas, el desempeño del profesor Nick Santos ha sido muy bueno y el contenido ha sido bastante práctico.

by Obed M

Jan 27, 2018

Good course, well structured to deliver the invaluable skills, ranging from data management to final output after processing. Good exposure to the toolbox, expecting more in the next course.

by Makram C

Jul 24, 2019

Very Good course! It combines the theoretical and practical aspects.

by Jose B

Jul 29, 2019

Content is a logical progression from the Fundamentals course. Nick presents it in a clear and well-paced way, and the tutorials, quizzes and peer-graded assignment all reinforce retention effectively. I feel that completing the specialization will enable me to make a much broader contribution to the GIS-related projects I manage.

by David C

Aug 03, 2019

Assignments and quizzes tie in well with the comprehensive lectures. The instructor is very knowledgeable, and his dedication is evident in the course materials.

by Juan C A E

May 22, 2019

Great course! Excellent teacher!

by Wanqing P

Jun 08, 2019

The content of this course consists of learning more advanced skills to deliver a GIS analytical project, compared to the first course, notably learning how to use Spatial Analysis tools. I highly recommend it simply because the explanations are very clear, on-point and most importantly, beginner-friendly; the videos are nicely elaborated. I plan to finish the whole Specialization before attacking Python and R!

by Michael M

Aug 12, 2019

Great course, building on knowledge given in the first course.

by Allison P

Aug 25, 2019

This course was super fun! It allows your to really get your hands dirty with ArcGIS as it introduces you to creating feature classes, digitizing your own data and creating web maps!

by Adam K

Aug 28, 2019

Great course, I learned a lot and it was well structured. It went in to a lot of common and useful skills and theory required for entry level GIS work, and I felt that I learned a lot. The units were quite dense, but the main points for each lecture were explained well and at a good pace. The final assignment was a well balanced application of skills learned in the course, including geoprocessing workflows, digitizing, basic analysis and finally uploading a finished product into ArcGIS online, which was a suite that wasn't around when I last studied in University, so I felt it was handy to get an intro.

My only complaint is there was only one assignment that seemed to be a bit out of place, with content that was quite advanced without relevance to what had been discussed in the course.

by Ricardo J F

Jul 02, 2019

I like very much the format and the way all is explain. Hopefully there are more courses from Nick.

by Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

by Joel M

Sep 04, 2019

Highly recommend. It builds on what we learned in the first course of the specialization and puts the theory to use. The assignments really highlight the importance of a clean and methodical workflow when working with geoprocessing tools.

by Nur M H

Sep 08, 2019

Its great

by Esmaeel A

Sep 10, 2019

Great course. The lectures are clear, informative, well organized and recapitulated with detailed tutorial materials that provide guided practice. The assignments have valuable content and reflect practical applications.

by Nick J

Sep 15, 2019

this was extremly helpfull in my career!

by Conor M

Sep 22, 2019

interesting course, well designed projects ensured I got to practice each topic

by Alexa C

Sep 21, 2019

Found a lot of useful information, the course is well strucured.