Chevron Left
Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change に戻る

シカゴ大学(The University of Chicago) による Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
372件の評価
140件のレビュー

コースについて

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

人気のレビュー

SL

2016年10月5日

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

RC

2020年6月26日

A detailed and really knowledgable course. The course structure and the knowledge shared by Prof. David made learning simple and interesting. The assignments are also very well structured.

フィルター:

Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change: 101 - 125 / 139 レビュー

by David A D V

2016年1月3日

ENJOYING IT!

by Zhu H

2020年7月22日

Good course

by IRIS L C P

2019年3月23日

Excellency!

by Eñaut I E

2016年11月27日

Excellent!

by Majid A

2016年3月9日

Excellent!

by Deleted A

2017年9月23日

Excellent

by Natanael O F B

2019年7月14日

amazing!

by sergii k

2018年5月6日

best one

by INDLA P K

2020年5月15日

OK

by Frans S

2016年12月14日

Dr. David Archer has succeeded in presenting a didactic course in which complex issues like climate and weather conditions are explained in a highly schematic and clear manner for students who do not have an academic degree in either Earth sciences or physics. The series of short video's show Dr. Archer at the blackboard explaining concepts using highly schematic and easy to understand figures. Teaching in the most elementary way, almost perfect.

Completing this course also is learning by practice: there are multiple problems to solve using a wide array of models that compute the impact of greenhouse gases on temperature, humidity, ice sheets and sea levels. Finally a series of assignments require the student to explain in simple terms 'that can be understood by an 11-yr old' what are basic concepts like heat, negative feedback, fossil fuels, climate change and others. An interesting approach.

Together, this is a recommended course for anyone interested in the science behind one of the most discussed changes of our planet. A Minor comment is that the videos would benefit by some change of perspective, introducing here and there images or video's that illustrate the impact of climate change on Earth systems.

by Merih K

2020年10月30日

Thanks to this course, I have learnt many other aspects of environmental science. Although professors' course content was enough, I preferred to study more about each topic because environmental topics are diverse and intense, I recommend that. It may not create a new job opportunity, but it will have been sure developed my point of view. Peer-reviewed assignments actually good, but it was difficult to be reviewed. Reviewing other's assignments were really constructive as you can see other's point of view which some of them were superb. The duration of the course is also pretty long, 12 weeks, to study it as a subtask. On the discussion section, there is no control from the instructors, you are on your own. Frankly, there is not much qualified chatting on the discussion part either for questions or topics, everyone usually asks for the review. Therefore, although the course is excellent, there is no control and you are on your own.

by Clarissa H

2021年2月6日

Interesting and topical material, but it doesn't seem like this course is moderated by the professor any longer. I wish there was more discussion around the models; its great to know how they work, but some more targeted interpretation of the results in the model exercises would have been really helpful. There is also room to update the course with some information on our current status as a global society with respect to climate change. Because it's seemingly not moderated, some folks tend to try and push through in an unethical way, for example by asking for 'good' feedback to pass the course quickly, which devalues the efforts of those who are looking to authentically learn the material.

by Adriano R P

2016年4月21日

Good points: 1) Great instructor; 2) applicable content; 3) great for physics students.

Bad points: 1) Lacking of a "Formulae booklet" to use as reminder and reference for formulas and constants - when working on the models for this course; 2) The exercises approach should be reviews, making more use of the tools available in the Coursera interface (example: Assigments in text format (discursive) should use the own coursera interface, instead make us upload .TXT or .DOC files).

Extra: I did not finish the course, the format and content do not achieve my personal objectives, as a software developer and environmentalist. But i really enjoyed the general approach and goal.

by Alexandra T

2020年1月11日

An eye-opening course on climate and what we all should prepare for. Very well structured and presented, with lots of exercises to test/deepen your understanding

Unfortunately, no help from the instructors on the discussion forums, which leads to a bunch of a very confused students to "guess" the answer sometimes having no idea of what's going on in the model. Clarifying some of the questions from week 8 and perhaps being present on the discussion forums would help a lot.

by Inkoo K

2017年1月17日

Excellent lecture for climate change. This lecture give me a deep insight for greenhouse effect and global warming with nice scientific tools and models. However, It's necessary to improve some instruction process to have student understand with more easy. For example, there are various instructions for using models. But sometimes, I have difficulties to understand some model.

Anyhow, I thanks to Dr. David Archer and Coursera staff.

by James G

2018年3月22日

This is a great course for the non-scientist to understand the scientific mechanism and models behind climate change. I requires quite a bit of work but the lecturer explains things extremely well. Overall, some of the quizzes could be better thought through but this is a very good MOOC.

by Ulrich R

2018年9月6日

Highly interesting, informative, challenging and time-consuming course, which has some frustrations when it comes to the exercises. I wish it was still maintained to iron out remaining quirks.

There appears to be no statement of accomplishment unless you buy the certificate.

by Maximilian H

2020年7月30日

It was a challenging and demanding online course but you also could learn a lot. The videos where not too long and the questions in between were very helpful. For an online course it was very well structured although I missed the personal contact with fellow students.

by Natasha H

2020年11月10日

Overall great course. A couple of assignments were unclear as to what was required. Thankfully there is enough discourse in the forms with other students to help put you on the right track.

by karthikeyan

2016年1月17日

The slow pace and the simple language helps to comprehend the climate science very effectively. Thanks a lot for that. Use of fundamentals with very little work load per week is fun!

by Smail K

2017年11月26日

Overall this is a good course. The drawbacks are that there are problems with week formulations of some questions. There is no support from course creators.

by Julie M

2018年2月23日

Good course! in hindsight i wish i bought the book at the beginning/there were some written summaries/pdfs of the key points.

by Carlos V

2017年5月29日

Great content and very good teacher! I dont give it 5 stars because there is no teaching staff support at all.

by Jerry M

2017年11月29日

1.Course lectures = very good. Occasionally too brief; more detail should be provided.