Chevron Left
Ideas from the History of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Ideas from the History of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,113件の評価
442件のレビュー

コースについて

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

人気のレビュー

PD
2016年11月26日

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
2016年12月4日

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

フィルター:

Ideas from the History of Graphic Design: 376 - 400 / 438 レビュー

by Nicolle U

2020年4月22日

The content of the course is very interesting, it helps you understand the evolution of image making processes and its cultural influence.

Ps: The audio of the videos was a little bit low.

by Hannah M C

2017年8月21日

It's a lovely course and the lecturers are great, but it focus mostly on American design or the impact of other designers in the USA. I would love to learn more about non-USA design.

by Randy B

2020年8月1日

Really interesting information. I wish there was a bit more hands on assignments, even if they are optional, to really get to play around with the different styles.

by Hector E

2016年8月29日

Although this course is rich in content, it lacks a lot of perspective around The History of Graphic Design, since it only talks from the american point of view.

by julieta

2020年5月8日

Me gusto mucho el curso y sus contenidos. No esperaba igual tener que hacer tantas tareas, era algo que me resultaba engorroso. En general fue bueno.

by Jay N P

2020年8月17日

Good Course for learning the History of Graphic Designing. And also to take inspiration from it by understanding the meaning conveyed and how.

by Clara

2016年7月27日

it gives a good understanding of graphic design evolution from post second WW to contemporary time. Very focused on American design.

by Egle

2016年9月1日

Really interesting and useful. Although some more information about the more post-modern approaches would be also great.

by Tigran G

2017年11月12日

All was very good, but if after every video put a little quiz it will be better to understand and remember the material

by Nene W

2017年2月22日

I learnt quite alot about design luminaries. Would prefer if it was truely global but still a very interesting course

by Joy S

2018年10月1日

I am not into art. Nevertheless, this class and the others in this specialty were surprisingly interesting.

by Vijayasundaram M

2017年2月28日

The course was well structured; and provided opportunity to seek and learn more on the topics dicussed

by Ibrahim N

2016年7月18日

Too example based course but indeed very interesting for exploring the ages of graphic design hitory

by Kolya K

2018年3月30日

Great Course, got lot of knowledge. A little short and required to continuing studying on your own.

by Camila L

2017年1月11日

I would like to have more materials. See more work, read/listen about more design movements.

by Christine

2016年6月21日

Excellent presentation, engaging content, interesting and relevant assignments and quizes.

by Lucas B V

2020年8月7日

O curso é muito bom, particularmente os dois primeiros módulos são bastante instrutivos.

by Nicholas S H

2019年5月6日

I would like to know about how graphic design occurred in non-US or European countries.

by Virginia L

2017年11月17日

I love the examples, the theory behind without being too didactic. It could be longer

by E. C C

2017年4月6日

Solid, if minimal introduction to some points from the History of Graphic Design.

by Louise O

2020年6月7日

I found this course very interesting! I loved learning where it all started.

by Aishwarya V

2016年12月8日

Great content. There is a lot to learn from this course. Excellent lectures.

by Amor S

2019年10月15日

If there are some recommendation for reading, it would be better.

by Nicole S

2018年5月24日

Good course, wish had more time to get a big picture perspective.