Chevron Left
Ideas from the History of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Ideas from the History of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,098件の評価
439件のレビュー

コースについて

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

人気のレビュー

PD
2016年11月26日

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
2016年12月4日

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

フィルター:

Ideas from the History of Graphic Design: 126 - 150 / 434 レビュー

by Christopher J

2019年5月27日

the whole course is great. i learned i didn't know much about graphic design. and i know now i need to continue to practice.

by Joshua L

2017年2月23日

It was definitely an eye-opening course for someone who only knew how graphic design works and none of the history behind it.

by Rui A M d S

2020年5月20日

This part of the course was lovely, I learned a lot about some of the most important marks of the history of graphic design.

by Kevin J

2016年8月7日

Really enjoyed this course and would love to indulge in more activities and information on the history of Graphic Design.

by Ruben q

2016年7月19日

Very good course where you get a short summary of modern graphic design, from the industrial revolution until the late 70s

by Patil C V

2020年7月2日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as it helped me to expand my knowledge and helped me pop a lot of ideas for my project!

by Muhammad A Y

2018年1月29日

i have get excellent experience to take this course thanks a lot to coursera give me this opportunity love you coursera

by Ferdinand P

2016年8月29日

This is a very important course in understanding the history of graphic design. Good job to the creators of this course.

by Deb S

2017年1月27日

Very interesting course. Would love to see an advanced course that explores more history of graphic design. Much fun!

by Shambhvi V

2021年6月4日

Really interesting course! Learned a lot about History of Graphic Design. Very Insightful and well-structured course.

by Aslı A

2021年2月16日

I am so happy to take this course, I have learned so much and definitely gave me a new perspective on graphic design.

by Xue F

2020年7月24日

This course gave me a broader view of graphic design and revealed the connection between graphic design and society.

by Mahmudul W S

2020年9月24日

This course makes students dig deeper into some concepts of graphics designing that they may already familiar with.

by Rui

2019年4月1日

I really think the materials are well organized. For beginners like me, it offers so much inspiration. Good course!

by Dhan B

2021年2月12日

Great Course iv learn a lot in this course and i wish that i could apply this new knowledge though out my carrerr.

by Ivan O

2016年12月15日

Interesting and fun to watch. Not so practical as other courses in the Specialisation but definitely good to know.

by Daphne V V

2021年1月9日

I loved this course, learning more about the history of design. It is very inspirational and tastes like more!

by Salem F A

2019年9月28日

I get a lot of information from this part of graphic design specialization courses, very highly recommended .

by Viorel-Daniel S

2017年10月9日

It was fun learning about the history of design. Assignments are easy and do not require much effort, though.

by Breen O

2020年8月3日

Excellent course. Very interesting . I enjoyed the assignments though the bar is very low to receive a pass.

by Sahara Z F

2020年9月17日

A very fun and informative course. Take this course if you are interested in the history of graphic design!

by Mark H

2020年9月8日

I found this course to be very interesting and very relevant to anyone who is serious about Graphic Design.

by Daria N

2018年11月29日

Excellent insight into history, many interesting examples, it was very informative. Thanks for the course!

by Ahmed M A

2018年9月11日

it's very useful course

i learned, how designers are thinking in the past and how it related to the future

by Sofía V d l T A L

2020年11月25日

This is a great course! It shows the value of Graphic Design through the years in a very interesting way.