Chevron Left
Ideas from the History of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Ideas from the History of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,100件の評価
439件のレビュー

コースについて

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

人気のレビュー

PD
2016年11月26日

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
2016年12月4日

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

フィルター:

Ideas from the History of Graphic Design: 401 - 425 / 435 レビュー

by Maria B

2017年9月12日

i would prefer more insight into the european design

by Abayomi B

2017年4月7日

This course is very informative and inspiring.

by Lakshya M

2020年7月26日

A really nice course course for a starter.

by 当英直

2016年10月24日

Clear pattern of graphic design history!

by Karen

2016年9月21日

Good start for learning History of GD.

by jyothsna p

2020年6月22日

Nice course , a little boring though.

by Juan U G C

2021年2月4日

Good, but i feel it too superficial.

by Kafi N

2021年8月25日

Very informative course! Thank you

by Khan Z A

2020年8月5日

learned a lot from the course.

by Cameron S

2017年4月11日

Nice and informative

by Christine E

2020年5月17日

Very interesting!

by Glaide W

2020年10月10日

Good classes

by Alexandra K M

2019年3月6日

I't was good

by Peter R

2017年1月3日

Excellent.

by MARISOL P V

2017年10月4日

Great!

by Charudatta J

2020年6月26日

nice

by DINESH K K

2020年6月14日

good

by Battina D G

2020年5月10日

GOOD

by Katie S

2020年9月14日

This course was great--really wish it was a bit longer and went through more information. While the course information was good, there is a problem with peer reviews in this course. I found obvious plagiarism and/or a complete misunderstanding of the assignment every week in my peers so something needs to happen with the assignments--in one week I flagged over 4 of my peers. Maybe instructors need to select various images not found online that the students review? Something at least...

by Samantha F

2019年4月5日

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

by Sami L

2016年12月6日

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

by Bhavna S

2017年5月22日

I found this course very interesting and intensive. There is so much history to understand, interpret and re-contextualise as a designer.

by Luis H

2016年7月3日

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

by Riya A

2021年6月28日

I found this course boring because there was so much history and so many things have to be remembered.

by Dmitrii P

2017年4月9日

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text