Chevron Left
Ideas from the History of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Ideas from the History of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,081件の評価
437件のレビュー

コースについて

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

人気のレビュー

PD
2016年11月26日

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
2016年12月4日

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

フィルター:

Ideas from the History of Graphic Design: 76 - 100 / 432 レビュー

by Jordan L P

2020年9月13日

It was extremely educational and helpful for me to learn design from its earliest forms up to the modern era that are all applicable for use in contemporary design forms and factors.

by Amy C

2018年11月7日

This should be one of the first courses. Students, especially English Language Learners need the front loading of the topic. It would ideally help clarify the idea of graphic design.

by Mohammad A H

2020年5月30日

It was amassing course for amateur learner. Historical development of design and contemporary designing concept. As it is essential for a designer to understand concept of design.

by Michael N K S M

2020年5月20日

I love the materials and how they are structured along with the quizzes and the assignments. They really help students to grasp the concepts of design history and design studies.

by Assel N

2016年9月10日

This course gave me a lot of important information about the birth and rise of the Graphic Design as a stand alone profession. It was a great opportunity to fulfil my knowledge.

by Mangazico A

2017年10月29日

it was one of the best online courses that has coursera the lectures are really enjoyable i had a great time and most important I earn a lot about the history of Graphic design

by Stephanie O

2017年2月26日

It's good to have a background on the history of Graphic Design. Historical and Contemporary References and what their differences helps me when designing a brand/logo/logotype

by Aleksandar J

2019年6月10日

Completely satisfied with this course. I learned a lot about history of graphic design and its influence in modern graphic design. Would recommend this course to anybody!

by Fatimah O

2017年1月14日

I really like it, even it took long time for me to submit week 4 assignments before the dead line.

I really wonder if calart afford an online graphic design degree.

Thanks.

by Salem F A

2019年9月22日

this is the pest part of Graphic design previous courses, I love it because i see much more about designing in diffrent eras, really this is helpful course for everyone.

by Julie W

2020年4月10日

This was my favorite Coursera course so far. Extremely engaging content, great instructors. I found myself researching each week's topics independently when I finished.

by Amanda J V

2016年10月11日

Nice overview of graphic design history, I learned some new things, broadened my historical background, and had assignments that tied it back into contemporary design.

by Viktoriya F

2021年4月21日

Thanks a lot for the course. It was very interesting to see connection between Victorian designs from 19th century and contemporary designs of different subcultures,

by Amra S M

2020年7月26日

The course is fun and very informative. I learned alot from the 19th century, symbols and The origin of neon colors. Thank you for the interesting topics. Cheers!

by Natalia M

2017年1月17日

I really enjoyed this class and thought it was very useful for learning about the importance of historical events that contribute to how we design graphics today.

by Norman K

2020年11月15日

Very great lecturers and course materials. The assignments and quizzes are very thought-provoking and allow for a great dive into more research on graphic design

by Regina J

2020年6月13日

I really enjoyed learning about the overview and history of graphic design. It makes me want to learn more about what is outside of the scope of this class.

by Julia P G

2018年7月23日

very clear and concise videos+explanations. It gave me a good (but brief and that's ok) overview graphic design history. I feel like I learned a lot of things

by Fabian M

2016年12月14日

Fun and very interesting. It has lifted the veil from a lot of things that were all around me in society and yet were transparent to me prior to this course.

by F A

2018年9月26日

Recommend it to all new starter in graphics design, because its a great tool of knowledge to understand how or why certain things where done in certain ways.

by Doaa A E A S

2020年12月1日

In this course I learned history of designs I never imagine that I will learn in a day and I love keep searching in history of design many thanks for you 😊

by yeliz

2020年3月27日

It was a very good class, and the content is very interesting and satisfying. I especially liked the assignments, and I learned a lot while preparing them.

by TOMAS G D

2021年4月6日

very clear about the birth of design and its evolution, the example of sister Corita Kent fascinated me, thank you for all this education and information.

by Yuliya S

2019年10月27日

I really liked the course material and the way teachers provide information. I learned a lot and noted many areas that I will continue to study on my own.

by Rohan S

2018年10月23日

This course gives some invaluable insight on the history of graphic design with a ton of examples, something that's often left out on many other courses.