Chevron Left
Ideas from the History of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Ideas from the History of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,081件の評価
437件のレビュー

コースについて

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

人気のレビュー

PD
2016年11月26日

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
2016年12月4日

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

フィルター:

Ideas from the History of Graphic Design: 101 - 125 / 432 レビュー

by Celia P M

2021年4月8日

It's a pretty great introduction to Graphic Design's history. They tell you where the need for Graohic Design was born and how it evolved into nowadays.

by Rohit N

2016年8月31日

I enjoyed studying history for the first time in my life. It is really insightful to see how design has evolved and still has influences from the past.

by Keshab D P

2020年12月1日

One of the wonderful platform and means to spread the wings of passion in graphics, Respectful acknowledgement to the Tutors; Cal Arts, and Courseera

by Rosa P M V

2017年8月26日

Excellent course. I could understand a general idea from where graphic design comes from. Now I know where to look for references and inspiration.

by namrata

2019年11月21日

This Course history of graphic design was wonderful . It took me back at early history of Graphics design. Thank you and I truly appreciate it.

by Shiromi H

2021年5月1日

This is awesome. I learnt all the essential fundermentals of Graphic Design from Professsional lectures in this course. Perfect course content.

by Ronald K

2017年10月9日

Very informative! I recommend it! =) It helped me to understand a bit more of the world and how the design evolved in modern/contemporary era.

by Juachi O

2017年9月21日

Enjoyed learning about the evolution of Graphic Design. I do wish this course covered other countries. Perhaps I'll look that up independently

by Yurshevich A O

2021年1月15日

A lot of information. You really immerse yourself in different eras, you study with pleasure. All information is useful and of high quality.

by Muhammad I

2020年6月17日

Very informative about the history of graphic design. I wasn't aware of so much detail provided in this course, take so much time otherwise.

by Zackary A K

2017年7月5日

Very interesting, introductory lectures on the history of design. It really helped my get my footing, so that reading further has been easy.

by Ulrich W

2016年12月21日

Very nice overview how trends and tastes changed over time, finalizing in a project targeting a particular sub-culture. I learned something.

by Carlos L

2017年3月11日

great reviewing of the different trends in graphics design history and the related marketing, great approach. i really enjoyed the course.

by Meghan A

2021年6月7日

I loved this class, its so fun and the Instructors are awesome! I learned so much about the history of Graphic Design that I didnt know!

by Yana B

2021年4月27日

Awesome course, thanks to the creators! I learned a lot about the history of graphic design and consolidated my knowledge in practice.

by Gabriela R

2020年5月12日

Excellent overview and introduction to graphic design history. The assignments were enjoyable and the lectures were excellent as well!

by Francesca F

2021年3月31日

very interesting course, briefly describe the history of graphics touching the principal subject to have a big picture of the origins

by Tomelilla G

2020年3月19日

If you want to learn a great overview of the history of design with interesting examples applicable today here is the course for you!

by Asante G

2018年10月19日

Thank you for this wonderful course. It really makes you think on a deeper level about design, not only how it was created, but why.

by Magdalena P

2016年9月13日

This course is very well explained and very interesting. The assignments are simple and still bring a lot into the learning process.

by Ekaterina D

2019年1月18日

Very interesting course. here you can get acquainted with the history of design in different countries, as well as learn the basics

by Sanjeevini S M

2020年7月16日

Was fun exploring and knowing the history of designing and made me think and understand various new fields which I was unaware of.

by Iole M

2017年2月3日

A concise course with very meaningful visual contents. English spoken in a very understandable way, even for a non-native speaker.

by Brianna P

2016年10月10日

I loved how straight forward and informative this course was. I have such a stronger appreciation for what we see as design today!

by Balaji A

2018年5月8日

Wonderful course, helps a lot in understanding the historic perspective in design and helps reflect the same in our modern design